Target Trainer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Trainer

Target Trainer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
14 Ratings
  1. "Great store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Trainer in South Bend, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a comfortable atmosphere the employees were nice and so was the customers.

    Cons

    Busy during the holiday season

    Advice to Management

    Very nice staff of management. Well organized store

    Target2018-06-06
  2. "Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer in Lake Bluff, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked there while I was a student and there were a lot of great oppurtunities to grow as an individual. They provided good health benefits and cared for their team members.

    Cons

    I dint have to many bad experiences while working at target, I would say I felt pressured constantly to shove redcards upon every customer. That pressure sometimes made it difficult to keep up good customer service because it felt like the managers or team leads were always watching the conversations.

    Target2018-07-01
  3. "Being a Target Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer/Team Member in New York, NY

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast Fun and Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Nothing i can think of at the moment

    Target2018-05-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good for part-time work - otherwise stay clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good introduction to retail and cash handling

    Cons

    Very little loyalty of upper store management - including Human Resources - to those who are dedicated employees yet the demand loyalty from the employee to the store. Extremely erratic hours so you therefore cannot plan for the even the immediate future nor can you count on having full time status (and therefore receive benefits including medical).

    Advice to Management

    Start treating your dedicated employees with loyalty. Stop offering benefits via full time status and then "pull the rug out from under" the employee by having them go under the 30hr weekly average needed for those benefits. This is pure evil. No one at your stores now "gives a flip" about your raising the minimum wage when you everyone at the store gets hit with their hours being cut.

    Target2018-05-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good first job but that's all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Trainer in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Target offers a flexible schedule with sick time and paid vacation. The company believes in a positive culture and team friendly work environment.

    Cons

    It's the definition of over work and underpaid. Pay increases are not noticeable and room for promotion is slim to none.

    Advice to Management

    It would be helpful if team members were given the reviews they deserve so they can get the pay increase to match the work they put out. Or else the turn over rate will continue to be high.

    Target2017-12-27
  6. "Ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Company has a lot of diversity and if you are willing to stick with it you can go places

    Cons

    The store and how good it is directly relates to how good your GM and ETLs are

    Advice to Management

    Do things for your employees, BBQ's Monthly cakes, and learn their names, it makes a difference

    Target2017-09-14
  7. "Stressful, Tiring, Employees are great, Management is rude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand/Softlines Team Member Trainer in Normal, IL

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and opportunities to advance if you want to stay within the company. Everyone gets reviewed and receives a raise based on how well managers feel you did that year. I was "promoted" to Brand and loved it! My coworkers were great and became a small family to me.

    Cons

    You're working retail, so as expected, customers can be horrible and rude. I did not like my LODs. Many of them were very stern and had favorites.

    Target2017-06-23
  8. "Team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer/Team Member in Newburgh, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They offer a full set of benefits.

    Cons

    They tend to be disorganized, and majority of the methods that target implements are not tailored to each store requiring lots of innovative adjustments. Favoritism (not work efficiency) plays a huge part in the advancement of team members.

    Advice to Management

    Not all workers are equal, and therefore their hours should not be either. Harder works should be rewarded for their work ethic.

    Target2017-06-14
  9. "No growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer/Team Member in Frisco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere and very personable customers.

    Cons

    Poor pay and no opportunities for advancement.

    Target2017-02-16
  10. "Used to be a good place to get your start in life but you end up just a number no matter how hard you work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Trainer in Oconomowoc, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, many hard working employees, good benefits, used to have a fair work- life balance, and okay shifts. Goals are obtainable if you make everyone obtain what they are trained in the first place.

    Cons

    Management lets to many bad workers get away with not meeting the requirements set out in their initial training. Then pushes the hardest working ones to make up for it. I left the place with one of the highest percentages and was made a trainer within a half year of my start date because they could see my potential in instilling good work habits. Your change in hour was not for the better, it only shows how little management...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the documented under achievers, and do it as shortly after their full time employment, to show the rest that it won't be tolerated. Quit asking more from the hard workers than you do of the non performers. Pay your training staff more and quit just telling them they don't deserve it because they get out of the hard work from time to time. Many are exhausted of your tactics and it is why you have a lot of burnt...

    Show More
    Target2017-01-22
Found 52 reviews