Target Reviews in Tucson, AZ | Glassdoor

Target Tucson Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
24 Ratings
  1. "Team Member Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Target Sales Floor Team Member in Tucson, AZ

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment for beginners and flexible with school schedule.

    Cons

    Sometimes there was playing of favorites

    Target2018-12-23
  2. "Watch out for job description"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time

    Pros

    The pay is good

    Cons

    Not very nice to new people. Heard whispers about new people constantly. Everything blamed on them. Some management very rude and unfair. Slave-drivers

    Advice to Management

    Watch your biases against age groups. Give more credit, and don't expect so much when you can only do so much yourself.

    Target2018-11-24
  3. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front End Cashier in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target for more than 3 years

    Pros

    10% discount, and super happy after quitting Target.

    Cons

    No respect for team members. Arrogant team leads. Sales not possible without basic members. Management and District have own hidden agenda. Not allowed to have a water bottle with you.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to say hello when you enter the store. We are making your sales!

    Target2018-10-14
  4. "Fun and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Team Leader in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun work, loved leading, building a team, being responsible for store results

    Cons

    Management has little to no experience

    Advice to Management

    Advance from within, trust your leaders, seek feedback from all affected team members rather than directing from on high

    Target2018-09-03
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Retail went from hard to impossible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Target Store Team Leader in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay, plus team member discounts.

    Cons

    Long gone are the days of fast, fun, friendly team. One person is expected to do the job of 10 now that the base starting wage has gone up. The average career for executives and middle managers within a Target store is 2 years now... good thing too because who can withstand more than 2 years?

    Advice to Management

    Headquarters dreams up ways to save money that are often impossible to support at the store level.

    Target2018-08-02
  6. "Mediocre Retail Job at Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronics Team Member in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Decently clean working environment

    Cons

    Scheduling was horrible Management was horrible Coverage was horrible Was often asked to do tasks outside my job description

    Target2018-07-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent job, but not meant to be forever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flow Team Member in Oro Valley, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher pay, flexible hours, employee discount

    Cons

    Management, not enough hours, favoritism among management.

    Advice to Management

    Give better acknowledgement to employees and their accomplishments

    Target2018-06-19
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    None- I guess other than the salary they lure you in with

    Cons

    Overworked. underpaid. HIGH turnover. HIGH HIGH HIGH turnover. 2 weeks into my employment, they had let go 4 people in my role. Building was open for about 6-7 years when I arrived. Some hourly team members had gone through 30 managers. Think about that for a minute. Have stayed in touch with some people from building since I have left- close to 75% turnover in management in a year.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your leadership. Actually utilize your companies' vast resources to retain leaders rather than dump them over and over. You have fresh managers learning the operation monthly. Not a good look for hourly employees.

    Target2018-03-25
  9. "Your experience may vary..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Floor Associate/Trainer in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the grocery department exclusively which gave me a lot of freedom and allowed me to avoid working anywhere else in the store (which I hated). Met some great friends, time off was easy to attain, paid above minimum wage

    Cons

    Really depends on the store's leadership more than anything. So many promotions and attempts to improve shopping experience or improve the store in some way. Other crap employees can make the job more difficult for you and it is VERY difficult to get fired once you are established

    Advice to Management

    Don't try to make me care about store sales or how numbers are in the rest of the district. It doesn't matter to me and it doesn't impact how I work.

    Target2017-09-19
  10. "Executive Team Leader of Assets Protection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader - Assets Protection in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to develop as a leader, compared to other big box retailers Target is progressive and is intent on remaining relative. Transparency from HQ and room for empowerment and business ownership. Great pay if the performance is there.

    Cons

    Hours can be long, and customer service can have major downsides when issues are out of the store's control (i.e. inventory levels and variety of selections).

    Target2017-08-06
Found 91 reviews