Target Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for director

Target Director Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
32 Ratings
  1. "Ever changing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Director 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Target full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great in-store team that you get to build.

    Cons

    Work-life balance, a lot of upper management differing opinions on how to do things.

    Target2019-03-01
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Overall a fun company culture with many opportunities within one company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are great to work with, employee discount, casual dress code, director level and above vacation/time off

    Cons

    Great executive leadership team but many leaders at the VP or SVP level that aren’t strategic and create constant fire drills. I’ve worked for the company for 18 years and I can’t name more than 3-4 people I know who have retired from Target

    Target2018-12-13
  3. "Store DIrector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Overall, Target has taught me leadership foundations and business acumen that is transferable to all industries. They are staying ahead of the curve with the current retail landscape. My years 2010-2016 were outstanding--learned a ton and worked for great leaders.

    Cons

    Challenging work/life balance. Underappreciated and Over-worked. No longer focusing on Team. They want leaders who "say yes" and are no longer innovative.

    Target2018-11-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, be advised of the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Creative Operations in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company philanthropy -great Networking is encouraged Opportunity for movement and advancement Pay is good

    Cons

    Remote working is not an option for all There is a culture that you must fit in to win

    Advice to Management

    Live by your words; you want diversity but you don't appreciate different thoughts or styles; only different skin tones

    Target2018-05-01
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Very collaborative. Positive. Friendly.

    Cons

    Unstructured. Passive aggressive. E.g. Difficult to start meetings on time, but when time is up - people just get up and walk out.

    Target2018-03-29
  6. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    collaborative environment everyone is very encouraging

    Cons

    too many meetings. manage by commitee

    Advice to Management

    you need better role clarification

    Target2018-01-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn how a company should operate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    highly talented, friendly co-workers; great brand; flexible schedules

    Cons

    hard to make an influence on the business due to its size; easy to become insulated from the outside world

    Advice to Management

    let leaders lead

    Target2017-12-06
  8. "Director Talent Acquisiton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Talent Acquisition in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Passionate team members Cross functional partnerships Large complex accountability

    Cons

    Decision making process takes too long

    Advice to Management

    Remove barriers to execution

    Target2017-11-09
  9. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, high standards, ethical

    Cons

    Can be too slow or late to change/innovate

    Advice to Management

    None

    Target2017-08-09
  10. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company and brand

    Cons

    Tough retail environment and limited growth potential with the new organizational structure.

    Target2017-07-08
Found 61 reviews