Target Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Director Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
32 Ratings
  1. "Has been a great company to work for with lots of opportunity to add responsibility and be proud of the brand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director IT in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The size of the company creates a lot of great opportunities,to move around and run your own business. They have some great teammates to learn and grow from everyday. The company really promotes volunteer opportunities.

    Cons

    Going through transformation pains has caused some dysfunction across all levels of team member. From upper management turnover to layoffs all decisions are in flux constantly.

    Target2017-03-07
  2. "Challenging place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Director in Ahwatukee, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved working one on one with the doc. Loved spending time with the patients.

    Cons

    Too many patients scheduled in any period of time.

    Advice to Management

    None, the doc makes all final decisions.

    Target2017-02-06
  3. "Not the same Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Target does hire the best and brightest people. The community giving is outstanding.

    Cons

    There is no vision that propels Target forward. They seem to be chasing everything without having a plan.

    Advice to Management

    Change is good, but there is constant chaos and new folks that are coming in. This has fundamentally changed the culture of Target - and what made it a great place to work. Not everything is broken, so please stop having the new folks that come in think that they need to trash all old systems / processes and start from scratch. You should blend the best from both worlds.

    Target2017-02-12
  4. "Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, great culture, smart and talented team members

    Cons

    Big company, lots of silos

    Target2016-12-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    High quality colleagues, great location, good culture, lots of opportunity for development across functions, great onsite resources at HQ including high quality cafeteria with great prices

    Cons

    The culture has become less "fun" in recent years. In my opinion, the company has become too focused on reducing costs and payroll which has contributed to longer hours for senior leaders.

    Target2016-11-30
  6. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Product Management in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I would like to work at Target because I want to work with adults later during the day. I love to provide excellent customer service. I would like to work at a job that I can count on year round. Substitute teaching is roughly 9 months a year without any days that don't require a substitute.

    Cons

    A con would be the amount of time it would take to become promoted and/or full time employment.

    Advice to Management

    I am a former Operations Manager and very interested in obtaining that type of position at Target.

    Target2016-10-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bad times ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun brand; downtown location; competitive pay in retail sector

    Cons

    Culture sucks; management is clueless; bleak outlook

    Target2016-10-27
  8. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Director Assistant in Pinole, CA

    I worked at Target for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture, employee discount, fun environment

    Cons

    Benefits aren't that great, low pay

    Target2016-05-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Vanilla Corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Art Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    Regular hours Decent pay and benefits Amazing budgets meeeehhhhhhh

    Cons

    A lot of talk about change and big ideas, but NO one wants change or think big. The culture is too conservative and to fearful of ANYthing. ANY thing. Followers and sheep with little vision.Absurd amount of managers

    Advice to Management

    keep up the "vanilla" culture! it takes you to the same spot you are.

    Target2016-02-08
  10. "Dynamic Environmentq"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to work with a global brand in Los Angeles

    Cons

    Visiting the corporate office in January can be a shock to a So. Cal system.

    Target2015-12-20
Found 61 reviews