Target "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Employee Reviews about "full time"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31306 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
7337 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are willing to give you 40 hours and you can trade with other team members if you are not willing to work some days(in 1994 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule and good hours(in 1151 reviews)

Cons
  • "Development of team members into leadership positions can be slow espcially in lower volume stores(in 1784 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be an issue(in 1683 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Visual merchandising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandising Team Member 

    I have been working at Target part-time

    Pros

    Decent pay and part time hours.

    Cons

    Need more full time positions

    Target2019-04-30
  2. "Not bad, but highly dependent on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Other team members are helpful Decent benefits if full time

    Cons

    Upper management is completely clueless and likes to micromanage Scheduling leaves a lot to be desired Pay is not indicative of workload Upper management will undercut their peers and then blame the team members for it

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with each other and the team Stop overloading the team with more than reasonable work Take ownership of your mistakes and don't blame the team members for your mistakes

    Target2019-05-11
  3. "Very friendly working environment, great team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Backroom Associate in Flushing, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Team, People are very friendly, Cooperative

    Cons

    I wasn't going to say anything cons., but I couldn't pass through the review. The problem for me is this job was a temporary holiday season position, part time. I need a full time job.

    Target2019-04-25
  4. "It's a decent job if you don't care about moving up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule allows me to be a full time student.

    Cons

    Incredibly political when it comes to promotions. They tend to ignore hard work when it's not done by their friends.

    Advice to Management

    Reward effort and results, not just your friends.

    Target2019-05-08
  5. "Good if you're a college student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Relaxed job. But not enough pay, hours and bad corporate leadership.

    Cons

    Not paid enough to do the work. Low hours. Never full time opportunities.

    Target2019-05-08
  6. "Pretty good as far as retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Sales Associate in Bowie, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Food on holidays/events paid 15 min breaks decent discount, easy to work with availability tons of people used as secondary job

    Cons

    If not full time hours can be 39 black Friday week and then like 8 the 2nd week of january. Expected to do reshop faster than I could. Security personnels pay should be a good bit higher than every department

    Advice to Management

    Respect even the lowest level security guys, have reasonable expectations if someone spebt half their shift backing up on front they probably couldn't zone the whole section you wanted

    Target2019-04-23
  7. "Good place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Roswell, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Managers and team members worked hand in hand. Every person from the general manager on down could and would do any job.

    Cons

    Only top people got full time

    Target2019-04-09
  8. "From Intern to Store Director in 4 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Strong interval development, I started full time in 2013 and by 2017 I was promoted to Store Director.

    Cons

    It’s retail so expect tough holiday scheduling

    Target2019-04-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Management is terrible, the work is mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Team Memer in Wylie, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get your feet wet in HR, Target discount, Starbucks, Room to grow if they like you

    Cons

    Management politics, No full time hours, will give you less hours if they dislike you

    Advice to Management

    I was hired with the new HR manager and he pretty much bullied me out of the position. The entire management team is nothing but a work politic war and if you are not in their clique forget about it. I needed help on some training because my entire training period was just on hiring then they wondered why I couldn't do payroll right. Management: Learn to train your HR team members. We are important too. You need to treat...

    Show More
    Target2019-04-16
  10. "I worked in the Apparel department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apparel Associate in Albany, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    Good Management and great working environment

    Cons

    Difficult to get full time hours

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Target2019-03-30
Found 31306 reviews