Target Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for project manager

Target Project Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
18 Ratings
  1. "Great company with strong work ethics grounded in mid-west culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance, lots of cross functional org opportunities for lateral and vertical move. Plenty of respect, reward and recognition for individual and team performance. Great focus on diversity and inclusion. Overall work culture is the best I have experienced in my 16 years of my professional life.

    Cons

    Mixed direction from leadership makes it hard for a consistent motivating culture.

    Target2019-01-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative, sales-oriented, fast-paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Marketing Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    It's an innovative culture that requires you to bring your 'A' game every day.

    Cons

    Lack of organization and strategic vision.

    Advice to Management

    Respect ALL workers, including contractors. Some are being treated very poorly right now.

    Target2019-06-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fun place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth early in career is strong Fun people to work with and great mission Great facility

    Cons

    Can be hard to grow past mid manager and can be a place with lots of kid managers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on young people with upward mobility so they don’t leave!

    Target2019-02-20
  4. "Great company, but be prepared for layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong benefit package, career growth opportunities

    Cons

    Layoffs happen all the time.

    Target2019-01-16
  5. "Great Work Place!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative teams, good training, great culture

    Cons

    Downtown parking is expensive. Company parking should be provided.

    Advice to Management

    Make Target great again investing in right portfolios.

    Target2018-05-09
  6. "Coprporate Middle Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Vacation, personal days that don't count against sick time

    Cons

    There are middle managers everywhere that really don't know or care what you do, they just keep peacocking trying to climb the ladder. Be prepared for meetings galore. Your real purpose is to make the boss look good. Upward mobility has been limited since they put fresh MBA's on a management track without any prior management experience I was always having to document my process so 'anyone' can do it, ie send... it to India.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop force feeding politically correct messages on employee's. Value each individuals ability's, not their ability to drink the cool aid and tote the company line.

    Target2018-04-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sr Marketing Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on amazing project

    Cons

    Management doesn't see the value and the capabilities of this position except for a dumping ground of task that other partners would rather not complete.

    Target2018-03-26
  8. "Great People and Loads of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Target is full of opportunity if you are strategic, know how to build relationships, have strong communication skills and are motivated.

    Cons

    It can be hard to navigate the structure and know who to talk to and when. Advice: Take partners

    Target2017-03-08
  9. "Project Manager Construction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    safe environment to work in

    Cons

    limited mobility or career advancement

    Advice to Management

    better communication

    Target2017-02-15
  10. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work culture Respectful of people No discrimination More importance to diversity Good compensation

    Cons

    Uncertainty of future Vendor or outsourced approach Top management lack direction Not technical focused Poor org structure- duplicate roles

    Advice to Management

    Clean up junk higher management ranks

    Target2017-01-15
Found 68 reviews