Target Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for project manager

Target Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
18 Ratings
  1. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work culture Respectful of people No discrimination More importance to diversity Good compensation

    Cons

    Uncertainty of future Vendor or outsourced approach Top management lack direction Not technical focused Poor org structure- duplicate roles

    Advice to Management

    Clean up junk higher management ranks

    Target2017-01-15
  2. "Sr. Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Talented team of great people/coworkers!

    Cons

    Currently lacking clear direction and strategy.

    Target2016-10-24
  3. "Senior Project Manager, Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Engineering Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Target for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the best things about working at Target is being associated with a company that has such a powerful brand and positive image (for the most part). I love that when I tell people that I work at Target I get a reaction along the lines of..."I love shopping at Target!" The main reason I came to Target was the opportunity to work on big projects at such a big company. The other main reasons I work at Target... is the focus on work/life balance and individual career development. Target has its share of political games you have to play just like at any other company but for the most part if you ask a leader for help, they will explain the rules to you and give you as much help as you ask for.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is filled with primarily "general athletes." IN very few areas are there actual Industry experts. The long time focus on leadership development has resulted in a belief that anyone can do any job and move around and be successful if they were given the correct Leadership. This is true in some ways, at the end of the day you need a lot of people who are really smart and good at their jobs if Target is... going to become world class in areas other than Product Design and Marketing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The recent shift to move away from so many general athletes to subject matter experts is a positive move but I fear it is coming at the sacrifice of many of the things which were strengths of Target. I see it losing some of the focus on work/life balance and development as more and more Leaders join the team who don't share that focus.

    Target2016-07-02
  4. "Sr Creative Content Producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people at Target are the best part about Target and are most certainly some of the most talented in the business. The work is complex and challenges you daily. If you don't like constant change and ambiguity, I suggest looking elsewhere because the only thing consistent about Target is that it's always changing.

    Cons

    Difficult to get rate increase once you're in the door.

    Advice to Management

    Retain talent by being competitive with pay and benefits.

    Target2016-04-12
  5. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun people to work with.

    Cons

    Odd structure for hiring and promotions.

    Target2016-01-13
  6. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Brooklyn Park, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance was great.

    Cons

    Target was a great company but may have come its time to re-organized and thus employees were just another business decision and not treated as employees that make Target strong....

    Advice to Management

    No matter how great a company has become, don't ever forget how it got there.... It's the employees who are dedicated, worked hard and for the company.

    Target2015-12-22
  7. "So glad I'm on the Target Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing!!! It's an environment of evolution. Dress code is more open than most. Jeans are ok any day. Just be sure you're still dressing up 😉 You can work from home from time to time

    Cons

    It's an environment of evolution. If you don't like change Target is not a good fit. The culture can be overwhelming.

    Target2015-12-09
  8. "Sr. Project Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great collaborative environment, complex projects with lots of autonomy. I enjoyed having a great deal of flexibility to shape my core job functions to align with my strengths.

    Cons

    Company is currently in transition.

    Target2015-11-24
  9. "Target Stores - HQ in transition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Dynamic company with many internal opportunities for growth. Overall a good place to work. High caliber team members that get things done and and make the work fun!

    Cons

    The seemingly continuous reorganization efforts have brought much uncertainty to the team members at the headquarters locations. This is a drag on productivity.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to quickly lay in the new course and execute the plan.

    Target2015-11-17
  10. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    strong culture, desire to promote from within, internal educational opportunities

    Cons

    lack of management direction, lack of management alignment, promotions based on who you know - not what you know, focus on 'style over substance' when it comes to employee worth

    Target2015-10-23
Found 69 reviews