Target Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
18 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. The company has good culture. It has good benefits. The company lives up to its ledership values.

    Cons

    A lot of projects get into analysis-paralysis mode and slows down the projects.

    Target2014-06-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Target.com Area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members great to work with

    Cons

    Lack of overall leadership and direction, lack of vision and strategy, lots of cost wasting

    Advice to Management

    Reorganize dotcom for Target

    Target2014-05-16
  3. "Target's culture has changed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The benefits and pay are above industry standards.

    Cons

    Too many layers of management and lack of consistency between teams. The culture has changed from one who valued it's employees to one who values only the management.

    Advice to Management

    Moral is very low at Target due to the challenges and layoffs over the past year. No one is sure they are safe as some of the top talent has been "asked to resign".

    Target2014-05-09
  4. "Good experience overall. Very academic company. Can learn a ton following the 70, 20, 10 model."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Vertically integrated company with so many opportunities across the organization. Can do complete career changes moving from Distribution to Merchandising to Property Development, etc.

    Cons

    Sometimes too process heavy, slow and bureaucratic. Can be a meat grinder sometimes with workload.

    Advice to Management

    Make an awesome shopping experience for our guests regardless of online or in store.

    Target2014-04-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work / Life balance and opportunities

    Cons

    Heavily process oriented and not easy to grow in career

    Advice to Management

    Opportunities to grow within should be flexible

    Target2014-03-10
  6. "Great growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Super team members to work with

    Cons

    Change is constant and sometimes hard to understand

    Advice to Management

    To many levels of management!

    Target2014-02-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "In TTS - Top Talent and a Feedback-Rich Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Target Technology Services has fantastic managers, great technical talent, and current technology. It has a retail culture rather than an IT culture, so advancement is based on socialization as much as (or maybe more than) performance. You will receive timely feedback (positive and negative) and are expected to provide the same. One motto is "feedback is a gift".

    Cons

    Margins are tight in retail, so there is a constant focus on expense reduction. You may be paid a little less for IT work in a retail environment than you would in other industries. The culture of socialization and constant feedback may feel like "drinking the Kool-Aid" to some.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. My managers were very supportive of me when I was experiencing a great deal of stress in my personal life.

    Target2013-11-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience overall. Culture was very different from that of a typical Silicon Valley company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed being part of a large, multi-year project. I got exposure to several different vendors as well as a more structured approach that comes from a formal PMO.

    Cons

    Commuting to Minneapolis every week for 14 months was a bit of a wear. Missed my family.

    Advice to Management

    My only real concern was that due to the large percentage of outsourcing (myself included) I didn't feel the passion of ownership that comes from a team comprised mostly of FTE staff. I would reduce the amount of contractors.

    Target2013-10-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Project Managaer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Alot of great and smart people, very flexible schedule, good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Alot of work to be done, emphasis on sales so much as this could be the reason you have job or not.

    Advice to Management

    Managers need to give more credit to their project managers, they do alot of work and most of the time go un-noticed.

    Target2013-10-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big company, lots of opportunities to be involved in key projects

    Cons

    Not sure they value IT they way they used to, not the best work life balance. Workspace is cramped and noisy

    Target2013-08-22
Found 69 reviews