Target Software engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
42 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture - Good Pay - Smart coworkers - Target discount

    Cons

    None that I can instantly think of

    Target2019-09-26
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of technical skill development

    Cons

    support work is tough during peak.

    Target2019-09-12
  3. "Love where you work, unless we don't like you or your opinions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are on a good team in the company you will have a good time.

    Cons

    If you end up on a bad team no one will help you out. Seniors would ignore suggestions for improvements that the teams could use.

    Target2019-09-04
  4. "Company that values workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great work life balance -Great pay (interns & full) -Company invests in learning

    Cons

    -Minnesota is cold -Nothing else to put

    Target2019-08-21
  5. "Definitely worth considering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at Target for less than a year

    Pros

    Great program Learn a lot Pay is great

    Cons

    Almost completely depends on what team you get placed on

    Target2019-08-07
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits; hours and pay. Colleagues are great

    Cons

    Not enough work from home flexibly. One day a week is permitted.

    Target2019-07-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "DO NOT SIGN THE OFFER PACKAGE (read it with a lawyer, it is a scam)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The HQ office is nice and has nice view.

    Cons

    If you don't work for Target for a year, they will make sure you pay every penny for relocation/, even though they paid you less than what the package was. I signed the contract, they gave me $7,500 for relocation expenses. I quit in less than a year due to being abused, and they send me a bill for $18,000. I don't understand where the money comes from.

    Advice to Management

    Organize your team. Stop making it a one man show.

    Target2019-06-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment and work culture

    Cons

    Slow career and salary growth once joined

    Target2019-03-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lot of opportunity for learning and personal growth - Work life balance - Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Salary is below the market average

    Target2019-01-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of change an pressure to increase productivity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    World wide talent base using bleeding edge technology to push the limits Constantly looking for the next new thing to implement to be more efficient and they have the cash to invest when needed

    Cons

    Expectations are extremely high. If you stick to 40 hours a week, you won't meet them in most cases. Lots of H1B visa usage and offshore interaction requiring strange work hours for most roles. A lot of the technology work and leadership is done offshore (India) and there is a large disconnect between onshore and offshore teams. Always expected to learn new tech. You never get to be an expert at anything... before you're expected to learn something else. They want new talent, so people that have been there a while tend to be overlooked or pushed out. You are expected to research and learn about new tech trends and languages on your own time and bring this experience back to your day job. Without continuously incorporating new technology into your stack, you won't be viewed as a leader. Management talks about failing fast and learning from it, but failure day to day is unacceptable unless you can make up for the failure by working overtime to keep delivery timelines on schedule.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shift out of crisis mode. The pace currently expected is burning talent out and is not sustainable.

    Target2019-02-15
Found 105 reviews