Target "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Employee Reviews about "upper management"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31328 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
7336 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are willing to give you 40 hours and you can trade with other team members if you are not willing to work some days(in 1994 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule and good hours(in 1151 reviews)

Cons
  • "Development of team members into leadership positions can be slow espcially in lower volume stores(in 1784 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be an issue(in 1683 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great environment but little communication from the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Springfield, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hourly pay is one of the highest in entry level retail jobs Coworkers were great Great employee perks Very flexible as far as callouts for sickness go 10-20% employee discount

    Cons

    There was little to no communication from upper management to the "little guys." I was seasonal but nobody told me I was being let go until I saw the schedule did not have my name on it.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees to keep them updated.

    Target2019-05-05
  2. "Not bad, but highly dependent on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Other team members are helpful Decent benefits if full time

    Cons

    Upper management is completely clueless and likes to micromanage Scheduling leaves a lot to be desired Pay is not indicative of workload Upper management will undercut their peers and then blame the team members for it

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with each other and the team Stop overloading the team with more than reasonable work Take ownership of your mistakes and don't blame the team members for your mistakes

    Target2019-05-11
  3. "Great salary with a lot of responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Team Leader - Logistics in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Upward mobility Salary and bonuses Raises if you perform well Leadership Experience

    Cons

    Company rolls out new initiatives with little preparation Upper management does not seem to understand day to day store operations Hard to get part time employees to want to change with new rollouts Females have better opportunities for growth in the company than males Long days (10 hour minimum)

    Advice to Management

    Be more clear with new rollouts Give stores hours to better train the team Payroll never matched the workload (Not sure why this was a constant problem) Some weeks you get tons of hours for low workload and some weeks you get very little when there is high workload Department payroll did not make sense. The beauty department got as many hours as the rest of hardlines when the expectations were similar for both work...

    Show More
    Target2019-05-06
  4. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    The people you work with can be wonderful. The job itself is self explanatory.

    Cons

    Upper management can be ridiculous. I worked for Target for 10 years and you met every kind of management leader and some we're good others you wonder how they got hired on. Expectations are all over the place and not entirely consistent. Favoritism runs pretty rampant in the company and districts. As a team leader depending on what department and who your ETL is you can expect...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please don't overload your team leads and stop promoting people that don't have the qualifications to be in upper management.

    Target2019-05-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "They don't care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli/Bakery Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay pretty laid back nice set schedules

    Cons

    upper management doesn't care about employees Will fire you for any reason not many hours are available negative team members

    Advice to Management

    I don't really know what advice to give. But through the seven months I have worked here, I have realized working here is not my cup of tea. Management lacks communication skills.

    Target2019-04-27
  6. "ETL at target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ETL Target in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Fun people, and good training

    Cons

    Upper management is unreliable

    Target2019-04-25
  7. "Target GM Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time

    Pros

    Discount is great and schedule is consistent.

    Cons

    This role has way too many responsibilities for one person to physically do during a given day/week. Upper management does not support their Team Leads enough. It is very physically and mentally taxing.

    Target2019-04-24
  8. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Team Lead 

    I have been working at Target full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance Vacation/personal time

    Cons

    Communication Favoritism Upper management

    Target2019-04-13
  9. "Ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Pay Team members Benefits Will try and work with your school schedule

    Cons

    As a leader or executive you no longer have a work life balance Upper Management

    Advice to Management

    Having all your leaders in your building working mid shifts makes for having no work life balance.

    Target2019-04-11
  10. "A Place to Gain Quick Experience and Pay the Bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Starbucks Team Lead 

    I worked at Target full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers were great!

    Cons

    Inexperienced upper management with lack of empathy and unwillingness to understand the needs of various teams across the store.

    Advice to Management

    Walk a mile in someone else's shoes.

    Target2019-04-10
Found 31328 reviews