Tata Steel Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Tata Steel Managing Director Mr. T V Narendran
Mr. T V Narendran
379 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Slow growth in terms of increment(in 33 reviews)

  • "No cons overall u will enjoy ur life here(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Tata Steel full-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for

    Cons

    Too much of CSR activities

    Tata Steel2017-02-26
  2. "Manager, Mining Operations"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tata Steel full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, Great opportunities

    Cons

    Very hierarchical, Slow decision making process

    Tata Steel2019-01-09
  3. "Overall Good experince"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tata Steel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good amount of flexibility in terms of work and decisions - Ownership is given to individuals

    Cons

    - Bit Slow in terms of work culture and hierarchical

    Tata Steel2018-08-23
  4. "Boss"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Tata Steel full-time

    Pros

    A sense of accomplishment every day.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Tata Steel2017-12-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Officer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tata Steel full-time

    Pros

    Job Security, Friendly atmosphere and good benefits

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, Slow Growth rate and Hierarchical

    Continue reading
    Tata Steel2017-09-22
  6. "Good people, weak foriegn leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tata Steel full-time

    Pros

    Hard-working, dedicated employees that work as a team to get the job done.

    Cons

    Foreign leaders do not understand what the company does on a daily business. They believe the US employees are over paid and are not necessary.

    Continue reading
    Tata Steel2017-05-23
  7. "Average"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tata Steel full-time

    Pros

    Good work Culture, Pay is good for a beginner. You can enjoy your first few years if you are a graduate trainee.

    Cons

    No growth aspects, Promotion depends on boot-licking skills and no learnings from the job if you are in an engineering role.

    Tata Steel2017-01-13
  8. "Balanced work and personal life"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Tata Steel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, good perks, good employee policies, not like govt, great leaders. I would recommend Tata Steel if you want to have a comfortable life with decent life style.

    Cons

    A bit slow paced, not for young energetic people, heavily polluted, Jamshedpur is Expensive, Not too much to do in Jamshedpur. The major cons are related to the location and safety. Jamshedpur is very polluted city you will not see starts in night ever.

    Tata Steel2016-03-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best Steel Sector"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tata Steel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Top Management and exciting job scope

    Cons

    Steel sector is a challenging sector daeling with a bit harsh high temperature environment

    Tata Steel2016-02-22
  10. "About work culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Manager in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tata Steel for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great team environment and caring management as well as team!

    Cons

    - Used to have only sunday as a holiday but recently they have started 5 days/week policy

    Tata Steel2016-02-21
Found 720 reviews