Tate & Lyle "good people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Tate & Lyle Employee Reviews about "good people"

Updated 24 de May 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tate & Lyle CEO Nick Hampton (no image)
Nick Hampton
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some good people working very hard wanting to make a difference(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great work being done by great people to make a difference in the world(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Scientist in Hoffman Estates, IL

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the company has good people and management is great. Coworkers are knowledgeable and helpful. environment is very collaborative and management is engaged

    Cons

    it is a large company so it is sometimes hard to get decisions made in a timely manner. The company is global and sometimes collaboration becomes difficult when dealing with overseas colleagues

    Advice to Management

    keep engaging employees

    Tate & Lyle2014-01-30
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Hoffman Estates office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people working very hard wanting to make a difference. Focus and concern of safety for employees.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Too much work and not enough resources. Expectations are not realistic..you will burn out quickly. Teams dont communicate well. These are all reasons why New hires leave the company so quickly. I have seen a lot of people leave since I started. Moral has been low and Management is not addressing it. Bonus structure is not fair. Only managers or above receive it. You work extra hard for a... minimal yearly increase.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes....employees are leaving...or looking to leave. Why are you not addressing the issues to retain your talent?

    Tate & Lyle2017-05-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people and lots of opportunity to learn and do. Decent pay. Great safety culture.

    Cons

    limited advancement and buisiness development, like six sigma, or recognized training programes. Some managers are not good managers.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your people. hourly employees and non college educated supervisors should not make more than professionals.

    Tate & Lyle2016-11-12
  4. "Not so bad to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle full-time

    Pros

    Good people in the manufacturing level. Very skilled professionals with a very strong safety culture

    Cons

    Old school leadership. Does not work well with technology a gen X

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee's. Start training new generations of people.

    Tate & Lyle2016-07-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "True Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Maint Coordinator in Loudon, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay, Great Benifits, Good people,

    Cons

    Standards always changing, no set standards

    Advice to Management

    Maintain 1 Standard

    Tate & Lyle2016-03-24
  6. "Current thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time

    Pros

    Great product portfolio, customer loyalty, some good people

    Cons

    Legacy attitude, poorly constructed compensation, shortterm outlook

    Tate & Lyle2016-03-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process/Project Engineer in Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Good people to work with. People generally care about the company and doing what's best. - Very strong core business that consistently turns a profit, so job security is strong. - Lots of exposure to different processes and unit operations allows young engineers a well rounded experience and knowledge base. - A career progression ladder has been developed for engineers that shows paths in both technical... and leadership paths.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Concerned about where the company is heading. We keep selling off the business, but aren't adding anything of significance to replace. We recently chose to close a plant rather than lower our price to compete with Chinese. Recent SAP upgrade has resulted in more busy work for employees and less time to spend actually doing our jobs. - When unrealistic profits are not achieved, blame and pain is placed on the... wrong groups to cut budgets and work harder.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Take a few risks. We can't continue to be this conservative and expect to remain competitive. - Submit realistic profit forecasts, so we can met expectations and not disappoint investors.

    Tate & Lyle2015-06-29
  8. Helpful (6)

    "A falling down company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hoffman Est, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Product Line, still some good people trying to hang on unfortunately not for long.

    Cons

    Aggressive and belittling senior management. Impossible to meet goals or expectations. Intimidation tactics continually exercised. Don't be sold a bill of goods when the management lists a great place to work on this website. If you are considering taking a job at this company think again. Get your bonus agreements in writing! They talk about the culture and values however do not act on them. Beware!

    Advice to Management

    Someone on the Board of Shareholders had better take a good look at who they have employed to run their business.

    Tate & Lyle2015-06-25
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Shame to See What has Happened to a Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tate & Lyle was a great company to work for, well respected in the Industry, broad product portfolio. Commitment to innovation and developing new products. For the most part dedicated, smart hard working people.

    Cons

    Poor handling of standard business challenges, no consistency and poor processes that were not followed. Flawed strategy. Too many changes in leadership. At times hostile work environment. Poor treatment of good people. Constant turnover of people.

    Advice to Management

    Tate & Lyle is a good company with great products. Learn how to build an environment where people are motivated to deliver results. Value people.

    Tate & Lyle2015-05-29
  10. "Local implementation manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tate & Lyle

    Pros

    Good people, good hours, decent pay

    Cons

    Strange power outages. No one seems to know the big picture

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Tate & Lyle2015-04-08
Found 20 reviews