Tavistock Restaurants Reviews | Glassdoor

Tavistock Restaurants Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Bryan Lockwood
11 Ratings
  1. "Wine Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wine Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tavistock Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An excellent corporate team that cares about the individual & strives for the best possible outcome in all situations.

    Cons

    The corporate team is mainly based in Florida and there is only one restaurant left here in the Las Vegas area.

    Advice to Management

    Possibly to find a new space within the Las Vegas strip area to relocate a new concept restaurant for the group.

    Tavistock Restaurants2019-02-26
  2. "Atlas' Pastry Chef....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pastry Cook in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tavistock Restaurants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Has some pretty awesome knowledge to share as far as knowledge of chocolate and molecular gastronomy go.

    Cons

    His style has no place in a high end farm to table restaurant. He yells, throws plates back at you on the line if he doesn't like your plating, cannot keep staff, belittles staff and then laughs about it with other staff members. He is not someone you ever want to work for or with.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of him and maybe you'd keep a pastry team as opposed to a revolving pastry door, slinging pastry cream all over the stainless.

    Tavistock Restaurants2019-05-08
  3. "Very Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BOH Team Member in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tavistock Restaurants part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Attractive pay*, coworkers are fun

    Cons

    They hire and promote the wrong people, they don't know how to function as a company. *Told me that attractive pay, but in reality I was only paid that about 1/5th of the time. I've worked for Tavistock restaurants twice, and both times everything around me has been on fire. The previous one I worked for did not increase my pay even when I was trained on new positions, I was receiving minimum wage for working BOH jobs...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting people just because you like them. When you send someone from corporate to do their job, make sure they know how to do their job. PAY YOUR WORKERS. Stop taking a mile from your hard working employees and promoting bad workers, you are honestly notorious amongst BOH employees for taking advantage of us. When all three of my upper management chefs quit within one month - as well as 1/4th of the crew that...

    Show More
    Tavistock Restaurants2019-03-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "typical restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Server 

      I have been working at Tavistock Restaurants full-time

      Pros

      decent tips on weekends for area

      Cons

      scheduling was not very organized at times

      Tavistock Restaurants2019-01-30
    • "Best"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Management in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Tavistock Restaurants

      Pros

      Good, best, nice, luxury, staff friendly

      Cons

      No, NA, IT, none , IT

      Advice to Management

      None

      Tavistock Restaurants2018-10-17
    • "Event SAles"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Event Sales Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Tavistock Restaurants full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, very friendly staff. Amazing food and service

      Cons

      Located in a hotel therefore holidays off are not an option.

      Tavistock Restaurants2018-05-30
    • "Opportunity for improved communication and morale"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing in Orlando, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Tavistock Restaurants for less than a year

      Pros

      Competitive salary, free lunch, Talented team

      Cons

      Room for improvement with communication.

      Advice to Management

      Keep team looped in on status of business and they efforts Share the wins, share the need for doing better. Share whats working and what's not. Have clear leadership, so it's known who steers the ship.

      Tavistock Restaurants2018-05-01
    • "Bartender"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Tavistock Restaurants part-time

        Pros

        lots of fun, great clientel

        Cons

        not very corporate, change in management a lot

        Tavistock Restaurants2018-01-25
      • Helpful (1)

        "Who you know"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server in Miami, FL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Tavistock Restaurants for less than a year

        Pros

        Huh.... tough one. Filling up word minimum.

        Cons

        Pay $60 a month for parking. Unless your the 4 major people there. You will never work a party. The “head” waiter. Management doesn’t back you up. Worst place I have ever worked at.

        Advice to Management

        Doesn’t matter. They wouldn’t listen. Neither does corporate. Tried that too.

        Tavistock Restaurants2018-01-02
      • "I really enjoy working for such an amazing company who treats their employees with integrity and upmost respect."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Tavistock Restaurants full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        You come to work everyday with the best people in the food and beverage industry and have a blast.

        Cons

        You have to be able to stand, walk and lift heavy objects for long periods of time.

        Advice to Management

        Holding people accountable for their actions in a more fair and consistent way would be a plus. Sometimes the rules don't seem to apply to everyone the same.

        Tavistock Restaurants2017-10-30
      Found 40 reviews