Tax Analysts Reviews | Glassdoor

Tax Analysts Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cara Griffith
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronic Production Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tax Analysts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employees, friendly environment, potential for professional growth

    Cons

    Not the most exciting field or content, work becomes very routine

    Tax Analysts2019-07-12
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A great place with motivated people, but long-term career dev can be hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tax Analysts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mission-focused organization. Nerdy staff, in the best sense. Management tries to involve staff in decisions. For many employees, has a family-like feel.

    Cons

    The subject area is dry. You'll enjoy it more if you're more interested in tax as a topic. Also it can be hard to advance past a certain point -- a lot of people stay in their jobs long term, so it's rare when opportunities open up.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on finding channels to communicate with staff at all levels. Look for more creative ways to advance employees' careers when there aren't openings in the management chain.

    Tax Analysts2019-04-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company w/ some flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tax Analysts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Laid back environment Job security Dog policy Work from Home days

    Cons

    Some management is bad Team building is nonexistent

    Tax Analysts2019-03-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, good perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tax Analysts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, casual environment

    Cons

    office politics and poor HR team Little room to advance

    Tax Analysts2019-03-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Tax Analysts Legal Reporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Reporter in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tax Analysts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere in the office. Very flexible work /life balance. Work from home 3 days per week. Good salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Extremely limited upward mobility. The top of the company are relatively young and not likely to leave so moving beyond middle management is almost impossible.

    Advice to Management

    Create more upward mobility options.

    Tax Analysts2018-11-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Tax Analysts full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed office environment, decent pay.

    Cons

    I'm not sure where all this stuff about being a great place to work came from. The interview process was a joke, so they knew nothing about me before extending an offer. They conducted no training and seemed frustrated I didn't immediately know everything about doing this extremely niche job. I say seemed, because management never made any effort to communicate their expectations, how the work was supposed to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a good look at which managers have zero competence managing employees and get them out of there. If you're going to tout flexibility and good working conditions as a perk, make sure workers are actually allowed to have those things.

    Tax Analysts2018-10-26
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Casual and inviting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tax Analysts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The relaxed dress code, generous PTO, and dog-friendly environment were great. The people I worked with were awesome, and the CEO seemed to really care about employees. Work-life balance was encouraged.

    Cons

    The work I did was very boring and I didn't see any way to move to a different position.

    Tax Analysts2018-06-04
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great environment with friendly people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Editor in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tax Analysts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, low-stress atmosphere, dog friendly (my dog was a frequent visitor), opportunity to interact with some of the top names in the tax world, interesting work if you like tax (and who doesn't love tax?), free cupcakes once a month, free parking, and daily walks.

    Cons

    It's a small organization, so advancement can be limited, but most people find their niche and settle in.

    Tax Analysts2018-04-24
  9. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Analyst in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tax Analysts for more than a year

    Pros

    It is great place to work for.

    Cons

    It is not that large of a company.

    Advice to Management

    Better benefits.

    Tax Analysts2018-03-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Small Nice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tax Analysts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual Dress, no micro-management. very laid back work envoirnment

    Cons

    No room for growth, pay no that good

    Advice to Management

    pay a bit more for hard working people

    Tax Analysts2017-03-27

    Tax Analysts Response

    May 31, 2017Senior HR Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback. We really value our relaxed culture, so I am glad you enjoyed your experience here in that regard. HR has taken steps to improve the career paths for our editorial teams by completing a structure review project this year. Positions were re-graded to create ...

    Show More
Found 24 reviews