Teach for America Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Teach for America CEO  Elisa Villanueva Beard  (no image)
Elisa Villanueva Beard
246 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "difficult to find a work life balance(in 113 reviews)

  • "Need to be dedicated to the work or else long hours and pressure can be overwhelming(in 85 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great people. Meaningful work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Director in New York, NY

    I worked at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Investment in inclusive environment for staff.

    Cons

    Many competing and constantly shifting priorities.

    Teach for America2020-03-03
  2. Helpful (478)

    "Great Place"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and atmosphere to all employees.

    Cons

    I have not encounter one so far.

    Continue reading
    Teach for America2017-08-14
  3. "An Absolute Pleasure"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Campus Ambassador 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Teach for America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful work with amazing people!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Teach for America2020-05-31
  4. "Great mission, rewarding work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TFA Corps Member in Tulsa, OK

    I worked at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with smart people that help you broaden your outlook.

    Cons

    Sometimes the organization can be unintentionally oppressive to minority groups within the corps.

    Teach for America2020-05-29
  5. "Great Place"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Legislative Fellow in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a great network to be apart of.

    Cons

    There are very few cons.

    Teach for America2020-05-18
  6. "Strong company culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    commitment to DEI and shared workstreams

    Cons

    less upward mobility depending on team

    Teach for America2020-05-18
  7. "It's ok if you dont fully depend on this income."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, culture, work load is very manageable, retreats to get to meet your team better, snacks

    Cons

    Risk to lose your job due to funding.

    Teach for America2020-05-16
  8. "this will change your life and you will grow as a human being"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Instructure in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I developed skills in all sorts of way. I grew my network, found my passion, learned about my community and myself in ways I wouldn't have been able to in this short period of time.

    Cons

    you will be doing A LOT of work on your own and without support.

    Teach for America2020-05-13
  9. "Great organization with talented, impact-minded people!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Teacher Leadership Development in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time

    Pros

    - Impact-minded people with a shared vision for One Day - Office perks including catering and supplies were strong before pandemic

    Cons

    - Lack of clarity on the objective at times - More opportunities for outside professional development

    Continue reading
    Teach for America2020-05-14
  10. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teach for America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    deeply committed to their mission

    Cons

    inconsistent coaching at times during school year

    Teach for America2020-05-10
Found 1189 reviews