KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Teachers Pay Teachers

Is this your company?

Teachers Pay Teachers

Add a Review

Teachers Pay Teachers Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 33 reviews

4.7
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Teachers Pay Teachers CEO Joe Holland
Joe Holland
13 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Recent hire

    Jun 25, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I recently started working at TpT and so far I have had all positive experiences! The culture seems great and the people are really nice! Benefits are really good including a great health plan and a comprehensive benefits package.

    Cons

    none that I can think of :)

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great mission, great people, interesting projects

    Jun 19, 2021 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - the team I worked with was inclusive, welcoming, smart, and helpful as a new software engineer. - everyone is all in with the mission! - I have made friends for life here and grew so much as a software engineer. Honestly, I learned more in the two years I worked here than I have in any other company. - There are plenty of interesting and complex projects to work on. Most projects I worked on were highly visible. - my manager has always been transparent and cared about my career growth and my personal goals which I appreciated dearly!

    Cons

    - I am biased but missed being able to see my coworkers in the office and the in person events for team bonding. But that's because of the pandemic we couldn't do it this year.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place to work, with potential to be Great.

    May 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Lots of great managers (some exceptions, don’t get me wrong, but the bar of quality is higher than anywhere else I’ve worked). - Compensation is very good, especially for a non-FAANG company / unicorn startup. - Candid culture. People are straightforward here and it’s very helpful for getting my work done, learning, and growing. - Ownership. There are lots of opportunities for ownership here, even as a non-senior employee. - Kind people. Folks seem to genuinely care about one another and not solely out of obligation. - Work-life balance: It’s very rare you see people working nights or weekends (minus an employee or two who prefer to work slightly later hours than everyone else).

    Cons

    - Diversity needs to be better, especially in the engineering department. - Need for stronger engineering strategy and prioritization. Things shift too quickly and it often feels like an engineering North Star is missing.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Really enjoyed my time at TpT

    May 18, 2021 - Tech Lead in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredible culture, great pay, wonderful group of people, interesting problems. I really enjoyed my time at TpT and would still be working at TpT if it weren't for an incredible leadership opportunity that came along.

    Cons

    Sometimes in the interest of making sure everyone was involved or brought along in the process, I felt that productivity suffered. That being said it was a high performance culture with lots of smart people.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    So many changes out of nowhere

    Jul 2, 2021 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product and people are really nice here.

    Cons

    They changed our hours right after hiring us, significantly. Also no commission in the sales roles.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Truly a great place to work!

    Apr 26, 2021 - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people that work at TpT are by far the best part about it. Everyone is insanely nice and welcoming, and the people ops do a great job creating different fun events and ways to help people connect- even remotely.

    Cons

    Just your expected growing pains of a new product (TpTSA).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Supportive, Mission Driven Company

    Mar 4, 2021 - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TpT really values its mission of empowering teachers, both by promoting teacher created content and getting resources into teachers' hands in the most affordable and accessible ways. Very supportive leadership and a joyful place to work with good benefits.

    Cons

    Evolving needs on specific teams sometimes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great place with good people

    Feb 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dedicated teams looking to do good.

    Cons

    Unclear progression structure for growth and pormotions.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent Workplace

    Dec 2, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All employees are extremely helpful and professional, wonderful work environment.

    Cons

    No noticeable cons at this position.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Incredible Candidate Experience

    May 18, 2020 - Recruiting Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A tremendous strength of the TpT team is a level of sincerity throughout their interviewing process. They succeed at making you feel prioritized as a person, as well as a candidate. The selection process, even during remote interviewing, was pretty seamless - all videos worked well and interviewers showed up on time - but more than that, the team was always sure to give you details of where you were and what was to come, and in a timely manner. Receiving clear communication and knowing that your questions will be answered in a thoughtful way is really appreciated during times such as these, and TpT seemed to make a concerted effort to do that. One of the things that I was most impressed by from my experience interviewing with TpT was each member's willingness to give clarity and honesty to every question I brought them during the process. Some of my many questions included, "What is remote life like at TpT?" "How has quarantine affected the company's culture?" "How have your goals as a team and as a company been impacted?" etc. -- Having interviewed substantially during quarantine, I have to say it can be fairly confusing when a team you're speaking with says that their company's culture hasn't been impacted significantly by COVID-19, or when they don't have too clear of an answer at all. It leaves you with the impression that those people aren't being entirely honest and that you won't know what you're walking into. -- When speaking with TpT, I felt I was speaking with a real person. Team members would admit, "remote work can be hard at times," and then would describe *actual steps* they've taken to maintain culture, such as their "Watercooler" daily video chats that team members have the option to join to see a friendly face. An answer that wasn't all dressed up in sales language gave me the opportunity to visualize what working remotely for this team would actually feel like. All of the different conversations I had with separate team members were consistent with each other, and employees seem to enjoy and be motivated by the same things at the company. If there was a word I could use to summarize the impression I had, it would be that this team is "genuine." I feel very fortunate to say that I'll be joining TpT soon! Since accepting the offer, I've received a huge amount of warmth and welcoming through emails and text messages from many team members. I'm so happy (and relieved) to finally be able to say that I've found a much better spot now than before I was laid off.

    Cons

    None that I've seen at this point

    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with Teachers Pay Teachers Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Teachers Pay Teachers? Share Your Experiences

Teachers Pay Teachers logo
or