KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Teachers Pay Teachers

Engaged Employer

Teachers Pay Teachers

Add a Review

Teachers Pay Teachers Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 of over 66 reviews

3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Teachers Pay Teachers CEO Joe Holland
Joe Holland
32 Ratings

What people are saying about Teachers Pay Teachers

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Company That Promotes From Within and Cares About Their People

    Aug 31, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am in love with this company and my team. I feel 100% supported and like everyone has my back. It is such a strong community and a very positive atmosphere. I was able to grow in a very short time period (I was promoted around 1 year) and am always learning new things. I had very little corporate sales experience but the team at TpT taught me everything I needed to know to be successful. I get weekly guidance from my manager on sales skills so that I can be successful. My manager cares deeply about everyone on his team and he goes to bat for us. What is unique about TpT is that you get to interact with members of all levels of the company. A few days ago one of our senior leadership team members (c-suite) wanted to get my opinion on a project and took my input seriously. The whole leadership team at all levels is very accessible to everyone - it is not an environment where anyone comes across as feeling more important than anyone else. I know if my manager is out for a week there are plenty of other managers that will step in and I love working with all the managers of our team. I'm always impressed that the heads of the sales department take time to get to know everyone on our team (I think at one point we had over 100 people) and knows the ins and outs of all the different job functions. There is also a very nice work-life balance. They give us enough time off to have vacations, be with family for holidays, and take care of ourselves if we get sick. TpT has demonstrated time and time again that they do right by their people.

    Cons

    I wish that there was an opportunity to grow in sales without becoming a manager.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Didn't used to be this bad

    Sep 16, 2022 - Another Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Decent pay - Good benefits (healthcare)

    Cons

    - Forced company events that come off as fake (if you have to tell someone to have fun, it’s not fun) - Managers have favorites, and those favorites get special benefits - You’re asked to do things outside your role description - if it’s for another team, they’ll use the “cross-functional experience” excuse for it - There’s little consistency in anything that is done - for example it’s done one way one time or for one person, but not the next time or for the next person - Unless you’re extroverted or a managers favorite, you won’t get promoted or it will take you double the time to. Or, managers will just create a new role for favorites to keep them and give other employees the “there needs to be a business need” excuse for not getting a promotion. - Many teams push their work onto other teams - Some coworkers have boundary issues, the “we’re a family” red flag - work is work and home is home

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not recommended

    Sep 30, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Benefits - 4 weeks PTO, flexible sick time - Remote - Work life balance

    Cons

    - Managers are ineffective at leading both individual teams and the sales org as a whole. - Constant micromanaging. - Unclear expectations that change often. Communication is not consistent across various teams. - No room for growth or promotion.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    User-driven, non-toxic, and supportive environment

    Aug 11, 2022 - Product Designer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quick stuff – Fully-remote (as of writing this), great comp, very nice office to use if you want it, fun company gatherings/offsites. Longer opinions –  Every company I've worked for has claimed to be either "user centered" or "customer obsessed" until final product decisions come down, and you need to design/build that which benefits stakeholders the most. No business is entirely altruistic, but a beautiful thing about Teachers Pay Teachers is that helping teachers is at the core of all decision making, all the way to the top. I have been on multiple projects now where there has been opportunity to increase profit, and it was decided instead to do what would help the greatest number of teachers. As a designer, the stance that an organization takes on perspectives like this can be either demoralizing, or inspiring. Finally, I'm at a company where I continue to feel inspired. It's also non-toxic! I don't need to get too much into this because it's mostly based on my previous jobs being pretty toxic. This is just to say that I haven't encountered any dismissive people or political games in my year+ here. I feel valued as a part of the company, and respected as a design professional. No endless cycle of leadership presentations and sign-off. Your professional opinions will be heard and they carry weight. (Not saying I get to do everything I want, but I get input from my peers and ideas are discussed fairly, not overridden from the outside.) This leads me to my final point, which is that TPT has a really supportive environment. It's a great mix of ownership (they have a pod model: 1PM, 1PD, 1Eng lead + engineers), trust, and support in the form of feedback and collaboration. You might be the only designer in your pod, but you won't be alone. This is the *ideal* sweet spot from my past experience working in both very small and very large companies. For context: I thought it would just be my honeymoon phase talking, so I waited over a year since joining to share my thoughts. I've felt really great about previous new jobs too, but then the office politics set in. This has not been my experience here.

    Cons

    Everyone's experience is unique. I can say that other designers and product managers I work with have shared really positive impressions of TPT, but to be honest I have seen a lot of negative experiences from engineers. I don't know their full story or can't speak for their experience (I'm sure there are other reviews here that can). TPT needs a bit more of long-term vision/strategy, and inspiring storytelling to make the connection between where we are today and how we can get to our goals. As you can tell from the Pros above, this doesn't really dampen my day-to-day experience working here, but I think it's something they need to work on.

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company, team, and place to work!

    Jun 22, 2022 - Customer Experience Lead in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great Management/Manager(s) - A company that cares about its employees and users - Amazing benefits and competitive pay - You get to work with the nicest people in tech, and people who care about their work and mission. Seriously, the people are the nicest I've worked with - Managers who care about your career path, lots of room to grow as long as you put in the effort and show enthusiasm - Work/life balance has been great

    Cons

    - Miss being in the office all the time (which is still an option, but enjoy the hybrid flexibility they offer) - Not always enough resources for the ambitious goals we set externally and internally

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A 9-5 with perks that allow you to enjoy life outside of work!

    Aug 1, 2022 - Sales Enablement Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Incredible group of people work at TpT. Have made a ton of friends that go beyond the workday! 2. Vacation policy is excellent 3. Encouraged to not stay online late Also - everyone is working toward the same goal! If you ask TpT employees most of them are actually invested in helping teachers!

    Cons

    Mostly remote workers at this point. Collaboration is more challenging.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Was great, but no so much now

    Jun 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - They love merch so you'll probably get a water bottle or t-shirt when you join - In-person and virtual events. You'll like them if you were once a teacher - Don't need to go into the office - CEO is friendly - Still better than being a teacher

    Cons

    - Leadership shows extreme favoritism - Leadership consistently dodges questions about the company culture, career growth, and company direction - AMAs are fake and never provide actionable solutions to concerns - Resources are stretched thin - DEI/diversity and inclusion are a work in progress, but leadership doesnt model it very well - Lots of employees exiting, including senior engineers and PMs

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Struggling to address growing pains

    Aug 1, 2022 - Software Engineering 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits package Mission oriented Flexible, WFH

    Cons

    Culture has been conflated with happy hours and annual events, rather than with top down decisions from leadership that often undermine “performers”. Recognition is largely based on what team you are on. Engineering, design, among other teams are often misunderstood and overlooked, and unrealistic workload expectations are the result.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best company I've had the opportunity to work for

    Jul 14, 2022 - People Operations in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are at the heart of everything TpT does. They truly care about their mission to empower educators. They also show great care for their employees offering great benefits, generous time off, company events, employee resource groups etc.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company that is getting better

    Jul 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, great employees, a great mission to assist educators

    Cons

    Some leaderships misguidance, heavy workload, salary not current with the national standard

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 55 Reviews

Teachers Pay Teachers Reviews FAQs

Teachers Pay Teachers has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 66 reviews left anonymously by employees. 51% of employees would recommend working at Teachers Pay Teachers to a friend and 56% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -27% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Teachers Pay Teachers employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Teachers Pay Teachers. This rating has decreased by -17% over the last 12 months.

51% of Teachers Pay Teachers employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Teachers Pay Teachers 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Teachers Pay Teachers to be senior leadership, benefits, culture and the cons to be career development, diversity and inclusion, management.

Popular Careers with Teachers Pay Teachers Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Teachers Pay Teachers? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Teachers Pay Teachers Photos

+ Add Photo
Teachers Pay Teachers photo of: TpTers at work
Teachers Pay Teachers photo of: TpT HQ
Teachers Pay Teachers photo of: Do something today to support educators.
Teachers Pay Teachers photo of: View of the city at TpT HQ
Teachers Pay Teachers photo of: Many places to work from at our Union Square HQ
Teachers Pay Teachers photo of: Our tech team at Grace Hopper!

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Teachers Pay Teachers Job Seekers Also Viewed

Schoology Logo
Schoology

4.2

70 Reviews
Compare