KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

TechSmith

Engaged Employer

TechSmith

Add a Review

TechSmith Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 of over 99 reviews

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
TechSmith CEO Wendy Hamilton
Wendy Hamilton
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work/life balance is really good(in 10 reviews)

  • "Of course the family events, free meals/snacks, great benefits always are nice as well :) It's hands down the best company I've worked for to date(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Seems to be little focus on anything that isn't Snagit or Camtasia(in 4 reviews)

  • "In general, the decision making process seems to be very slow, and sadly you can see those effects in their current and future business(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company, great culture

      Sep 15, 2021 - Sales Executive in Okemos, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful to their employees, customers and overall great company.

      Cons

      Pay a little lower than industry standard

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Nice company, but not a lot of Career growth

      Jul 4, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Okemos, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun place to work, friendly environment, and definitely has some of the trendy “tech company feel”

      Cons

      Mostly just lack of career growth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Encouraging Work Environment

      Oct 22, 2020 - Video Intern in Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, Understanding, Flexible, Encouraging, Planned

      Cons

      Sometimes Old School, Many Meetings

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Decent but slow

      Oct 1, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people and environment. Great benefits.

      Cons

      Decisions took too long to make.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company to work for

      Aug 25, 2020 - Inside Sales Account Manager in Okemos, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      TSC is transparent with current and future business plans, changes that are coming, and how these will affect the staff. Competitive salary and benefits package.

      Cons

      None that come to mind.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      A horrible place to work at

      Jun 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I cannot think of any

      Cons

      The company acts inclusive but employees talk trash each other. There is a majority of white male employees whose white supremacy shows blatantly when interacting with a person of color. The whole company is a scam when it comes to culture, not at all inviting or friendly unless you are white. HR is a joke and (obviously all white) is terrible at having events that are diverse and welcoming.

      1 person found this review helpful

      TechSmith Response

      CEO

      I'm shocked to see this review, truly devastated. It doesn't reflect my personal values, nor the values of my father the founder, nor TechSmith's 30 years of cultural investment. We are proud and active in our commitment to an inclusive, respectful employee environment. In fact, I say with 100% confidence that these cultural values are more important to our executive team and our board than anything else. No form of racism or discrimination is tolerated, and actually no form of disrespectful trash talking for any reason is either. I've worked here for five years and never seen a complaint like this on glassdoor before, nor any social media, nor from within the company. But that doesn't mean that this shouldn't be taken seriously, and fully investigated and addressed. But that is difficult to do from a glassdoor post. Please contact me personally wendy.hamilton@techsmith.com or someone else at TechSmith you trust to share what you experienced so we can take action. I do want to acknowledge that what you said about our demographics is unfortunately correct. Like many software tech companies we lack the diversity that is so important to represent our customer base, to enrich our culture, and to be at our best collectively in terms of leadership, innovation and decision making. This is something we are committed to, and have been actively improving on. This is a holistic issue with in the tech industry, and our primary philanthropic focus for over a decade has been increasing the availability of STEM education particularly for underrepresented populations.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Culture - No Future

      Oct 31, 2019 - Engineer in Okemos, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture and People you work with are amazing. Good introductory shop for Software Engineers

      Cons

      No real new products in a while and the pay there is well below market. My guess is that they will continue to milk customers for new versions of SnagIt and Camatasia that offer no real benefit for as long as they can and then fold.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      TechSmith Response

      CEO

      First thanks for recognizing our great culture, and great opportunity for entry level engineers. But, wow, I'm not sure how long ago you left but don't feel the rest is an accurate representation of TechSmith currently. We've launched two new cloud products in last couple years, now with millions of growing reocurring revenue outside of our core desktop products and another new product launching next year. But new products are not even necessary to grow when you are in a good market. Digital media tools, video, and self-serve education and training are some of the best markets to be in at moment. The innovation the teams are doing with Snagit and Camtasia is fantastic, simply remarkable, and our customers love what we are doing based on independent web reviews you can see right on our website, as well as our highest in industry NPS scores. I'm really proud of what our engineers have accomplished in evolving these products in the fast moving world of digital media technology. And these are the best customers in the world - all of the fortune 500, all the top higher ed in the US, with rapid growth globally. We also take care of our employees and genuinely care about their well-being - free healthcare, profit sharing bonuses, and new perks regularly added. Further, we regularly market check compensation benchmarks and make market adjustments, and know we are above average generally. Perhaps there was a dispute about your pay, sometimes that happens and it's unfortunate if we couldn't resolve it. I apologize if that left you frustrated, but it's not a common incident for us in general. I hope you have landed well and are happy now.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 21, 2019 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very fun place to work, company cares about the employees. Ability to collaborate across the entire company and present ideas to leadership that listens. Truly a customer first focus.

      Cons

      None come to mind at this time

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I wish I left sooner

      Aug 12, 2019 - Software Engineer in Okemos, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Payday comes regularly. Free parking.

      Cons

      It took me a long time to not be so steeped in fury thinking about my experience here that it wouldn't ruin my day while writing a review and as a result have put off writing a review until I reached such a time. A very toxic environment. It seemed like almost everyone I talked to hated the company and bonded over that sentiment, yet no one would do anything about it. People seemed to lack ambition to go elsewhere and instead would stay because it's very easy to be a poor performer and keep your job, creating a very poor working environment. It will affect your personal life. Management was extremely poor. Performance reviews seemed to just be made up and not based on anything at all. I rarely met with my manager to discuss any feedback (given or received). Some people got raises and bonuses, some didn't and it didn't seem to be who you would think based on effort and hard work. There seemed to be a lot of favoritism and cliques there. Some development teams didn't seem to give any priority to maintainability and the code and velocity always suffered. There's a reason so many products get delayed. Product innovation seems to be based on the whims of whoever is in charge, without any due diligence into viability - very much as 'if you build it they will come' mentality, yet 'they' would never come and the project would get shut down. Developers often treated as cogs in a machine that can be moved around at will. If you push back on anything that management has decided is the way of the future, you will get no where. You'll continue to do that thing no matter how awful an idea and how understaffed the team is until it bleeds into your personal life wreaking havoc on your relationships. If a product owner got moved from the team they wanted, it is going to be taken out on you if they're now leading your team. I was sold on a number of things about the company when I hired in and most were not true or were already obvious to an outsider. Free snacks are great, but it's not really a selling point. Bonuses are a selling point, but were rare and when they did the announcement would be along the lines of 'you didn't earn it, but we felt like we had to for morale' and it would be so low that it was essentially a slap in the face.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      TechSmith Response

      CEO

      As much as it pains me to hear about such a negative experience, I appreciate that you left open the possibility that things have improved since you left (3-4 years ago). Tech companies, in particular, need employees who are open to changing their minds. I'd like to share some of the results of our last employee engagement survey: • 97% of employees would recommend TechSmith as a good place to work to family and friends. • 94% of employees agree that Senior Leaders create a positive work culture • 97% employees feel TechSmith supports their need to create work/life balance • 96% of employee agree their manager or team lead values their talents and contributions We have a new CTO since you left, who has worked with the department to bring many process, career and organizational improvements, including the engineering lead roles you describe. We also have been profitable and paid out bonuses over past few years and are having double digit growth this year. We still have room to improve. Our entire organization - all levels - works together to make TechSmith a great place to work. No one would fault you for leaving given how you felt at the time. But if you are open to changing your mind, check back with some of your contacts here and see what they think. Wendy Hamilton CEO

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great environment

      Oct 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career growth, perks, bonuses, activities and trips, conferences, free meals on fridays, free snacks and pop. Great fun culture.

      Cons

      Employees would usually need relocating. The campus is an very odd location in a small town most people don't know about.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      TechSmith Response

      CEO

      Thanks for your review. We do care about having an enjoyable work environment - we all spend too much time of our life at work to not love it. And you are correct about the odd location. The Midwest is an unusual location for commercial software companies to begin with, and I believe we are one of the few headquartered in Michigan, let alone mid-Michigan. https://www.forbes.com/sites/peterandrewwilkins/2019/01/24/the-top-enterprise-software-companies-in-the-midwest/#484dda2f69e4 FYI we do have three mobile apps that compliment our core products https://www.techsmith.com/mobile-apps.html including the leading screen recorder on IOS, as well as a fourth paid app that was an employee innovation https://www.coachseye.com/.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 62 Reviews

    Popular Careers with TechSmith Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at TechSmith? Share Your Experiences

    TechSmith logo
    or