Cover image for TechSmith
Logo
See All Photos

TechSmith

Engaged Employer

TechSmith

Add a Review

TechSmith Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 78 of over 121 reviews
4.3
99% Recommend to a Friend
TechSmith CEO Wendy Hamilton
82% Approve of CEO

Found 78 of over 121 reviews

4.3
99%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
TechSmith CEO Wendy Hamilton
Wendy Hamilton
25 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company with a great culture

    Oct 7, 2022 - Software Engineer II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    culture and work/life balance are amazing. great for almost anyone looking for a software job that melds well with your life

    Cons

    pay is a bit low when compared to other similar markets

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    TechSmith lives its values

    Sep 28, 2022 - Software Development Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Empowerment is real. As an employee, if you see a need or have an idea that could improve some piece of your work or the company, you are encouraged and supported to pursue it. Importantly, this doesn't mean do the thing on your own, but rather gather feedback, build consensus, and then work with others to implement.

    Cons

    Valuing many opinions and gathering feedback can mean that we are slow to action. We can struggle with decisiveness.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the TechSmith team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company for Lansing area

    Jul 20, 2022 - Technical Support Specialist in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fellow co-workers, middle management, tuition reimbursement, snacks when in office, Michelle Massey as the new head of customer operations, and easy to move to certain teams (sales and IT).

    Cons

    Upper management, pay, job stress, career growth, internal movement (into development/project management/UX/Technical product teams), and required hybrid in office for nearly every team OTHER than developers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TechSmith Response

    CEO

    Hello, Thanks for your feedback. I especially appreciate your recognizing Michelle who is our newest upper management member as well as recognizing your team and management. We have some great people. As you note, many of our tech support folks have taken jobs elsewhere in TechSmith and we are proud to have been able to support changes in career paths. The tech market seems to be facing lots of ups and downs in terms of pay right now. We do make it a priority to pay fairly by doing third-party market assessments annually and making market adjustments (which were significant this year), as well as calibrating new hire pay to existing employees. In addition, any employee can ask HR to reevaluate their pay against third-party national benchmark sources. So do consider that option if you have a concern about comp. Since we provide free healthcare plus a funded HSA, sometimes the comparisons can get confusing so it might be worth having HR go through it. With all that said, I can't deny that inflation is painful and something we need to keep an eye on and be sensitive to. I didn't understand the comments about hybrid. So, I'd like to clarify that today everyone is remote, regardless of department. We are asking employees to come into the office about 20% of their time starting late in Sept if they can, regardless of department. We are treating this as an experiment that we will reevaluate in the new year but do believe some togetherness is right for relationships and onboarding at TechSmith, regardless of department. The VP of the department approves remote requests, there is no corporate policy that is department specific. As far as I can tell we already have and will have full-remote employees in all departments, and most developers will be hybrid. I agree that particularly for upper management, public social media posts could have an impact on the brand and employees. If there is a specific concern, perhaps raise it confidentially with HR. I'm not aware of any incidents of concern at this time. Thanks again for taking the time to give this feedback, Wendy Hamilton CEO

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing company to work for

    May 2, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We work with very bright and amazing people. The company really cares about its customers. We foster a culture of inclusivity, empowerment, integrity, and work-life balance. People are proud to work at TechSmith because we are taken care of, so we can take care of our customers. The company invests in professional development for their staff, and we get about 20% of our time to work in innovation. We get about 1 week and a half straight every 8 weeks to work in innovation. I really enjoy this significant block of time to work on innovation because we are able to truly build something more ellaborated and make significant progress.

    Cons

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great company that prioritizes employees

    Jul 4, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer/Lead in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits including an esop, good salary for the area, and a focus on being a good place to work for employees. Products are useful and there’s a good focus on customer needs.

    Cons

    Cultures are different per team. Burnout isn’t really addressed but I suspect its a factor in why some leave. A bit of favoritism in some pockets of the company that grinds on fairness. Turnover is low but those that do leave tend to after 5 to 10 years. Promotion and raises are subjective to your manager and those levels between managers aren’t equal.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    nice company

    Sep 13, 2022 - Software Tester 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice people and interesting work

    Cons

    there aren't any that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Company Culture

    Sep 5, 2022 - Customer Service Specialist in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    they tried to promote good company culture: food and drink perks, company events

    Cons

    interoffice dating is promoted which created unnecessary drama

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TechSmith Response

    Recruiter

    We appreciate your review. TechSmith does not encourage nor discourage relationships among employees but does have policies and guidelines in place for appropriate employee conduct . Our harassment policy strongly discourages relationships between a manager and a direct report. If any employee is not following our policies and/or guidelines, it should be shared with a manager, Senior leader, or HR

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company to work for

    May 13, 2022 - Technical Support Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are great, overall working environment has been amazing. Very family oriented company

    Cons

    Some values that the employee's share are not shared by Senior Leadership. There are some cases when there are valid concerns that are pushed to the side.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Work Life Balance, But Very Little Growth

    Feb 4, 2022 - Inside Account Manager in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company gives good amounts of time off. They went fully remote when COVID hit, so that was nice. Good benefits. Some really nice people across the company. They are building a new campus in partnership with Michigan State University, which might bring in some new opportunities.

    Cons

    Little to no growth. They don’t have a dedicated head of sales, and it really shows. While there are some nice people who work here, upper management seems out of touch. No transparency whatsoever with pay, which is low as it is. They seem to lowball the payraise if you get promoted or move teams internally. Sales team is forced to focus on small customer leads as opposed to spending more time on bigger clients.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    TechSmith Response

    CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. I appreciate your recognizing the focus on employee wellness and balance. We've been worried about burnout since the demanding jump in growth we've had over COVID, and have done what we can to invest in our team holistically. I sense and value your hunger for more ambition in Sale's day-to-day focus. I agree completely. This is why as CEO I ran Sales for a bit - to get in touch and learn what is possible - presumably, this is when you were in Sales. Things are changing. The team is excited about where things are going. We are moving smaller sales transactions to a maintenance team that frees time for strategic account growth that is incented with new upside compensation. We've also promoted from within a dedicated Sales VP. All the team's pay is reviewed peer to peer by sales management, and all our salary bands are reviewed with HR against national pay standards. In our reviews when you were here, our base pay is higher than others from what I can tell (more stability) but our variable upside was lower. But now we have two uncapped variable commissions in play, and three different types of variable earnings so the upside variable has grown since you've been here and should be more than competitive. Thanks for your feedback, Wendy Hamilton CEO

  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Nice place to work

    Jul 11, 2022 - Senioer Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay Friendly co-workers Effort made to team build

    Cons

    Not much of a career path opportunity

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 78 Reviews
</>Embed

TechSmith Reviews FAQs

TechSmith has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 121 reviews left anonymously by employees. 99% of employees would recommend working at TechSmith to a friend and 71% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, TechSmith employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at TechSmith. This rating has improved by 10% over the last 12 months.

99% of TechSmith employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated TechSmith 4.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at TechSmith to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with TechSmith Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TechSmith? Share Your Experiences

TechSmith logo
or

TechSmith Careers

Cover image for TechSmith

TechSmith makes it simple for anyone to share knowledge via video. Our customers create high-quality screenshots, edit images, record...More

  • Executive Team
  • Careers at TechSmith
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

TechSmith

275 days ago

Careers
{DEVELOP} with us We're always on the lookout for people who are passionate about technology, who care about the work they do and the people they work with. People who aren’t put off by a wild idea (in fact, they crave other perspectives) and love working with a team. Visit our careers page at and read more about our benefits and culture!
Shared image
See all

TechSmith Photos

+ Add Photo
TechSmith photo of: TechSmith's new building coming July 2022!
TechSmith photo of: Ground Breaking
TechSmith photo of: We're dog friendly!!!
TechSmith photo of: Happy Hour
TechSmith photo of: The atrium in new HQ
TechSmith photo of: Sparty loves TechSmith!
TechSmith photo of: TechSmith celebrates Plaidurday 2017
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

TechSmith Job Seekers Also Viewed

Vertafore Logo
Vertafore

3.1

874 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 121 TechSmith reviews submitted anonymously by TechSmith employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if TechSmith is right for you.