Cover image for TechSmith
Logo
See All Photos

TechSmith

Engaged Employer

TechSmith

Add a Review

TechSmith Employee Reviews about "techsmith"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 121 of over 121 reviews
4.5
98% Recommend to a Friend
TechSmith CEO Wendy Hamilton
86% Approve of CEO

Found 11 of over 121 reviews

4.5
98%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
TechSmith CEO Wendy Hamilton
Wendy Hamilton
40 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "techsmith"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Best Place to Work Ever! (From a Junior at MSU interning)

    Jan 18, 2021 - Inside Sales Intern in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - If you are a student they are extremely accomodating with your schedule - They allow you to try anything you want and make the role be beneficial for you - Strong support team to guide you and help you along the way - I worked completely remotely and still had the best time thus far - Bonuses are given out for hard work and the company meeting quarterly goals. I can honestly say I have never been recognized this much at a company ever - Interns can schedule time to meet with anyone. In my first month I sat down with our CEO and got to talk to her about her career. - The company really wants you to succeed and will also provide career advice for after school as well

    Cons

    - None. I love TechSmith and hope to be there full time after graduation

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fantastic Overall

    Nov 21, 2017 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TechSmith is a really great place to work. There are a lot of really smart, experienced, and helpful people who have helped me learn an incredible amount about software development. I've grown from a college grad who didn't even have a CS degree to someone who can build and ship complication solutions on my own. The work I do day-to-day is almost always really fun and interesting, and I have a decent amount of freedom as to what I work on. The work/life balance is really good. I'm able to pick my hours for the most part and take days off with little notice if I need to deal with something outside of work. My coworkers are really fun to work with. At lunch we often play video games together. We also have company-sponsored events once or twice a month that are usually really fun (and always have great food). I look forward to going to work every day, and I can see myself working here for many years to come.

    Cons

    Sometimes it seems that middle management doesn't listen to feedback from the engineering staff. Maybe they know something we don't, but they don't do a great job of communicating that to us when our feedback is seemingly ignored.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    TechSmith Response

    CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. You have a right to be frustrated if you don't know the reasoning for a decision especially if that decision doesn't reflect the perspective that you shared. You not only have the right, but also the obligation, to go ask management or senior leadership for the rationale. Our culture of inclusive decision making means that not only should we be seeking out all point of views before making a decision, but also that we should be prepared to share the rationale for any decision. But our culture also means that it is your personal obligation to not only share your perspective, but also to actively make sure that perspective was truly understood (even if it was not agreed with). We have an open door policy, so hopefully there aren't barriers for you to continue to engage. Another possibility is to ask for a open discussion (e.g. Yammer) on the topic so that all can contribute and respond transparently. It is also very possible that your feedback is agreed with, but there just hasn't been bandwidth to implement the change. Perhaps you can help provide that bandwidth.

  3. Join the TechSmith team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    This is the company I've been looking for my whole career

    Nov 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are the tangible things like free snacks, free soda, monthly company-wide happy hour, good pay, good benefits, etc., but the real value of working for TechSmith comes in the culture and the people. You may see from older less-than-stellar reviews from years past, but I can assure you that those days are long gone. The management team is highly motivated to engage and listen to employees at all levels. Teams are collaborative and everyone is accountable for the success of the company, but not at the expense of personal time and work/life balance. We are encouraged to take time off to recharge and refocus our energy. That accountability is accompanied by a shared feeling of ownership wherein we all feel a responsibility (in the best sense of the word) to do the best work we can to ensure we're all more successful. We are empowered to think differently and have a voice in the way things develop.

    Cons

    Despite some incredibly liberal policies regarding attendance, dress code, etc., management hasn't yet embraced the idea of more flexible work schedules. I would love the opportunity to work four 10-hour days with Fridays off, for example.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    TechSmith is on the Road to Recovery

    Dec 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible environment Great employees Ability to make change Fun place to work Casual environment Excellent benefits TechSmith, like every other company in existence, is not perfect. We are in the midst of a lot of change, and that scares some people. It is crucial that we make these changes, though, to be relevant and successful in the future. With any flux, people will jump ship or be pushed out. Based on a lot of the recent reviews, there's a lot of bitterness, but I'm willing to bet a lot of these people have little to no experience working at another company. They need a good dose of the real world. I've worked at another company, and I can say that moving to TechSmith was the best decision I've ever made. I love going to work every day, and I also understand that it's up to me to control my future here. Our CEO is excellent, and has a lot of critical business experience that we need. She is making the necessary, hard decisions that will propel us forward.

    Cons

    There are still some employees who are fighting the necessary changes that must take place for us to be a better organization. It is frustrating to see these people "poison the well," so to speak.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Resume Rotter - Stay Away

    Sep 4, 2016 - Software Engineer in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Free pop - Pays higher than market average - "Job stability"

    Cons

    - Being overpaid while doing absolutely nothing to move forward in your technical career. What type of people does that retain? - No sense of innovation, just keep doing whatever you were doing in the past. - Don't be "that guy/girl" with a new idea. No one wants to put in more time. - Change product direction every two months. And the hardest working people who keep up with that, who want to be part of a great product, end up walking away. - Have no product direction. Start a project and kill it before it ever has a chance to get anywhere. Then place the software engineers that were on that product on a terrible CMS solution as a day job. And overpay them. - No branding. People who use Camtasia and Snagit have no idea who Techsmith is. - Seniority based on time and not experience + effort. - Management is too proud and doesn't want to take any real blame.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful

    TechSmith Response

    CEO

    Our developers put their heart and soul into our products, so I completely understand how crushing it must feel for the business to make a decision to eliminate a product line. We’ve had to make some hard decisions to ensure we have aligned resources on the best growth opportunities for the business. In spite of resourcing changes, growing our talent remains a huge priority. Our employees benefit from exposure to a range of platforms (mobile, web, desktop) and advanced digital media technologies in both a B2B and B2C commercial software environment. We also make significant investments in formal training. As I write this we are actively running third party training programs for general management, product strategy, marketing, lean, and agile. In fact, it’s not uncommon for us to develop our people so well that we lose them to top tier technology companies – we lost someone to Apple just this month. We celebrate when this happens and wish them the best. Congratulations and good luck with your future endeavors. Wendy Hamilton CEO

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Terrible management, no room for growth

    Jul 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The health benefits, free snacks, free coffee, free pop, and lunch provided every Friday. They have some decent company events.

    Cons

    There is absolutely no room for growth at TechSmith. You are evaluated based on how long you've been there and if management likes you. There is no benefit to performing well here because the worst employees who lack knowledge get promoted and get any new job handed to them. During the course of my 4 years there, multiple employees were handed positions. Specifically, after one manager failed terribly at her job all together, they removed her from managing. They simply handed her another position that she was not qualified for, when she should've been let go. The upper management is terrible - in 4 years they've fired two executives. The enterprise sales team is a joke - they are difficult to work with, picky, and overall do not encourage teamwork. They spend most of their time complaining about your work so they can look better to management about their work. They don't sell, they email back and forth. Most of their time is spent gossiping in the bathroom or hallway. If you want a long, healthy, successful career where you are truly valued, I would stay away.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful

    TechSmith Response

    CEO

    Thank you for your review. I've acknowledged previously in this forum that we needed to make changes in the sales department. We lacked a career path and the right kind of investment for capable and engaged employees. We also had some inefficiencies and poor communication, partly stemming from a complex organizational structure. I spent months sitting with sales to better understand the challenges and opportunities in order to make some big decisions. Some major changes have been made, and I believe your concerns would have been largely addressed. We also have brought in an extremely capable and experienced VP of Sales recently who is committed to making the department the best it can be by investing in talent development, culture, and best in class approaches. I'm sorry that we weren't able to address your frustrations before you left. Good luck with the new endeavor.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Fresh New Outlook

    Oct 24, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TechSmith is truly a company that values its employees, supports their goals and values their ideas. Recent changes in senior leadership have brought fresh perspectives on products and services and have been slowing bringing fresh air into a culture that had become a bit stale.

    Cons

    A lot of change is happening, in leadership and in the day-to-day organization of work.This can cause a lot of disruption.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    TechSmith Response

    New Media Recruiter

    Thank you very much for your feedback and thoughts! Employee perspective is extremely helpful to us as we are going through these changes. Please reach out to your manager or team lead with any ideas or suggestions on how we can continue to improve things, as we evolve through this change. Thanks for being patient with us, and for the insight you offered!

  9. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Best Internship you can get in Lansing, MI

    Nov 28, 2012 - Social Media Intern in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TechSmith offers you amazing opportunities to gain insight into the software, late startup world. They have an amazing culture of innovation, and it is a lot of fun to be around. TechSmithies are some of the drop down best people in the entire world. Its amazing how much time they spend focused on innovating their core, and brainstorming new ways to be successful and stay nimble.

    Cons

    TechSmith lets you operate a little below your capacity. Unless you really apply yourself to learn new skills, or to contribute to their core then you can find yourself bored. They are nearly 20 years old now, and so have lost a bit of the inventiveness to bureaucracy and red tape.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Innovative and challenging, with great midwest values

    Jul 12, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great to work with and will always have your back, and TechSmith will support you in whatever direction you'd like to take your job. It's a very motivating and team oriented environment, at least in my case. Of course the family events, free meals/snacks, great benefits always are nice as well :) It's hands down the best company I've worked for to date.

    Cons

    While the company gives away generous bonuses and raises, it is pretty difficult to move up in the company, as the structure is pretty flat. Most managers have been there for quite a while. Experience can vary from team to team. While teams like mine are motivated and healthy, it seems that may not be not be the case for all teams.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company to Work for

    Aug 23, 2018 - Software Engineer in Okemos, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great Team Leaders - I feel supported by my team to attend conferences and tech events - One of the values that I am most proud of TechSmith is: Everyone is treated as an equal - Engineering Feedback to Business are valued - On top of PTO we have sick day - Working from home at times/when needed is possible - High Trust Environment - one of my favorite thing about TechSmith as well - TechSmith also organizes several family event throughout the year - Friday Lunch

    Cons

    - I wish there was more pair programming - At times there are redundant meetings

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    TechSmith Response

    CEO

    Thanks for your review - it's always great to hear from new employees. Please keep pushing back on meetings, don't give up! Sometimes we get carried away to support our value of inclusiveness. The funny thing about it is that our own technology often helps customers have fewer meetings.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with TechSmith Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TechSmith? Share Your Experiences

TechSmith logo
or

TechSmith Careers

Cover image for TechSmith

TechSmith makes it simple for anyone to share knowledge via video. Our customers create high-quality screenshots, edit images, record...More

  • Executive Team
  • Careers at TechSmith
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

TechSmith

279 days ago

Careers
{DEVELOP} with us We're always on the lookout for people who are passionate about technology, who care about the work they do and the people they work with. People who aren’t put off by a wild idea (in fact, they crave other perspectives) and love working with a team. Visit our careers page at and read more about our benefits and culture!
Shared image
See all

TechSmith Photos

+ Add Photo
TechSmith photo of: TechSmith's new building coming July 2022!
TechSmith photo of: Ground Breaking
TechSmith photo of: We're dog friendly!!!
TechSmith photo of: Happy Hour
TechSmith photo of: The atrium in new HQ
TechSmith photo of: Sparty loves TechSmith!
TechSmith photo of: TechSmith celebrates Plaidurday 2017
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

TechSmith Job Seekers Also Viewed

Vertafore Logo
Vertafore

3.1

875 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 121 TechSmith reviews submitted anonymously by TechSmith employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if TechSmith is right for you.