Technicolor "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Technicolor Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Technicolor CEO Frederic Rose
Frederic Rose
321 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Management is letting go of good employees to cut costs and cut upper management layers(in 31 reviews)

  • "People working in US(it's a French owned company) are treated as third class citizens(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Technicolor

    Pros

    Knowledgeable team that is very helpful. Don't personally notice anyone not pulling their weight. I have learned a lot in a short amount of time.

    Cons

    Lots of panic moments. Seems like every other day an emergency comes down from upper management that requires everyone drop what they're doing.

    Continue reading
    Technicolor2015-08-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Company is cutting back and letting go of good employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Lawrenceville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Technicolor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional co-workers and friendly work environment

    Cons

    Management is letting go of good employees to cut costs and cut upper management layers

    Continue reading
    Technicolor2019-07-21
  3. Helpful (5)

    "WAS a great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Technicolor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Packages, people with amazing talent used to work at Technicolor.

    Cons

    Upper Management play politics and protect themselves to "survive", they take credit when they do not do the work; company does not communicate changes and company status, very stressful environment as you never know if you are next to be out. All the actual sales and work is done in USA but all the decision-making is done in France (HQ). France HQ does not know the USA or other world business/sales and they always question the way business is conducted with the customer even-though The Americas region is sustaining the company. France HQ lost all their accounts. Poor decisions made from the CEO and the VPs. Technicolor bought Cisco's CDB Unit and in 1.5 years they fired all the Technicolor LOYAL employees that worked for Technicolor for over 10 to 30 years, the team who grew Technicolor and made the purchase possible. Now Technicolor is mostly CISCO employees in Atlanta. Technicolor Indianapolis is closed.

    Continue reading
    Technicolor2019-01-18
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Wish I had better news..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Hollywood, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Technicolor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Technicolor is still one of Hollywood's bright lights. Do you know how the Oscars have a separate "Scientific and Technical" awards show each February? Those people are my co-workers. - If you are in Production Services you get to work on things that directly impact movies and TV. The move to digital has changed everything and Technicolor is still strongly competing and committed to being out front. - All of the people I work with are "Good People" and I enjoy every day that I come into work. - The money is good, talent and hard work are fairly compensated. Still have 401k matching (you have to wait a year). Bananas in the break room, bagels on Friday. - As far as Los Angeles workplace environments go, this is one of the better ones, in fact the best I've had personally.

    Cons

    - The overall experience of being a Technicolor employee is insanely situational. Is your department OK? Is your manager OK? Are you OK? You never know when the next round of cuts will take place or how you will be affected. - Very tight cost controls, not even Cost of Living raises (in 2018). Routine things like business travel and trade show attendance are gone (unless it's part of your direct job duties). - I've seen older people let go, and younger people are just leaving. But to be fair, L.A. is full of opportunities right now, so much of this is normal. - Lack of communication from upper management. As others have said, there is management taking place but real leadership is a vacuum. - To the extent that I've interacted with European employees, I do see the old double-standard (more vacation time, better workplace protections). But those groups have their own separate problems, so perhaps it's a "Grass is Greener" situation. - General sense of uncertainty, paranoia, cynicism, and a constant need to look over my shoulder. Has Hollywood always been this way?

    Continue reading
    Technicolor2018-08-21
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Director of sales operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Business Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Technicolor for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Meet some excellent, talented and passionate workers

    Cons

    Upper management VPs are horrendous. They need to shed most of these worthless people who aren't supporting their teams . Targets are not being hit, huge lay offs . The company is failing

    Continue reading
    Technicolor2018-09-10
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Sweatshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Technicolor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They deposit my pay every two weeks into my account.

    Cons

    Stressful environment, with unrelenting work load (for most) and sub-par pay. No sense from upper management that employees are valued or respected.

    Continue reading
    Technicolor2017-12-23
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Technicolor full-time

    Pros

    Market rate compensation for most positions, dedicated lower-level employees, and reliable middle-management.

    Cons

    Lack of integrity and vision among current upper management in Europe.

    Technicolor2017-12-07
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Lawrenceville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Technicolor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of any pros except the some of the people I work with are great! My boss and coworkers are great!

    Cons

    The upper management has no clue, they continue to make one bad decision after another with no thought of how it will affect the employees!

    Continue reading
    Technicolor2017-08-28
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Too Bad, it was fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Technicolor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot while I worked at technicolor like how to work in a high stress, high pace environment and I even learned how to use 4 or 5 different ERPs which is great for me.

    Cons

    The downside of all of this was the work-life balance which was almost non-existent. I worked nearly 60 hours a week. All because there were issues regarding some of the accounting systems. Whenever a problem came up that needed to be addressed it was like upper management played hot potato and didn't want to tackle it themselves. We could look back in some accounts and have years worth of back log that was never adjusted for. And that's were it will be. Forever.

    Technicolor2017-08-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Supervisor in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Technicolor for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were really nice. Layer back atmosphere. Employees were gappy with and said how nice it was to finally have leadership.

    Cons

    Lack of communication from upper management. They tell you how good you're doing great job then poof. Next day you're not employed.

    Continue reading
    Technicolor2017-01-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 31 reviews