Teddy Bear Portraits Reviews | Glassdoor

Teddy Bear Portraits Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
David Riley
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You are no longer allowed to contact the home office for support(in 9 reviews)

  • "The field employees are on straight commission(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful Compnay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Gallatin, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teddy Bear Portraits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is awesome ,I Enjoy the people I work and the environment . Teddy Bear Portraits is not only a portrait company but also a second family .

    Cons

    There isn't much to complain about . I love working with this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up ! you rock

    Teddy Bear Portraits2019-02-01
  2. "Lots of internal management problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Portrait Consultant in Locust Fork, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teddy Bear Portraits full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    IT team was always VERY helpful

    Cons

    1)When it’s not a busy season pay is HORRID 2) lots of internal problems 3) does not aim to please employees or check how their doing

    Teddy Bear Portraits2019-04-08
  3. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Gallatin, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teddy Bear Portraits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive staff... With my job it is something new & different as I talk to customers throughout our service areas daily! Wear jeans on Fridays!

    Cons

    Cannot wear jeans Monday - Thursday

    Advice to Management

    Keeping being supportive of your employees and help them grow to advance within the company.

    Teddy Bear Portraits2019-02-01
  4. "Well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teddy Bear Portraits part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I receive a pay check

    Cons

    Mgmt needs help with communication.

    Teddy Bear Portraits2019-03-03

    Teddy Bear Portraits Response

    March 25, 2019Recruiting Manager

    I am so sorry you feel that way. Our staff is very important to us and communication is vital to our success. I would love for you to email me directly, mimi.buckner@nationwidestudios.com to discuss this more in depth. I would love to know more specifics to better our company.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "I really liked my boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at Teddy Bear Portraits full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Worked with very nice people

      Cons

      I didn’t enjoy the job. I would rather have been the photographer than a part of the sales team. Working with the public can alway be a challenge and it was no different at Teddy Bear Portraits.

      Teddy Bear Portraits2019-02-07
    • "Overall, a decent organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Photographer in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Teddy Bear Portraits full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Management is supportive and clearly doing its best to make the work environment as accommodating as possible. If you enjoy working with kids and their parents, and are good in sales, this job is a fantastic opportunity.

      Cons

      The days can get long, and the travel can be draining, and the mileage benefits aren't great. It's entirely sales driven, which can be disheartening if photography is more your passion.

      Advice to Management

      No real complaints. Expectations were always made clear from the beginning. Maybe check in a little more with the photographers just to let us know you know we are out here working hard.

      Teddy Bear Portraits2019-02-06
    • "sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Teddy Bear Portraits full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      working with the daycares and their staffs

      Cons

      high turn over...constant commission changes unstable operation with massive photographers not showing up for jobs

      Advice to Management

      it hard to believe the constant changes in the management syle

      Teddy Bear Portraits2018-09-25

      Teddy Bear Portraits Response

      September 25, 2018Recruiting Manager

      I have to agree with you that we have been making some changes for our sales staff but these changes are wonderful. We have not changed the commission structure just added contests and bonuses. These additional programs are designed to reward our staff for a job well done. As far ...

      Show More
    • "Best People to Work With"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Teddy Bear Portraits full-time

      Pros

      Amazing people to work with that really show how much they care, if there is a problem a group gets together to figure out how to fix, cutting edge technology is on the mind of management and how to make the customer experience better

      Cons

      Need more people to help the processes along

      Advice to Management

      Keep moving forward and keep trying new things, just be aware how it can affect the Customer Experience

      Teddy Bear Portraits2018-06-08

      Teddy Bear Portraits Response

      June 8, 2018Recruiting Manager

      Thank you for this wonderful review. I couldn't agree more! Our employees truly care and want Teddy Bear Portraits to be an incredible place to work.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Incredibly Disorganized"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Photographer/Portrait Consultant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Teddy Bear Portraits part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -If you love taking portraits -If you love working with kids -Flexible schedule

      Cons

      -Incredibly hard to contact anyone who is higher up or people in different departments if you have questions or concerns (many unanswered phone calls and emails) -Customer service is terrible so often times parents complain to photographers/portrait consultants who are basically the only face to face interaction they have with the company and they get blamed for a lot of things that are out of their hands such as delivery...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      -Better organization -Better communication between departments -Better resources for photographers/portrait consultants to succeed -Limit should be set on how many times and how far photographers/portrait consultants have to go outside of their territory

      Teddy Bear Portraits2018-06-03

      Teddy Bear Portraits Response

      June 5, 2018Recruiting Manager

      I first want to say that our employee happiness is extremely important to us. We are always looking to improve communication and better ways of doing things. When a new and better idea comes up we make a change - that is not being unorganized - that is just dealing with the unfamiliarity ...

      Show More
    • "Great Place to Work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Training and Development 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Teddy Bear Portraits full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      I love working in an environment where my feedback and input are valued and appreciated. I can brainstorm and create effective teaching methods for our employees. Teddy Bear Portraits encourages out of the box and innovative thinking which allows me the ability to continuously improve methods to get greater results from our team. I enjoy helping people reach and exceed their goals through ongoing training.

      Cons

      Teddy Bear Portraits strives to achieve excellent communication throughout the company.

      Teddy Bear Portraits2018-01-30

      Teddy Bear Portraits Response

      February 1, 2018Recruiting Manager

      And we love having you. Training is an essential part of a successful business and you pour your heart and soul into it. Keep up the great work!

    Found 82 reviews