Teknion Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Teknion Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Teknion CEO David Feldberg
David Feldberg
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Marlton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teknion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best leadership I’ve ever experienced. They really knew about the concerns of the employees and they acted on what was best for the culture.

    Cons

    If you have a good solid work ethic there won’t be any cons. There aren’t any cons to report as I never experienced any during my employment.

    Advice to Management

    I hope your keeping up the leadership and mentoring you have in the past

    Teknion2018-02-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "regional manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teknion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fair company to work for. Probably used to be a great company.

    Cons

    Poor Mid level management, managers have been there for double digit years and have no desire to improve their regions or departments. They are there to use their corporate credit card for meals & drinks and collect their pay check. Upper management is too focused on silly marketing and company events to even realize it. I literally saw/talked to my manager twice a year(some might consider this a blessing),... but really just proves nobody under the executive level is held accountable for anything.

    Show More
    Teknion2018-09-12

    Teknion Response

    September 19, 2018Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We pride our management teams on working closely with their departments to grow and improve so it is disappointing to hear this was your experience. We appreciate your insights into your experience with Teknion.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, but not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teknion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - sales effectiveness team - vertical integration and customization of project is a good story to tell. - for the most part good people that work there - company is growing and out pacing the industry - design oriented company

    Cons

    - bad expenses policy (a)you are responsible for any late fees (b) travel expenses are only reimbursed at like $10 for breakfast and lunch. (So don’t get a lunch if you are traveling for the company) - company for the most part has substandard dealer partners - sales structure is designed so you don’t share information with coworkers as easily, especially if they are in another territory. Unfortunately this is not... a customer first model, more of a political one. - underpaid A&D representatives - commission is paid twice a year. (1/4 in July and 3/4 in January. ) If you don’t get more than your goal than you get nothing. - sales goals can feel arbitrary, don’t expect to be able to give feedback unless you are a RVP or above - PAF’s ( basically means that your product isn’t going to arrive and they told you about 2 days before it is scheduled to install... unfortunately happens all to often)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Re-examine you expense policy - get rid of Michael Vanderbil’s design in the showrooms ( the design concepts are pure mediocrity, and do not speak to today’s clients or their taste level) - set up more common goals among regions, teams and company. - pay your A&D team the same as other manufacturers

    Teknion2018-06-13

    Teknion Response

    July 2, 2018Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback about your experience working with us. We appreciate it greatly and look forward to the opportunity to discuss any of your concerns further. Please contact HR at your convenience.

  4. "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teknion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team, work from home, lots of trust.

    Cons

    Some red tape as with any large company.

    Advice to Management

    Continue trusting and empowering your sales staff!

    Teknion2018-02-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "pamela saxton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Marina del Rey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teknion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good designed product, unique corporate culture

    Cons

    Terrible distribution channel makes for difficulty in promoting the brand

    Advice to Management

    Get better dealers

    Teknion2016-03-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Entrepreneurial Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Teknion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not micro managed, encouraged to think of territory as own, beautiful product and wonderful team spirit

    Cons

    dealer distribution needs to be more keyed into the Teknion brand upper management is open to listening, but you still have to stay the course

    Advice to Management

    Be willing to change and listen to the new blood

    Teknion2015-06-23
  7. "This is a very nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Territory Manager in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Teknion full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I like the people I work with

    Cons

    Like any job, not every day is perfect

    Teknion2019-08-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Teknion forced me to write glassdoor review...others are likely fake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teknion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My job paid well and it was easy to start out as a manager.

    Cons

    Most people are managers of vps. Management is a joke, and many managers regularly don't show up for work under the guise of having meetings offsite. They also do very little work, except for covering their own behinds and throwing their teams under the bus. My boss was verbally abusive to me multiple times in front of my team, and it only worsened until I left. SO MUCH politics, so if you're not close... friends with the management team your position is not protected. As part of my HR work review, I was FORCED to write a glassdoor review which they in turn could monitor. Not cool. This is intended to put the facts straight.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lazy managers get promoted and hard workers get no recognition. I'm guessing that the CEO has no clue what his managers are up to. Here's a clue: getting credit for the work that their team does.

    Teknion2019-05-14

    Teknion Response

    May 27, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We encourage all employees to share their experience with Teknion to help us continue to improve. In regards to the experience you’ve had, please contact Human Resources to further discuss. We look forward to the opportunity to address your concerns ...

    Show More
  9. "CAD Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAD Manager in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teknion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Colleagues Company culture Lots of opportunities to grow within the company Senior management Company is not afraid to invest in its employees

    Cons

    Working hours not flexible Salary could be more competitive

    Teknion2018-12-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teknion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with. Great culture the CEO knows everyone by first name and is engaging with everyone. We have a company sponsored cafe.... great food !

    Cons

    CSO is arrogant and self absorbed and sexist.

    Advice to Management

    Do not let the CSO control you

    Teknion2018-08-21

    Teknion Response

    August 21, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Teknion takes all Glassdoor reviews seriously and would like to discuss this with you further. We strongly encourage you to contact Human Resources so that we might learn more about your comments.

Found 13 reviews