Tempel Steel Reviews | Glassdoor

Tempel Steel Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Vincent J. Buonanno
11 Ratings
  1. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful office, great location, great people for the most part and amazing benefits you really won't see anywhere else.

    Cons

    May take a while to move up the ladder.

    Tempel Steel2017-04-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I am happy for the good times and I hope this company realize is going downhill."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The only good thing about this company is the opportunity to gain experience.

    Cons

    I enjoyed working at Tempel Steel until later 2015 it went downhill with new management,new rules that make no sense at all and preference to certain type of people. Waking up and thinking I have to see the double face employees for 8 hours daily has made me lived the worst years of my life. Tempel was safe and fun to work at now it became insecure and annoying to work in a place where Human Resources won't care less...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no advice to management as they would ever take action of the problems that is happening overall.

    Tempel Steel2018-01-16
  3. "Wake up management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location near a lot of restaurants, strong benefits and benefit training, wellness and hr sponsored workshops, decent pay and good parking,

    Cons

    The executive team does not listen to experts, and if you provide them feedback or come to them with a concern, they aren't afraid to cut you if they disagree with you. Very self interested upper management and a very male, old-school mentality. In addition, the company has hired people with serious criminal backgrounds, but has done very little to increase security.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your best employees, and if and when they make a true mistake and offer to fix it, don't hold it against them or cut them lose. Don't make changes that will be detrimental to the entire organization.

    Tempel Steel2017-09-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "That's what Mafia looks like!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot pros for some only.

    Cons

    Many work just as spy. Flattery, disloyalty and igonance pay off.

    Advice to Management

    He is too old to hear.

    Tempel Steel2017-08-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Culture is what a leader projects!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A lot of good, talented, professional and caring people to work with. Organization trying to make changes thru involvement programs.

    Cons

    The company wants to project "we are all family" culture to employees. Far from the truth, old school stereotypical, do as I say, not as I do, culture. Leadership surrounds itself with friends and recent hires and discounts experienced employees. Numerous attempts to change the culture have failed due to management inconsistency and finding faults in others. Declining business with shrinking market share.

    Tempel Steel2016-08-19
  6. "Declining business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the only/last manufacturing companies located in the city of Chicago. Fair pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Sale are in decline. Chicago facility is in a perpetual down sizing mode. There is a serious leadership void at the executive level. As a result there seems to be no coherent strategy, which cause immense dis-functionality at the lower levels of the company. The culture is very cut-throat. and political. Functional areas are siloed and everyone is constantly anxious to defend their turf. The employee turn-over...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the culture and create a more stable environment.

    Tempel Steel2015-12-19
  7. "Sr. Manager of HR & Regulatory Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Tempel Steel Company is the highest quality, most responsive, best cost, and most technically advanced motor and transformer laminations manufacturer in the world.

    Cons

    Tempel Steel Company produces the progressive tools for stamping businesses. It requires continuous improvement on technology.

    Advice to Management

    Need more focus on developing Engineers and Technicians.

    Tempel Steel2015-10-16
  8. "Old Boys Club Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel

    Pros

    Parking at Tempel is free it is located in a neighborhood with tons of great restaurants. The pay is very competitive.

    Cons

    There are little to no women or people of color in executive positions. The culture is very much an "old boys club" even among the workers in the plant.

    Tempel Steel2015-08-31
  9. "Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel full-time

    Pros

    Family owned. Good benefits

    Cons

    Multiple turnovers in Leadership. A lot of US business going to overseas facilities.

    Tempel Steel2015-05-15
  10. "Plenty of plans and big talk... Not enough implementation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tempel Steel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some nice people. Good benefits

    Cons

    There is talk of implementing change, but some upper management are stuck in their ways. Instead of being open to ideas they look for ways to shut new those ideas down. Or they would change for a moment and than go back to the old way. Back stabbing and it is hard to trust the people you work with. I suggested an idea to a person who was in upper management. She told me it was a bad idea but when we had a meeting...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bad employee moral. Build trust between employees and management.

    Tempel Steel2015-03-05
Found 20 reviews