Temple College Reviews | Glassdoor

Temple College Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "love it there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Faculty in Temple, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Temple College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great culture

    Cons

    no one leaves, hard to promote

    Advice to Management

    none.. they do a great job

    Temple College2017-12-26
  2. "Adjunct Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Temple College part-time

    Pros

    Great facilities, good students, nice staff

    Cons

    classes can be cancelled last minute, less dependability, low pay

    Temple College2018-10-17
  3. "Rated one of the best Community Colleges in Texas!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Temple, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Temple College full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and very accommodating with work and family time. Able to get six hours of free classes a semester. Plenty of built in vacation time, with two weeks off for Christmas, Fridays off during the summer, and more.

    Cons

    They pay is not great, but it is on par for Central Texas.

    Temple College2017-04-22
  4. "One word - "ok""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Temple College full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The people are usually very pleasant to work with.

    Cons

    Pay is minimal. There is NO room for advancement. Departments rarely work together.

    Temple College2017-04-24
  5. "Not a friendly environment head staff needs better communication skills with employers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Temple, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Temple College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like serving the public it's a good fast pace company.

    Cons

    If you aren't a quick study don't apply they are not friendly to those who are not.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate. Check on your upper head department supervisors and staff in person from time to time. You will be amazing what's actually going on or disappointed actually.

    Temple College2017-02-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job, but I don't love the pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Instructor in Temple, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Temple College part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Temple College is a very friendly place to work. The students are great and so are the other teachers. I have always felt welcome and included-which is something that is common with adjuncts at other institutions.

    Cons

    The pay. Adjunct pay is just unreasonable. Limited budgets aside, there has got to be a better way to compensate instructors.

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate what you pay adjuncts. They're already taking a hit because they can't get benefits. The average adjunct salary per 3 hour class in 2014 was 2,700. The average adjunct instructor makes less than $25,000 a year.

    Temple College2016-03-21
  7. "Adjunct Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Instructor in Temple, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Temple College for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They left me alone to teach the classes the way I wanted.

    Cons

    They put up more students in class than the classrooms could fit.

    Temple College2015-07-09
  8. "Great place to get started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Temple College full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lower level opportunities available to current staff and those interested in joining higher education. The hiring process moved fairly quickly. There are some great faculty and staff on board that are willing to help the students.

    Cons

    The pay scale is not competitive with surrounding colleges, even though jobs require the same, if not more, experience in some cases. There are not a lot of opportunities for growth once you have some experience under your belt.

    Temple College2014-10-13
  9. "Great Student Working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Student Worker/Adviser in Temple, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Temple College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a student worker, you gain skill sets in organization and multitasking that impact your success in your education. All of the employees are positive and encouraging.

    Cons

    The school is small, so perhaps a little limiting in the experiences gained through interacting with all types of individuals.

    Temple College2014-01-09
  10. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Temple, TX

    I have been working at Temple College

    Pros

    You have alot of holidays off. 2 weeks at christmas break and 1 week for spring break.

    Cons

    Pay is not good at all.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Temple College2010-11-18
Found 10 reviews