Tempo Automation Reviews | Glassdoor

Tempo Automation Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Tempo Automation CEO Jeff McAlvay (no image)
Jeff McAlvay
16 Ratings
  1. "Great culture; company values input/suggestions from employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tempo Automation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch every friday. Great benefits. Amazing work environment.

    Cons

    The commute is rough for some people. Many people commute from San Jose

    Tempo Automation2019-06-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Talented Employees, Fearful Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tempo Automation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exciting product, industry and niche market. Employees are smart and want good things.

    Cons

    Lack of meritocracy -- good ideas don't get an opportunity to succeed because everyone is reactionary instead of proactive.

    Continue reading
    Tempo Automation2019-07-13

    Tempo Automation Response

    July 13, 2019

    I want Tempo to be a company where we get ahead of problems before they happen and provide a context where employees have the ability to experiment with ideas they have. I’m sorry to hear that wasn’t your experience. Over the past months, we’ve been working on improving our planning - from iterating on our approach to ensuring that we’ve built enough capacity for demand to having more strategic conversations with customers about what we should expect coming down the pike. We will continue pushing on these initiatives. Next week, members of the management team will be meeting to discuss how we can more systematically incorporate employee feedback. If you would be willing to share any more specifics or other thoughts about what we could do to improve on these fronts, please email me (jeff at tempoautomation dot com) - fine if it’s from an anonymous email or if there’s another way that you would feel more comfortable with. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm looking forward to doing what we can to learn from it. -Jeff, CEO, Tempo Automation

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tempo Automation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Innovative, open and transparent culture, diverse employee network, great benefits, and lots of growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Could offer some sort of wellness stipend or better commuter benefits but after all, it is just a startup.

    Continue reading
    Tempo Automation2019-04-23
  4. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tempo Automation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Snacks, coffee, company off-sites, monthly happy hour, monthly game nights, free lunch every Friday, opportunities for growth within company

    Cons

    Disorganized, not completely transparent, no parking.

    Continue reading
    Tempo Automation2019-03-19
  5. "Focused company with a strong trajectory of growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Finance in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tempo Automation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everybody is marching towards the same goal, the product-market fit is strong and customers can confirm that. Everybody in the organization understands where we are heading and contributions are aligned with the company goals. Value-based culture, open communication, accountability across all the levels in the organization is tangible.

    Cons

    Our capacity to expand is limited by the space in the city, but that can be solved.

    Continue reading
    Tempo Automation2019-01-28
  6. "Exciting company with great people and huge growth potential!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Customer Success in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tempo Automation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Working daily alongside extremely smart people with solutions oriented mindsets - Transparent, ethical leadership - Working with customers building world-changing products - Competitive compensation, fully covered benefits and generous PTO

    Cons

    Capacity and staffing issues have led to challenging customer situations recently, but this is a high-class problem to have for a growing company and is being addressed with a spirit of "all-hands on deck to solve" at all levels of the organization.

    Continue reading
    Tempo Automation2019-01-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tempo Automation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, snacks and nobody looking into financials.

    Cons

    Zero transparency (even with that being their main value prop), leadership doesn't trust anyone and they have an extremely sexist environment.

    Continue reading
    Tempo Automation2019-02-19

    Tempo Automation Response

    February 25, 2019

    I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience working at Tempo (and that I was slow to respond - I updated Glassdoor so I get immediate notifications of reviews going forward). I want Tempo to be a company with solid financial controls, transparency, employee autonomy, as well as inclusivity and fairness. I'm disappointed that we fell short on these fronts in your view. I would be curious to understand your concerns more specifically so I can take appropriate action to address them. Please email me (jeff at tempoautomation dot com) from an anonymous email with more details or let us know another way if you feel more comfortable with it. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm looking forward to seeing what we can learn from it. -Jeff, CEO, Tempo Automation

    Continue reading
  8. "Solid company and fundamentals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tempo Automation full-time

    Pros

    Honest work ethic. Solid company fundamentals.

    Cons

    They are growing fast and on an accelerated path. With that comes some challenges which will no doubt be overcome with the steady management.

    Continue reading
    Tempo Automation2019-01-02
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Tempo Automation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work awesome team to work with. Very open to your opinions.

    Cons

    No cons very exciting place to work at!

    Tempo Automation2018-03-26
  10. Helpful (8)

    "over worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tempo Automation full-time

    Pros

    Great people too scared to speak up.

    Cons

    When i started working here I had realized how overworked everyone was. The company thinks they pay above competitors but don't realize the people here have more responsibility then other manufacturers. Many of the techs work over 12 hr days just to catch up with expectations placed on them. There is a familiar smell of favoritism for those who are "worth more" to the company. It is another company who perceives themselves as "unique" but is only the start of every overworked, money hungry company.

    Continue reading
    Tempo Automation2018-01-21
Found 20 reviews