Tempur Sealy International Reviews | Glassdoor

Tempur Sealy International Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 191 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Scott L. Thompson
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast Paced, Exciting Work Environment(in 16 reviews)

  • "good benefits, most holiday are paid, 3% raise every year (cost of living), quarterly bonuses,(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Since aquiring Sealy, the company has let the traditional mindset of selling mattresses be taken over due to Sealy corporate influence(in 15 reviews)

  • "New CEO doesn't have industry experience(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Supply Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tempur Sealy International full-time

    Pros

    - Competitive Salaries - Fast Paced, Exciting Work Environment - Ability to implement change, make decisions, and perform job functions with little to no push-back from upper management.

    Cons

    - Unorganized corporate structure. - Laggard in developing and retaining talent. No corporate career planning, training, strategy.

    Tempur Sealy International2018-12-05
  2. "SEALY INC ( Sealy Mattress)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sewing Machine Operator in Green Island, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tempur Sealy International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I got the good paycheck because of their hourly rate was high and I can work evening time.

    Cons

    Point system can be difficult.

    Tempur Sealy International2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I am new employer. As I know Sealy is the best place and good industry. Sealy is nice place and beautiful people there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tempur Sealy International

    Pros

    The place is nice and clean environment. There are so nice people . I feel that is the best for me to work there .

    Cons

    I believe there are many of my friends working there. The challenges that we have to work hard. I love work hard .

    Advice to Management

    I should advice management that improve getting people who are working hard. Because for me I love to work hard .

    Tempur Sealy International2019-07-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Resume builder, bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Reporting Accountant in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tempur Sealy International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn quite a bit out of the gate and are tasked with several different functions. When turnover happens, you have to pick up the slack, which enables you to learn even more skills

    Cons

    -Pay is grossly less than FMV (per Robert Half, by about 25%) -It's hard to rise up -When inherting new skills and tasks, the compensation remains the same -Bad Culture. I was yelled at for not checking 20 food orders to ensure the order was correct ( a task not in my job description) on reimbursed milegae.

    Advice to Management

    -Pay better to reduce your big four like turn over -Have better communication the employees career path with the company -Better allocate tasks to several individuals when someone is out or has left the company, to avoid burnout

    Tempur Sealy International2019-07-25
  5. "It's a OK company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Plainfield, IN
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tempur Sealy International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, most holiday are paid, 3% raise every year (cost of living), quarterly bonuses,

    Cons

    you never know how many hours you going to work everyday, since schedules are make to order, some days you will work 6 hours , some days you will work 12 hours.

    Tempur Sealy International2019-06-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "It is a sales position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tempur Sealy International part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount on products Products are well known Benefits available

    Cons

    Horrible management Training (lack of) Nepotism Pay isn’t competitive Benefits cost This is a sales position. The only way to ‘succeed’ is to be conniving, dishonest, cut-throat and as manipulative as possible. Sounds like fun? Not. With that being said, working honestly is not going to help you if you are in a location with poor management. Management has a good old boy network that ignores many valid questions,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please vet competent management and trainers to help the company grow as opposed to having many employees being left confused, abused by supervisors and colleagues, and made to feel that they are not valuable. You have lost many wonderful employees because poor management has contributed to low employee morale which in turn is reflected to all customers who come into contact with any employee who is enduring or has experienced...

    Show More
    Tempur Sealy International2019-07-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Executive Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Administrative Assistant in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tempur Sealy International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company strives to keep all Associates informed and updated on best practices. This is done through frequent online courses and testing on topics such as harassment, confidentiality and insider trading.

    Cons

    Job-specific training is woefully lacking, and sets the employees up for failure. There are no SOPs or standardized queues for resources.

    Advice to Management

    The good ol’ boy network is still alive and well, in attitude, in verbal cues and in private messages. “You can lead a horse to water...”

    Tempur Sealy International2019-06-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Lexington accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tempur Sealy International full-time

    Pros

    Flexibly in start times and provide alcohol at company functions

    Cons

    Hours, pay, empowerment, management does not put the same effort in hours as the staff.

    Tempur Sealy International2019-05-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Passionate People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tempur Sealy International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Rapidly changing retail environment make for a great place to develop. Excellent communication from team members

    Cons

    Changes could occur that are beyond your control

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be transparent about the directions the company is pursuing worldwide.

    Tempur Sealy International2019-04-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tempur Sealy International full-time

    Pros

    If you do your job, you won't have a problem

    Cons

    Employees tend to gossip a lot

    Tempur Sealy International2019-04-02
Found 191 reviews