Ten Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Ten Group Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 169 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Ten Group CEO Alex Cheatle
Alex Cheatle
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "International Exposure , New things/culture/people/work environment(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great people that really care about me personally(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes work load can be heavy(in 6 reviews)

  • "Negative work environment- very few people talk positively about their role(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ten Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth potential, you can move up fast if you put the effort in. Benefits are amazing, there is a free medical option and a ton of PTO per year, also you have the ability to use it and travel is encouraged. In the travel part of the business you can use the supplier relations to fly cheap, get discount hotels and cruises. Work environment is great, everyone gets along really well and you make friends with people in other offices all over the world. Management will support you in your career path and be personally supportive of you also. People are always available to you for help. You are encouraged to step outside your comfort zone to become better at your role and challenged to learn new parts of the business.

    Cons

    Training can be a bit unorganized at times and starting off things can feel confusing at first. The work load can be super intense at times and slow at others.

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2019-03-02

    Ten Group Response

    April 10, 2019HR Director

    Thanks for your feedback and it's great to read about the perks you're enjoying at Ten. I particularly love the travel benefits. Please remember that all our employees can use these, not just those working in the travel department :) Talent Development is a huge focus for us over the coming months and we hope to bring more structure, organisation and transparency for all training sessions - regardless of role. We would love to hear your feedback on this once rolled out.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work! always improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lifestyle Consultant in No Name, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ten Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, you will learn new things every month

    Cons

    Very busy must of the days, sometimes understaffed

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2019-07-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Needs Overhaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ten Group full-time

    Pros

    Travel Benefits, Great PTO, paid medical, some fun people to work with, when they have time people will help you along the way, can move ”up” quickly if you put in the effort and management will support you

    Cons

    Training, miscommunications, IT maintenance, outdated software, company hasn't made profit since 2014, unrealistic targets

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2019-07-11
  4. "Dont believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ten Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits, good coworkers, free cofee, location

    Cons

    bad middle management, often no real planning when we get new accounts

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2019-03-28

    Ten Group Response

    April 10, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm always delighted when we receive positive comments about fellow colleagues at Ten - after all, it's the people who make Ten the business it is. It's also great to hear that you enjoy the benefits we offer. I'm not clear what you mean by 'bad middle management' and would like to find out more about this so that we can take the appropriate action if required. Please can you reach out to your local HR representative to talk about this, or alternatively please contact me directly (Aneta Janczaruk) for a confidential conversation. As you know, we've recently gone through another period of high growth and are keen to identify areas that require more attention / focus for the next launch. As such I would strongly suggest you speak to the Account Management team to share your suggestions of what we can do differently next time. This will allow us to ensure future launches are managed even better.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Less than beneficial jumping off point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Editor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ten Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good PTO policy; amount of vacation days per year is generous. That’s about the only perk.

    Cons

    Extremely low salaries for San Francisco. Comparable salaries for the same position in SF are paid about 30% more; the compensation is barely enough to make ends meet living in the city. Another issue is the lack of formal reviews. There are no policies or practices in place (quarterly or bi-yearly or yearly) to evaluate employee’s performance for potential bonuses, raises, promotions, etc. High turn over rate, by the time I was laid-off, about 7 or 8 colleagues had left in the last year. Stifling work environment, very corporate feeling.

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2019-02-26

    Ten Group Response

    April 10, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for this well thought out feedback and thank you for the contributions you made to Ten’s growth. We’re happy to hear you were satisfied with the PTO. It’s a plan we’re proud of and feel employees have benefited from the ability to more time off intermittently through the year to refresh and relax. We are sad to hear your disappointment with your salary. We regularly review market data for similar industries & similar roles and we continue to find our compensation practices in line with market. When issues of pay are brought to our attention, they are addressed according using market data, experience and performance. At Ten we believe in clear goals and consistent feedback with a yearly comprehensive review. This is a process that we are continually reviewing and making better. Based on your role, I assume your line manager was not based in the same office. This in turn creates challenges in regards to communicating across multiple times zones, in different regions which I suspect is where the process fell down. This is something we are doing more of however and as a result getting better at. We are committed to ensuring all our employees are clear on their objectives and have regular reviews with their line managers, regardless of location. We aim to create a work environment that is professional, yet one which people still view as fun and sociable, and one that allows professional and personal friendships to build. We are proud of the culture at Ten and are open about the office environment from the first interview.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ten Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really like how the company has a since of family, we really get to know each other and everyone really tries to make everyone become welcomed. I like also that this company is focused on guests interactions and making sure that the guests get what they want. They really go above and beyond.

    Cons

    I just think it is a little weird that everyone's managers are not in the same office. I am used to your manager being in the office with you,

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2018-07-02

    Ten Group Response

    December 19, 2018HR Director

    What great feedback - thank you. As we grow, it's not always possible to have line managers based in the same location as their team; we have several global teams that are spread across multiple locations. We are however looking at ways in which we can support both the line managers and their teams, to make remote management effective and continue to build strong relationships & team spirit, regardless of location.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ten"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ten Group full-time

    Pros

    It's a global company with a lot of chances to travel, while on your own dime. I love traveling though and being able to work in a new city while explore is a huge perk to me. As a global company you get to meet and speak with all sorts of amazing colleagues and learn a lot about different cultures. Coming from customer service when I started, it was a breath of fresh air to not have to be face to face with customers. Happy hours and seasonal parties help build relationships amongst co workers and make things fun. I really enjoy working with people and have come off the front end of being on the lines as a Lifestyle Manager; but I really enjoyed speaking with all sorts of people on a daily basis and helping them plan trips. I have learned many skills that help planning my own vacations better!

    Cons

    Any cons I can list are about equal to any job in the work place and aren't really cons. Turn around goes in waves and its always a bummer to see people go. Overall, to succeed and be "happy" here you should be a hard worker, positive and able to be solution oriented. Multi tasking, being able to met deadlines, ask questions and work in a fast paced environment is key to success here.

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2018-07-03

    Ten Group Response

    December 19, 2018HR Director

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback; we are already working through some of the areas you've identified for focus and we hope that the results will soon be visible.

    Continue reading
  8. "A place for growth and development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ten Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Ten has been an incredibly rewarding experience and a highlight of my professional career. If you are a self-starter, a solutions-oriented thinker, a team player, passionate about providing elevated service, and an individual who enjoys the challenge of a constantly evolving and exciting business, this is the place for you. I believe Ten has some of the most understanding, fair and nurturing leaders of any business of its kind.

    Cons

    In noting the above regarding a constantly evolving business, I believe this can be a challenge for those who enjoy a "slow and steady" pace. It certainly was a challenge for me early days, though with growth and development comes the ability to adapt and with great managers and mentors in the business, this becomes part of the excitement.

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2018-07-04

    Ten Group Response

    December 19, 2018HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We are definitely always open to feedback and it's great that this is recognised. Our business is certainly fast paced; if we have an idea / suggestion, we make it happen. Pioneering is one of our three values.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Nothing is what it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifestyle Manager in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ten Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A good compnay to work with as a starting position in the Concierge business. Lots of learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Very black and white, with some degree of disorder at the time to manage clients’ accounts. Company preaches “Personalization of Services” and at the end that practice is frowned upon.

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2018-05-12

    Ten Group Response

    July 6, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very proud of the personalised service we provide to our members so I am disappointed to read your comment. We would very much like to find out why you felt otherwise and would like to arrange a call to discuss this. Please e-mail me on hr@tengroup.com to arrange a suitable time to speak.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Most stressful workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dining Lifestyle Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ten Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Making friends if they do not "flag you" and throw you under the bus.

    Cons

    You will be expected to learn several schemes and cater to obnoxious wealthy card holders. If you are a dedicated Tickets LM, you will end up doing work for the dining team since they are the most busiest. Management does not staff correctly and sets you up for failure. You will get written up for tedious mistakes you make when you answer phones and send emails. Not worth the hourly pay. You are expected to answer phones and deal with everything travel, hotel, flights, dining, employee call outs, complaints and so forth. You will not be able to excel in your position. They will also change your schedule with out given notice and consideration so that they can meet service level agreements. All of a sudden a new QA team is developed and implements own scoring system. If you work directly with a QA mgr, you will most likely do them personal favors to gain favor. If not that QA mgr will remind you how horrible of an LM you are. There were LMs that I have witnessed that could not stay in a team for more than 3 mos and all of a sudden gets promoted to a Mgr position only if attendance was up to par and did not receive anymore write ups. Favoritism is required. You must email your entire department for comfort breaks, using the restroom, going to the mothers room, personal matters, lunch break. This made a lot of staff very uncomfortable and has been reported. If you don't let them know your whereabouts, you will get a screen shot email from the guardian or team leader to show a negative impact it has made the 5 minutes you were away from your seat.

    Continue reading
    Ten Group2018-05-30

    Ten Group Response

    July 6, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you for your comments. We’re disappointed that these were not flagged during your employment with Ten, as they are certainly not indicative of the working environment we strive to create at Ten. I am keen to find out more about this; please contact me on hr@tengroup.com so that I can arrange a confidential conversation about the concerns you have raised.

    Continue reading
Found 169 reviews