Tenet Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Tenet Healthcare Executive Chairman and CEO Ronald A. Rittenmeyer (no image)
Ronald A. Rittenmeyer
161 Ratings
Pros
  • "Not a bad place to work, good benefits(in 36 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and work environment(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Generally upper management does not care for its employees and is quick to use "warm bodies" over skilled staff(in 21 reviews)

  • "It seems as if every year the bottom line becomes more important than patient care(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Tenet Healthcare and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, great benefits!

      Feb 25, 2021 - Senior Executive Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company and great benefits.

      Cons

      Company headquarters in another state so we were unable to travel to company events.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tenet Healthcare Response

      Recruitment and HR Operations

      We appreciate this feedback. We're thrilled to hear you're so happy in your role.

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Still no employee appreciation

      May 11, 2021 - Anonymous Position 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My manager is very easy to work with, pay is ok, insurance coverage is good.

      Cons

      Tenet may say their "employees are their greatest asset" but saying it and actually doing something to reward them are 2 different things.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Tenet Healthcare Response

      Recruitment and HR Operations

      We're sorry to hear this but appreciate your honesty. This will be shared with leadership immediately but also encourage you to discuss with your supervisor.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Disorganized

      May 16, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, remote work depending upon department

      Cons

      Poor management from top down

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tenet Healthcare Response

      Recruitment and HR Operations

      We appreciate this feedback. Our employees are the heart of our organization and are crucial to Tenet's success.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Company that is placing priority on profits over people. Is this okay in 2021?

      Feb 8, 2021 - Human Resources Business Partner in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are friends with your hiring manager, they bust the comp range for people they know or worked with in past companies. Qualifications or lack thereof are not a problem.

      Cons

      Has cut employees' health insurance, 401k match, PTO in past two years. Previously, PTO could be carried over to following year, or cashed out by employees, and would be paid out to employees upon separation from the company. The company ended these practices via a surprise Friday night email in 2019. Also, annual PTO was reduced for employees with more than 8 years tenure. In 2020, the 401k match, which was only 3% to begin with, was eliminated. Health plan offerings were reduced to all physician group employees in 2021, and that's likely to be expanded to the rest of the organization in 2022. Do your research and internet search news stories on this company. They are regularly in court defending (frequently unsuccessfully) significant CMS compliance violations, medical malpractice suits, wrongful employment termination lawsuits and more. Cutting corners and flaunting regulatory requirements are part of the culture here.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Wow-healthcare

      May 3, 2021 - Director in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tenet cares!! About their patients and their staff!! They treat their team with respect and understanding! There is no favoritism or unfairness.

      Cons

      Need to work on standard titles and pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tenet Healthcare Response

      Recruitment and HR Operations

      Thank you for this feedback! We're thrilled to hear you're so happy in your role.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Pay ok, the system can be bad

      May 13, 2021 - Cardiac Monitor Technician in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a good hospital where I work, the policies are good for patients and they usually pay ok. The people are generally nice as well, once you get to know your coworkers. Depending on the job.

      Cons

      The system does not care about you or earning your loyalty. The people can also be just as bad, backstabbing and gossiping are rampant just like most places.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tenet Healthcare Response

      Recruitment and HR Operations

      We appreciate this feedback. This will be shared with leadership immediately but we also encourage you to discuss with your supervisor.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      good

      May 16, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      employees are very helpful, good staff

      Cons

      pay is not great, leadership could be better

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Happy Employee

      May 5, 2021 - Family Nurse Practitioner in Spring Branch, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, PTO, and growth opportunities

      Cons

      Schedule and long shift hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tenet Healthcare Response

      Recruitment and HR Operations

      Thank you for that feedback! We're glad your role provided growth opportunities.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Not terrible

      May 4, 2021 - Lead Medical Technologist in West Palm Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      always overtime to be had.

      Cons

      Frequently short staffed (hence the overtime).

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tenet Healthcare Response

      Recruitment and HR Operations

      We appreciate this feedback. We're thrilled to hear you're so happy in your role.

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Director

      May 4, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, Benefits are good there

      Cons

      Change over in administration is high

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tenet Healthcare Response

      Recruitment and HR Operations

      Thank you for this feedback! We're thrilled to hear you're so happy in your role.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 888 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tenet Healthcare Job Seekers

    Coder
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Assistant Chief Financial Officer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Tenet Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    or