Tennant Reviews | Glassdoor

Tennant Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Tennant CEO Chris Killingstad
Chris Killingstad
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "The sales & service employees & support teams working the streets everyday are hard working colleagues and great people(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good pay and possible sales incentives(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior Management out of touch with the grass roots level and day to day work load(in 5 reviews)

  • "No training is given to new people and it can be very stressful and confusing(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Looking Out For Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tennant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career advancement opportunities, stretch assignments, great benefits overall

    Cons

    Some buildings could use updating

    Tennant2018-11-27
  2. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tennant for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, very friendly and grounded.

    Cons

    Challenges with growth and cross-functional communication.

    Tennant2018-07-30
  3. "Pay is decent but if you have kids dont bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tennant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay Steady work No layoffs

    Cons

    0 support for parents hit with hard situations Horrible attendance policy doesn't accept doctor's notes for kids or yourself

    Advice to Management

    Care more about keeping employees around rather than a warm body

    Tennant2019-11-01
  4. "Good pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician 

    I have been working at Tennant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Set my own schedule , well compensated , company vehicle

    Cons

    No longer invests in technical training of the Techs like before

    Tennant2019-10-02
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Executive Leadership has killed a once great brand, product, and service... exercise caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tennant full-time

    Pros

    Still a market leader in its space. The sales & service employees & support teams working the streets everyday are hard working colleagues and great people.

    Cons

    Why fix what wasn’t broken? Once, one of the most reliable brands is now being built with cheaper parts, and acquiring other inferior equipment manufacturers rather than continuing the legacy they inherited. Service was a once powerful competitive advantage but they have reorganized the teams on multiple occasions resulting in loss of tenured & experienced technicians and now customers don’t know who or when... service will fix broken equipment. The Executive leadership team is way far unattached to what is happening on the street and instead, puts people in mid Manager roles to give them what they want to hear. EVERY year the company reorganizes and terminates employees while EVERY year the executive leadership team gives themselves multi-million dollar raises. The Minneapolis Business Journal even states they are some of the most overpaid executives. This company has opened the door for competitors to retake the market leader position in the industry.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote executive leaders from within (if there are any good people left). For goodness sake, the board needs to retire CK and let him cash in the millions of dollars they have approved and save this brand before it is irreversible or takes tens of years to restore. If HR sends their typical automated response to this review, I would encourage any applicant to ride along with a sales person or service technician... before they accept a position and they will give you the real assessment and confirm much of what is written here because that is the real morale on the street.

    Show More
    Tennant2019-07-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tennant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have good healthcare at tennant

    Cons

    Constant revolving door for people. poor pay.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue. Get on the floor. Quit having meetings about having more meetings. Quit being lazy.

    Tennant2019-05-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Headaches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tennant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fully vested in 401k immediately and easy to "exist".

    Cons

    Executive team here is going through a time of change and none of them know what they want to do or have a strategy to get there. Lot of people stuck in their old ways and don't want to change. They may do a lot of top line revenue but very much so in an infancy stage of being mature.

    Advice to Management

    Need a lot of turnover to right the ship.

    Tennant2019-05-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Awful, I worked for this company for nearly three years and would highly recommend anyone to stay away from this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Metal Fabrication in Golden Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tennant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, some opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Clear misunderstanding of how mental health works, HR is souly in the job to line their pockets and shrewdly cut costs by making employee benefits such as health care a bare bones package, employee morale as of when I was left was next to none (nobody was happy on the manufacturing floor) Three days of sick time overall for an entire year is not enough for a manufacturing job especially when you are expected to... use those sick days to cover anything that makes you miss time unexpectedly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look into mental health support for employees (when I go from Tennants pay and hours to working half as much at a job that pays half of what Tennant paid me and I struggle every month to make rent, but I'm a much happier individual because I feel appreciated at my new place of employment, then your company has some major issues that need to be resolved.

    Tennant2019-02-11
  9. "Floor Coating Spevialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Tennant full-time

    Pros

    Great product to sell to installers.

    Cons

    Market penetration not very good

    Tennant2018-10-31
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tennant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to travel different places in the USA WHILE working. Incentive programs.

    Cons

    Constantly restructuring eliminating older workers who have earned higher salaries, vacation time, and cost company more for health benefits. If in management, don't plan on being there long.

    Advice to Management

    Don't eliminate the workers who built the company with their hard work so you can get your golden parachute and jump ship!

    Tennant2018-09-10
Found 130 reviews