Tennessee Commercial Warehouse Reviews | Glassdoor

Tennessee Commercial Warehouse Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Philip Scott George
11 Ratings
  1. "Solid company to start a career in logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse

    Pros

    Everyone working in operations is willing to help you in the learning process. You will learn a lot very quickly about the industry and will be given major responsibilities within a few months.

    Cons

    There is little cohesion between terminals and each terminal is competing with each other to stay profitable.

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2016-11-17
  2. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse full-time

    Pros

    Great people to wok with

    Cons

    May not have the structure of a bigger company.

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2018-11-12
  3. "Terminal Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse full-time

    Pros

    For the first few years they let me run my own show. We did well, we had some ups and downs, but overall we were profitable. Over 3 1/2 years we built a solid customer base and we increased our driver base by 110%.

    Cons

    TCW tries to make the customer fit into their operation, instead of working with the customer to meet their needs. They have a great program to hire young adults straight out of college, but these kids do not get the proper training. They are thrown into the fire, or they are given mediocre tasks. I would sit with all of my new hires and train them myself. Unfortunately, this is not the practice in other terminals. ...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire some people who know how this business works

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2018-07-29
  4. "Horrible experience for a first job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Development in Savannah, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Management is understanding and helpful - Wasn't bothered after hours - Starting salary was great

    Cons

     - Long hours - Forced relocation - Very unorganized - Training for new hires is inconsistent - Special treatment for some employees

    Advice to Management

    - Develop and Implement a training program for new hires that doesn't allow them to be stuck in clerical roles that don't lead to career progression. - Put new hires with someone who can train them without constant criticism. Somebody in training should be comfortable asking questions. -Management needs to better address issues between employees in the office.

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2018-01-24
  5. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse

    Pros

    They put a lot of responsibility on you which I liked

    Cons

    horrible hours...very understaffed in all the terminals

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2016-10-17
  6. "Good reliable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Nashville, TN
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice equipment and home daily

    Cons

    Night shift can be long hours.

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2016-09-27
  7. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse full-time

    Pros

    Great people in office. TCW is a well run company with a flexible day to day operation. Extremely safety oriented, care about employers.

    Cons

    long hours, constantly putting out fires, bend over backwards for preferred customers. You have to come in with a strong work ethic or you will get burnt out fast. Not for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Keep from rotating people terminal to terminal. Losing talent due to competitive wages/ compensation

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2016-03-15
  8. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse

    Pros

    Flexible hours and great trucks to drive

    Cons

    under new Management, a little unorganized

    Advice to Management

    no advice

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2015-11-04
  9. "Great Company to work for if you can deal with shipping containers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse

    Pros

    Home everyday, Decent pay, Good trucks. Flexible with work schedule, Very safety minded company.

    Cons

    Shipping Containers, Dispatch not always proactive with communications with drivers.

    Advice to Management

    Provide for the driver as much information about loads and customers as possible especially directions, load times and pickup/delivery info as possible. Over communicate if need be.

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2015-02-17
  10. "What a home Charlotte location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Charlotte, NC

    I have been working at Tennessee Commercial Warehouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Toilet works and all the drivers are nice

    Cons

    Poor dispatching. Never have the right pick up number and send you on wild goose chases. Can't make any money. Trucks always broke down if you can find one to take. They will have you doing stupid stuff at the end of the day insted of going home.

    Advice to Management

    Close up so and go home and never reopen. This is a horrible please to work.

    Tennessee Commercial Warehouse2014-12-06
Found 17 reviews