Teq "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Teq Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
65%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Teq CEO Damian Scarfo
Damian Scarfo
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company rewards employees for their hard work(in 12 reviews)

  • "The snack cart, with Hot food Thursdays and Bagel Friday’s are the best(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Things are often lost in translation between upper management and employees(in 14 reviews)

  • "Horrible Customer Service/Schools even have a FB page on how horrible this company is(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "DISAPPOINTMENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teq full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice building MADE ALOT OF GOOD FRIENDS

    Cons

    Could never get answers needed to do job from upper management. The question would just go in circles from manager to manager and never get answer needed. No one would ever want to make a decision because they would then be responsible for making it.A

    Continue reading
    Teq2014-03-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Fun Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntington, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teq full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office atmosphere is light and friendly. Most people are willing to jump in an help out, and the company as a whole is very supportive. Teq is headed in a very positive direction and I am excited to see what is to come.

    Cons

    Things are often lost in translation between upper management and employees. Policies with customers are often hard to follow as there are many exceptions.

    Teq2019-05-17
  3. "Great Enviornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teq full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team is fun and supportive- both personally and at work. I've stayed here for as long as I have because of them. There is also a great work life balance. Although, the day is long ( 8-5), you are never expected to take work home. Of course, the snack carts, Bagel Fridays, and Summer BBQ's are also a pro. What the company stands for is also great. Technology in education is climbing and the company strives to assist schools and teachers in their classrooms. The products are fun, and there's a lot to learn.

    Cons

    There's little to no room to grow. It's a very long day and when schools are closed the days are even LONGER. There is a lack of communication in upper management and getting an answer can be challenging. Some employees are also treated differently- they can dress how they want, come in late, and do what they want. It's frustrating at times.

    Continue reading
    Teq2019-05-17
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Worst job of my life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Huntington Station, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teq full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None! Absolutely nothing. Nada! Don't waste your time not even if your desperate!

    Cons

    -No work/life balance -Disrespectful and incompetent upper management -Sleazy President (reminds me of a car salesman) -inconsistent comp plan -Ridiculous Metrics/Ridiculous expectations -Micromanagement -Not allowed to take PTO -Shady unethical Business practices -Horrible reputation among schools which is main clientele -No appreciation of employees -Late night calls discussing irrelevant issues lasting for hours -Upper management forces employees to write fake reviews on Glassdoor in order to bolster company ratings -No Focus or Direction for company's future -Little to no morale -NO GROWTH POTENTIAL -Horrible Customer Service/Schools even have a FB page on how horrible this company is. -Toxic work environment -No Job Security -Super High turnover rate -Unwarranted stress DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME! YOU WILL DEFINITELY REGRET IT IF YOU GO THERE!

    Continue reading
    Teq2016-08-10
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Please don't believe the Positive Reviews written by HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Teq

    Pros

    Nice building, relatively decent health benefits, a small group of hardworking very intelligent employees. Other than that, there is not a whole lot that is positive about Teq.

    Cons

    Toxic Environment, High Turnover- ask any employee how long they have been at this 40 year old company- 98 percent will say less than a year. Company was sued for not paying employees correctly and lost, iron fist management that treat employees with disrespect hence the high turnover, constantly losing clients due to the company not caring. The positive reviews are being written by upper management because they are having a recruiting new employees to replace the ones that are constantly leaving.

    Continue reading
    Teq2015-12-08

    Teq Response

    December 11, 2015Recruiter

    Thanks for the review but these points you make are not factual. We welcome any candidate, employee, or person reading this to come in and see the real data behind these claims. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teq

    Pros

    There is no pros anymore. It used to be a great place to work. Enjoyable and co-workers who loved what they did.

    Cons

    Upper management micromanaged they do not care about anything but numbers and I get caring about numbers but respect your employees. Treat them they way you want to be treated. They do not truly understand each role of the company. It's toxic and a hostile work place.

    Continue reading
    Teq2015-11-25

    Teq Response

    December 5, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for the review. Your last time of employment was almost 3 years ago and the company has vastly changed since that time. Feel free to stop by and apply for employment once again. You will love the new culture.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Do not let this company suck the life out of you....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Huntington Station, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teq full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not being subjected to a management structure that can only be considered a joke. Feeling like an adult again.

    Cons

    Your day will be consumed with constant micromanagement from upper upper management and from 20 underlings who do nothing but sit at their desks and send emails to inside and outside sales people. This not only sucks up endless hours of being productive, but will slowly suck the life out of you. Compensation structure is also unreachable. Turnover is shocking and sad.

    Continue reading
    Teq2015-09-11
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Micromanaging, constant frustration, unrealistic expectations, financially floundering company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Huntington Station, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teq full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had great peers/co-workers.The building itself is very nice and the desk chairs are comfortable.

    Cons

    You will be told many things at your interview, but here is the truth. This review is not coming from a place of bitterness, just sadness that what could potentially be a great place to work has gone so so wrong.I left Teq voluntarily, to accept a dream job. 1. The main/only software Teq is trying to sell is a dog. It’s way too expensive for most schools to buy once, let alone on a subscription basis! And there are many many free work-arounds using other products/open source software that even a minimally tech savvy school can figure out. Despite this reality, you will be repeatedly berated for not selling enough of it. You may even be told to quote it for a customer by end of day, or else, and then in a few weeks be called on the carpet for inflating your pipeline. 2. You are absolutely, positively cold calling. But instead of calling a list of random ‘leads’ you are calling the same 250 or so schools in your territory. They have a set budget, a defined buying cycle, and only 1 decision maker, but you are still asked to call them repeatedly. This is annoying to them and pointless for you. This is what happens when a corporate sales guy is installed in the C-suite at an education based company. Many times you will get a Principal or teacher on the phone, only to get an earful about the terrible customer service they had with their last order, or they will be complaining about an order they placed 6 or 8 or 10 months ago that is still not delivered or installed or complete. They are generally unwilling to pay for more goods/services when they haven't seen what they ordered and issued PO's for months ago. 3. The weekly activity metric that you have to meet to get a weekly payout will change on a regular basis, with no notice. It changed 4 or 5 times in the less than a year that I was there. And every time it changes it of course becomes harder to hit, therefore leading to lower payouts. This is because, despite it being shoved down your throat that activity leads to sales, in K-12 Sales this is not the case….so when they are paying you weekly bonus’ based on your activity but sales/pipeline is not increasing, they don’t want to pay you anymore! 3. The back office ops that are intended to support sales is a disaster.There is a constant rotation of responsibilities in the department that schedules installs so you never know from week to week who to go to for information on your projects. Those employees are trying their best but the magnitude of the changes is hard to keep up with. Along these lines, the internal support departments for employees such as an IT dept (both hardware and software, and phones) have been decimated by the mass exodus of employees leaving the company. I was there less than a year and more than half the employees left voluntarily. There are also constant supply/back order issues that affect sales. it's a 40 year old company that seems to have never gotten a handle on such basic business concepts as AR, Inventory and ordering. 4. Internal Communication is awful. There will be important changes to things like SKU’s or items being listed on contracts that will drift out to the sales department like gossip, not in any official announcement. When you do get emails from your manager they will instead include completely unprofessional words and phrases and direct/indirect threats to your employment. 5. Emphasis on all the wrong things...fancy marketing binders with product information but no price list. creating quotes is difficult and time consuming. Tons of upper management getting paid lots of money, but no money for a real CRM. How are you expected to deliver on your job requirements as a phone sales person with no CRM?

    Continue reading
    Teq2014-09-04
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Run as fast and as far as you can..Its a shame I have to give any stars at all.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - One Who Got Away in Huntington Station, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teq full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I no longer work there, thats the biggest pro of all. I left a solid place of employment for what I thought was a paradise when I got hired at Teq and then laid off a short while later. I was at Teq less than 2 months. Imagine having to post that on your resume and explain it to potential employers. They laid off a total of 20 people that day and the rest of the employees were treated to what was almost a circus like atmosphere, bringing multiple people into side offices at one time. I was told I was being let go along with 2 other people at the same time they were being let go. People on the work floor were looking around to see people who were being brought in offices and others cleaning out their desks, not knowing if they were getting called in next or not. Such is the level of respect they have for their employees. As far as I know there were additional lay offs and many other people left with other offers of employment at hand or nothing at all just to get away from this company. To my count, there have been no less then 50 - 75 people either quitting or having been let go of and that was just as of April this year.

    Cons

    Run as far and as fast as you can. Do not buy in to the hype they try to sell you of what a great company it is, how much money you can make, the great benefits you will get etc. The positive reviews (written by the upper management in a vain attempt to make people believe they are not the disfunctional organization they actually are) on here are comical, my personal favorite advice to management was "stay the course" as if an employee would actually write that. The only thing that one can say that is positive about Teq, is that they are positively on a downward spiral having a goal that seems to be a sure path to go out of business, They will positively not have any respect for you and will treat you like a used napkin, and be positive once they decided they dont need you any longer, be it 3 weeks, 3 months or 3 years they will have not one issue with treating your termination with as little respect as they can muster up. Prior to my leaving the warehouse was put on lock down not once but twice. The reason being they couldnt manage to send out simple things such as cables and other assorted minor parts to complete customers orders. Employees were told it was to do a recount of what was in the warehouse. Nope they couldnt ship out the customers orders because they couldnt pay their vendors for these simple parts. As well, there is one review on here that talks about the installers who left Teq. The one thing the literary genius that penned that review failed to mention was that the Installers dont get paid if they dont work. So in essence they werent biting any hands that feed them because if they didnt work they didnt get fed. If you are working some where that you might not be happy at or feel you deserve to make more money, By pass Teq and just keep looking, you will be happier then if you accept a job there.

    Continue reading
    Teq2014-05-16
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Where are we headed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Teq full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Still plenty of good people, relatively relaxed environment in certain aspects. Thats It

    Cons

    Unpleasant upper management, a new direction that is not getting us anywhere as a company, lost contracts and a shifting customer base. Companies such as Troxell and Blackhawk Group LLC are competitors that are rapidly chipping away at a stronghold we once had.

    Continue reading
    Teq2014-04-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews
</>Embed