KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Terex Corporation

Engaged Employer

Terex Corporation

Add a Review

Terex Corporation Design Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 of over 690 reviews

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Terex Corporation Chief Executive Officer and President John L. Garrison, Jr (no image)
John L. Garrison, Jr
9 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Terex Corporation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Design Engineer II

    Jan 13, 2018 - Design Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team to work with, team members and supervisor are great, a lot of work to do, great benefits overall and work life balance, great location.

    Cons

    Needs more organization, needs more people on the manufacturing floor who care about each other, need to keep placing more emphasis on safety

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Cool product, poor leadership

    May 29, 2021 - Design Engineer in Watertown, SD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting product lines with unique challenges.

    Cons

    During my time noone seemed to be in charge of engineering. Everyone knew we had issues, but no one focused the team on what needed to be done to ensure the future sucesss of the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Terex Corporation Response

    Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your review. Our Terex Utilities engineering leadership and team are top of their profession, having designed and implemented our new, state-of-the-art Watertown plant. The utility industry is booming as COVID-19 declines, and we're focused on meeting high customer demand. We agree with your suggestion to include the widest possible range of team members in communications around decision-making and planning.

  3. 4.0
    Current Intern

    Would like to continue working, but...

    Apr 27, 2021 - Design Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly Team, Flexible Hours, Interesting Projects

    Cons

    Outsourcing all production to Mexico

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not bad

    Oct 10, 2020 - Design Engineering Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, including paid maternity leave. Paid holidays and weekends off.

    Cons

    Male dominated, not many women in leadership roles.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Potential misplaced and or lost

    Oct 9, 2019 - Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is a good place to start a career as they are willing to higher those that are young or new to the industry. Your coworkers will help you but, they are in the same boat as you as you seem to have to learn from each other here. The products the company builds are pretty cool.

    Cons

    Terex Runs as an aquisition company and cares about stockholders and price above all else. Management is comfortable and runs things like a group of good ol boys who want to retire soon and don't want to really change even though they say they do. There is tons of potential at this company, but their culture of hands off leadership is fully dysfunctional. Leadership doesn't seem to be able to lead but instead relies on someone down the chain to hold things together. An effective training program, at all levels, is definitely missing. Company doesn't seem worth sticking around for even though there are some great people here.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Genie is still a great place!

    Nov 1, 2019 - Design Engineering in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work is rewarding. You can make a real difference. The products you help design will feel like your children and give you a sense of pride seeing them in action all around the world. You simulate, build, test, work with manufacturing, learn design for manufacturing, desgn for service, and lean principles. Basically the design is truly in your hands. Always been a place where it is better to ask for forgiveness, not permission. This means you have ability try new ways, just make sure they work. Basically though, you are in manufacturing based career, so you are competing with the world, you will spend time training cheaper overseas labor to eventuality take your job. This is the way of the world for the last few decades, last stop Africa. I feel for the younger generation who will never know this. They will be the one's asking how to do stuff eventually, or asking if you want fries with that. Been in manufacturing based career since the 70's. Genie was the best place I ever worked, lots of smart enthustic coworkers, fun projects, generally realistic timelines, In choosing this kind of work it becomes hard to not make it consume your life, expect some late nights if you want to suceed.

    Cons

    Manufacturing in America is slowly being eroded, now considered "dirty". If you think all the expertise we learned when we (USA) were a manufacturing powerhouse will not be lost as more content is outsourced, think again. Sorry, I don't think this is Genie specific, just manufacturing specific. Financial engineering just games the system, accelerating the highs and lows. The great recession is proof of that. Bob, Ward, and Rodger were true visionaries, Ron was a dreamer who spent like a drunken sailor, and John is a taskmaster, so you may not feel as much job satisfaction as in the past. Don't kid yourself the third world is desperate for work and are ruining the environment and putting their workers at risk like we did in the USA in the past. I guess we just don't care as long as it is not in my back yard. Not enough customer engagement, need better proceses for spending "seat time" with the products , and more unfiltered customer feedback.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Afraid of Change

    Sep 5, 2019 - Design Engineer Specialist in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Community is strong here, many employees have been with Terex or Genie for decades.

    Cons

    Modernization of systems and processes are generally resisted or laughed at. The phrase "We've done it this way for years." Is prevalent here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Terex Corporation Response

    Internal Communications Manager - Terex AWP

    While it may feel like things change more slowly than we would like sometimes, we are committed to our culture of continuous improvement, and encourage every team member to play a role in innovating what we do and how we do it in purposeful ways that drive results. If you have specific concerns or ideas about how we can improve, we encourage you to talk with your supervisor or HR.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Over-reactive management but Fantastic Culture

    May 5, 2015 - Senior Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great people to work with. Everyone is friendly and inclusive right from the start. - Potential for lots of project variability. - Good growth potential if you show promise in a given field. - If not in manufacturing or manufacturing engineering, there is a good potential for a healthy work/life balance.

    Cons

    - Management has a tendency to be over responsive to customer and higher management requests. This often results in projects getting cancelled abruptly and without consideration to the work already performed. - Pay is below average for the Seattle area.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to start...but what about the future?

    Jan 9, 2009 - Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees are given plenty of autonomy in various types of projects. You are not locked into specific plant or type of project and can move around as necessary. Company is expanding throughout the nation and world so many opportunities are developing as the company expands. The company culture is great, and help from others is readily available.

    Cons

    Compensation relative to many companies is low. The complexity of many projects are lacking. Being part of a huge company if you're division is suffering they'll cut jobs to keep everyone else floating. International plants will begin to affect the way engineers work here in the states.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Have a better integration training for new engineers

    Jul 9, 2014 - Design Engineer I in Moses Lake, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good management at current location. The people that work here are great, the moral is very high

    Cons

    Parking lot sucks. The building is old and the roof leaks. in the office space the central air often goes out so you are either freazing at your desk in the winter or sweating in the summer. Propper software for the job would be nice.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

Popular Careers with Terex Corporation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Terex Corporation? Share Your Experiences

or