KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Terex Corporation

Engaged Employer

Terex Corporation

Add a Review

Terex Corporation Mechanical Design Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 676 reviews

2.7
56%
Recommend to a Friend
5%
Approve of CEO
Terex Corporation Chief Executive Officer and President John L. Garrison, Jr (no image)
John L. Garrison, Jr
4 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Terex Corporation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Realistically hard work!

    Jul 25, 2019 - Mechanical Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learned Project Management first hand.

    Cons

    Did not get to see more roles in the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Pretty good engineering job

    Jun 30, 2021 - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Engineering managers are good too work for

    Cons

    Like a lot of big corporations, the executive team makes decisions that line their pockets. They are not at all concerned with what will make a long-lasting, healthy business that will employ thousands for years to come. Immediate gratification to enrich themselves is their goal.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Ok for an entry level job, but not a place to make your career

    Aug 4, 2020 - Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had some great coworkers-that is the biggest pro. Most coworkers are helpful and willing to teach. Decent benefits in terms of 401k match, PTO, ESPP, insurance. Schedule and work life balance were good, but that is unique to design engineering and I can't say the same for production groups. You can be very hands on if you want to be. If you are the right personality and in the right place/time, you can get decent resume building experience (but there is limited opportunities for this)

    Cons

    In terms of compensation, they are not industry leaders and relative to the area are not competitive-so you don't work here for the money. Consistent underachievement of company wide financial goals results in layoffs every few years-you won't find stability for a long term career if that is what you hope for. In terms of career development, it's hit or miss. If you are in new product development (which typically you have to earn you way there putting your time in sustaining engineering), there are better opportunities to do engineering. If you are in sustaining engineering, unless you are one of the few mentioned above, career development is not great; putting out fires of production related issues, designing brackets, using excel to make BOM and configuration changes, part manual redlines-hardly the stuff that impressive resumes are made of or that will take you places. A few managers really are great, many were just average at best, but there also some that are like frat boys in a good ole' boys club, where if you are within their circle, you have it made . Reviews entail objectives that are generically and broadly cascaded down from upper management and your performance is rated at least in part on areas completely outside of your sphere of influence. Internal career development/promotions can be challenging/frustrating. If you want a promotion, you have to basically being doing the workload of the job title that you want before you get the official title and pay scale that come with it.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good culture and great people to work with

    Jul 30, 2014 - Mechanical Engineer II in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a lot of opportunities to work cross-functionally and work with some very talented people. There are a lot of people that have worked at Genie for a long time, and a lot of people that leave end up coming back. I think that is a testament to the company culture in Redmond.

    Cons

    The production teams drive very hard. Often times this creates a lot of turnover in assembly and support teams. Salaries are generally lower than other companies in the area.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Terex AWP (Genie Ind) NPD Engineering

    Aug 29, 2018 - Mechanical Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    OK work-life balance. You get to work on wide range of engineering aspects of a design if you are in new product development, and are interested and push to do so. As you climb, you can manage your boss enough to focus on your main areas of interest (but you need to be stubborn about it). The engineers that follow their interest here always find a way to off-load what they don't want to do on someone 'below' them... I'm sure that's not unique to Terex. CEO Garrison seems to be making positive changes, taking realistic long view. Working here you avoid the pitfalls of market-rate pay and high bonuses offered for similar positions at nearby companies… where would you spend the money anyway? Career opportunities... if you go management route. Not so much for staying technical.

    Cons

    Antiquated engineering change management systems. Poor engineering policies, procedures, and controls. Little or no /real/ training - sink or swim on-boarding... which leads to "cowboys". Many pockets of Engineering Dept are populated by “cowboys” or engineers who are just ticking boxes; quantity over quality (maybe this is a 'pro' for you?). Operations/manufacturing is often resistant to change, think they are the real 'customers', over the companies /actual/ customers. 'Servant Leadership' (company tenant) is complete and utter BS -- you get ahead here by ticking boxes for your manager, not by helping those below you or those affected by your work. People often don't worry too much about people down-stream of their decisions, just as long as they are pleasant and smile they can do pretty much what they want. Just ship it! Ramping up engineering employment now, which absolutely means we are about to begin 'right-sizing' people within 6 months.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Terex Corporation Response

    Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. First, we are glad to hear that you have noticed positive changes occurring as a result of our strategy introduced by CEO John Garrison. As a global company, we are able to offer a variety of career opportunities for our team members to explore, and we seek to understand our team member’s career aspirations and help achieve them. This is true whether there is a desire to move into management or not. In fact, one of the changes we’ve worked to implement over the past several years are the career opportunities for team members who want to remain in technical roles. We also strive to offer compensation in line with the market. You mentioned our Terex Way Values. We take great pride in our values, including Servant Leadership, and we sincerely expect our leaders, managers and supervisors to do the same. We also know that we can and must continue to improve — which is why Improvement is another of our values. It is our vision to be the best place to work in the industry, as judged by our team members. We cannot continue to work toward that goal unless team members like you have the Courage — another one of our Terex Way Values — to speak up and tell us when they see room for improvement. In fact, your comments illustrate an area where we can work to do better, which is communication and helping team members understand why decisions are made, particularly when those decisions impact our teams or individuals. Just as the quality of our team members’ experience is important to us, the quality of the machines we produce for our customers is of the utmost importance. A bedrock belief of Genie’s founders was that the customer is the center of our universe. That belief remains ingrained in the fabric of our culture at Terex AWP. That means that we do things right, every time, and ensure everything we do is high quality. If you have specific concerns about safety, quality, or processes, we encourage you to escalate those concerns so that we can fix anything that needs correcting. It’s clear that you’ve put a great deal of thought into your comments, and we appreciate your honest feedback. If you have specific concerns that we can address, or suggestions that could help us improve our processes, products, or our workplace environment for you and other team members, we encourage you to talk to with your manager, human resources, a Business Practice Advocate, or any other member of our leadership team you feel comfortable speaking with. Our hope would be that by engaging in an honest conversation, we can work with you to identify opportunities that help you achieve your career goals while driving business success for our company and our customers.

  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good people, bad bones

    May 26, 2017 - Mechanical Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good hours (for most employees) and fair compensation for OT on hourly workers.

    Cons

    Ever-shifting initiatives with insufficient resources to implement, siloed departments not seeing costs affecting eachother

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Cool Company

    Feb 29, 2016 - Mechanical Assembler in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learned about lean manf., learned about the 5's and how to apply to the workplace. Love the mechanical assembly part of the job as well as working as a team

    Cons

    Mass-lay-off after investing time and tool purchase for long-term employment

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    The truth

    Jun 15, 2015 - Mechanical Assembler in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company itself is great, I like the products manufactured, working with engineering.

    Cons

    Mass lay off after devoting so much to the company.

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    If you are all show and no go, you would fit right in there.

    Apr 21, 2021 - Mechanical Design Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Onsite opportunities. Different machine types for knowledge gain

    Cons

    Worst pay in the industry Little to No recognition for your work. No leverage for you to negotiate in anything.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Mechanical Design Engineer

    Aug 13, 2019 - Mechanical Design Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of employee engagement activities and flexible time options

    Cons

    Salary not at par with others in the industry

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Terex Corporation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Terex Corporation? Share Your Experiences

or