KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Terex Corporation

Engaged Employer

Terex Corporation

Add a Review

Terex Corporation Senior Design Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 of over 690 reviews

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Terex Corporation Chief Executive Officer and President John L. Garrison, Jr (no image)
John L. Garrison, Jr
9 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Terex Corporation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Design Engineer II

    Jan 13, 2018 - Design Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team to work with, team members and supervisor are great, a lot of work to do, great benefits overall and work life balance, great location.

    Cons

    Needs more organization, needs more people on the manufacturing floor who care about each other, need to keep placing more emphasis on safety

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Cool product, poor leadership

    May 29, 2021 - Design Engineer in Watertown, SD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting product lines with unique challenges.

    Cons

    During my time noone seemed to be in charge of engineering. Everyone knew we had issues, but no one focused the team on what needed to be done to ensure the future sucesss of the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Terex Corporation Response

    Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your review. Our Terex Utilities engineering leadership and team are top of their profession, having designed and implemented our new, state-of-the-art Watertown plant. The utility industry is booming as COVID-19 declines, and we're focused on meeting high customer demand. We agree with your suggestion to include the widest possible range of team members in communications around decision-making and planning.

  3. 4.0
    Current Intern

    Would like to continue working, but...

    Apr 27, 2021 - Design Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly Team, Flexible Hours, Interesting Projects

    Cons

    Outsourcing all production to Mexico

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not bad

    Oct 10, 2020 - Design Engineering Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, including paid maternity leave. Paid holidays and weekends off.

    Cons

    Male dominated, not many women in leadership roles.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Genie is still a great place!

    Nov 1, 2019 - Design Engineering in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work is rewarding. You can make a real difference. The products you help design will feel like your children and give you a sense of pride seeing them in action all around the world. You simulate, build, test, work with manufacturing, learn design for manufacturing, desgn for service, and lean principles. Basically the design is truly in your hands. Always been a place where it is better to ask for forgiveness, not permission. This means you have ability try new ways, just make sure they work. Basically though, you are in manufacturing based career, so you are competing with the world, you will spend time training cheaper overseas labor to eventuality take your job. This is the way of the world for the last few decades, last stop Africa. I feel for the younger generation who will never know this. They will be the one's asking how to do stuff eventually, or asking if you want fries with that. Been in manufacturing based career since the 70's. Genie was the best place I ever worked, lots of smart enthustic coworkers, fun projects, generally realistic timelines, In choosing this kind of work it becomes hard to not make it consume your life, expect some late nights if you want to suceed.

    Cons

    Manufacturing in America is slowly being eroded, now considered "dirty". If you think all the expertise we learned when we (USA) were a manufacturing powerhouse will not be lost as more content is outsourced, think again. Sorry, I don't think this is Genie specific, just manufacturing specific. Financial engineering just games the system, accelerating the highs and lows. The great recession is proof of that. Bob, Ward, and Rodger were true visionaries, Ron was a dreamer who spent like a drunken sailor, and John is a taskmaster, so you may not feel as much job satisfaction as in the past. Don't kid yourself the third world is desperate for work and are ruining the environment and putting their workers at risk like we did in the USA in the past. I guess we just don't care as long as it is not in my back yard. Not enough customer engagement, need better proceses for spending "seat time" with the products , and more unfiltered customer feedback.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Potential misplaced and or lost

    Oct 9, 2019 - Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is a good place to start a career as they are willing to higher those that are young or new to the industry. Your coworkers will help you but, they are in the same boat as you as you seem to have to learn from each other here. The products the company builds are pretty cool.

    Cons

    Terex Runs as an aquisition company and cares about stockholders and price above all else. Management is comfortable and runs things like a group of good ol boys who want to retire soon and don't want to really change even though they say they do. There is tons of potential at this company, but their culture of hands off leadership is fully dysfunctional. Leadership doesn't seem to be able to lead but instead relies on someone down the chain to hold things together. An effective training program, at all levels, is definitely missing. Company doesn't seem worth sticking around for even though there are some great people here.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Afraid of Change

    Sep 5, 2019 - Design Engineer Specialist in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Community is strong here, many employees have been with Terex or Genie for decades.

    Cons

    Modernization of systems and processes are generally resisted or laughed at. The phrase "We've done it this way for years." Is prevalent here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Terex Corporation Response

    Internal Communications Manager - Terex AWP

    While it may feel like things change more slowly than we would like sometimes, we are committed to our culture of continuous improvement, and encourage every team member to play a role in innovating what we do and how we do it in purposeful ways that drive results. If you have specific concerns or ideas about how we can improve, we encourage you to talk with your supervisor or HR.

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Terex AWP (Genie Ind) NPD Engineering

    Aug 29, 2018 - Mechanical Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    OK work-life balance. You get to work on wide range of engineering aspects of a design if you are in new product development, and are interested and push to do so. As you climb, you can manage your boss enough to focus on your main areas of interest (but you need to be stubborn about it). The engineers that follow their interest here always find a way to off-load what they don't want to do on someone 'below' them... I'm sure that's not unique to Terex. CEO Garrison seems to be making positive changes, taking realistic long view. Working here you avoid the pitfalls of market-rate pay and high bonuses offered for similar positions at nearby companies… where would you spend the money anyway? Career opportunities... if you go management route. Not so much for staying technical.

    Cons

    Antiquated engineering change management systems. Poor engineering policies, procedures, and controls. Little or no /real/ training - sink or swim on-boarding... which leads to "cowboys". Many pockets of Engineering Dept are populated by “cowboys” or engineers who are just ticking boxes; quantity over quality (maybe this is a 'pro' for you?). Operations/manufacturing is often resistant to change, think they are the real 'customers', over the companies /actual/ customers. 'Servant Leadership' (company tenant) is complete and utter BS -- you get ahead here by ticking boxes for your manager, not by helping those below you or those affected by your work. People often don't worry too much about people down-stream of their decisions, just as long as they are pleasant and smile they can do pretty much what they want. Just ship it! Ramping up engineering employment now, which absolutely means we are about to begin 'right-sizing' people within 6 months.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Terex Corporation Response

    Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. First, we are glad to hear that you have noticed positive changes occurring as a result of our strategy introduced by CEO John Garrison. As a global company, we are able to offer a variety of career opportunities for our team members to explore, and we seek to understand our team member’s career aspirations and help achieve them. This is true whether there is a desire to move into management or not. In fact, one of the changes we’ve worked to implement over the past several years are the career opportunities for team members who want to remain in technical roles. We also strive to offer compensation in line with the market. You mentioned our Terex Way Values. We take great pride in our values, including Servant Leadership, and we sincerely expect our leaders, managers and supervisors to do the same. We also know that we can and must continue to improve — which is why Improvement is another of our values. It is our vision to be the best place to work in the industry, as judged by our team members. We cannot continue to work toward that goal unless team members like you have the Courage — another one of our Terex Way Values — to speak up and tell us when they see room for improvement. In fact, your comments illustrate an area where we can work to do better, which is communication and helping team members understand why decisions are made, particularly when those decisions impact our teams or individuals. Just as the quality of our team members’ experience is important to us, the quality of the machines we produce for our customers is of the utmost importance. A bedrock belief of Genie’s founders was that the customer is the center of our universe. That belief remains ingrained in the fabric of our culture at Terex AWP. That means that we do things right, every time, and ensure everything we do is high quality. If you have specific concerns about safety, quality, or processes, we encourage you to escalate those concerns so that we can fix anything that needs correcting. It’s clear that you’ve put a great deal of thought into your comments, and we appreciate your honest feedback. If you have specific concerns that we can address, or suggestions that could help us improve our processes, products, or our workplace environment for you and other team members, we encourage you to talk to with your manager, human resources, a Business Practice Advocate, or any other member of our leadership team you feel comfortable speaking with. Our hope would be that by engaging in an honest conversation, we can work with you to identify opportunities that help you achieve your career goals while driving business success for our company and our customers.

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good people, bad bones

    May 26, 2017 - Mechanical Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good hours (for most employees) and fair compensation for OT on hourly workers.

    Cons

    Ever-shifting initiatives with insufficient resources to implement, siloed departments not seeing costs affecting eachother

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Aerial Work Platforms

    Feb 14, 2016 - Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting multi disciplinary work gives engineers a strong mix of technical breath

    Cons

    Cyclical market demand often lead to substantial workforce reductions

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

Popular Careers with Terex Corporation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Terex Corporation? Share Your Experiences

or