KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Terex Corporation

Engaged Employer

Terex Corporation

Add a Review

Terex Corporation Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 690 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Terex Corporation Chief Executive Officer and President John L. Garrison, Jr (no image)
John L. Garrison, Jr
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is second to none(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great people and challenging work(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance and distance to Belfast(in 15 reviews)

  • "The upper management seems not knowing what they are doing(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Terex Corporation and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Culture and Mobility

      Sep 23, 2015 - Analyst in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In 10 years I have met less than a handful of unprofessional people at Terex AWP - Genie. This is a surprisingly small amount of people compared to other places I've worked. Upper management is mostly approachable and the culture of LEAN improvements is prevalent. How to fix a mistake, or problem, tends to be the first question and not who made the mistake or problem. Process Improvements not People Problems. Plenty of room to move around the company and if needed move up or move to other divisions.

      Cons

      As in most companies job satisfaction tends to be directly related to one's direct supervisor or manager. Occasionally one gets promoted that shouldn't or a bad hire at the management level happens. Even a rare bad manager can cause serious morale problems and there seems to be no real way to offer feedback about upper management. Hiring a backfill position can take a long time and that puts more stress on the other employees in that department.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Terex Corporation Response

      Thanks for reaching out to Glass Door. A commitment to continuous improvement isn’t just one of our “Terex Way” values – it’s a mindset that can be seen just about anywhere you go throughout Terex. Let’s face it: isn’t it more fun and rewarding to try to make something better? Because of this, Terex tends to attract team members who are open to new experiences, which can lead to some interesting – even unexpected -- career opportunities. While no hiring process is foolproof, we work very hard to ensure that the candidates we hire in all capacities are not only technically qualified but well-suited to the Terex environment. When you are successful, we are successful. Although we strive to fill open positions as quickly as possible, we think that taking the time needed to make these decisions is time well spent. Terex Human Resources

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Management need to do a better job!

      May 31, 2020 - Senior Project Engineer in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For a long time I did not feel lot politics in the organization culture that slows down the work productivity. Employee are allowed to make many decisions (sometime more than they should).

      Cons

      The upper management seems not knowing what they are doing. Things happened out of their expectation in company business. So there were lot unexpected bad news. The middle management only serves to pass along upper management decisions. They were rarely able to explain what was going on. The lower management don't care as much as they should. They waste lot of money in projects. Few projects are completed in time. Project owners changes/lost quickly and the last owner is the one blamed for all mistakes. While wasting million of dollars in projects, management asks employee to save printing paper. Capable engineers and leaders are fired (to save money?) and low competent (low pay) people are kept.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Ok for an entry level job, but not a place to make your career

      Aug 4, 2020 - Mechanical Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had some great coworkers-that is the biggest pro. Most coworkers are helpful and willing to teach. Decent benefits in terms of 401k match, PTO, ESPP, insurance. Schedule and work life balance were good, but that is unique to design engineering and I can't say the same for production groups. You can be very hands on if you want to be. If you are the right personality and in the right place/time, you can get decent resume building experience (but there is limited opportunities for this)

      Cons

      In terms of compensation, they are not industry leaders and relative to the area are not competitive-so you don't work here for the money. Consistent underachievement of company wide financial goals results in layoffs every few years-you won't find stability for a long term career if that is what you hope for. In terms of career development, it's hit or miss. If you are in new product development (which typically you have to earn you way there putting your time in sustaining engineering), there are better opportunities to do engineering. If you are in sustaining engineering, unless you are one of the few mentioned above, career development is not great; putting out fires of production related issues, designing brackets, using excel to make BOM and configuration changes, part manual redlines-hardly the stuff that impressive resumes are made of or that will take you places. A few managers really are great, many were just average at best, but there also some that are like frat boys in a good ole' boys club, where if you are within their circle, you have it made . Reviews entail objectives that are generically and broadly cascaded down from upper management and your performance is rated at least in part on areas completely outside of your sphere of influence. Internal career development/promotions can be challenging/frustrating. If you want a promotion, you have to basically being doing the workload of the job title that you want before you get the official title and pay scale that come with it.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      No future at Terex

      Aug 24, 2019 - Research and Development Engineering Technician in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My boss was fair and used logic as much as he was aloud. I've never had a better boss! My coworkers were top notch. When I started there the pay was pretty good. Benefits were somewhat competitive for the industry.

      Cons

      As I stated above, MY boss was fantastic. His bosses and the rest of upper management were totally disconnected, and out of touch with reality. Communication between departments was nonexistent, and the whole place seemed to be in a constant state of change. The CEO would state what he wanted our company to be like, and the upper management in OKC would just do whatever they wanted. Constant finger pointing. It was almost like they were trying to run the company into the ground with no regard for the employees. My starting pay was good. But there was literally nothing in place that even resembled a career ladder. No tech 1, tech 2, tech 3, Team Lead. Nothing.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Terex Corporation Response

      Director, Corporate Communications

      Thank you for your comments about your manager. The Company's commitment to our Terex Way values is heartfelt and very much a part of all we do. We understand that your facility underwent a great deal of change as we exited a line of products. Many of the team members were successfully placed in new jobs on site with other product lines. Our CEO visited the site regularly and participated in team and skip-level meetings to share information with the team. The new site leadership is working hard to align communications. Our Oklahoma City team continues to be a highly important part of the Terex manufacturing footprint.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Inside my department was an amazing learning experience ,outside of that ....... run

      Aug 3, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working in a department with very few people is great, leadership in this department was strong and supportive giving the 2 individuals the knowledge to grow and challenged us daily.

      Cons

      If you are not part of the inner circle you are nothing to this site. Upper management is lacking in areas that can not be fixed without change of personnel. With leadership on site steering the ship in multiple ways for personal gain, the middle level and below are the ones that suffer. Promotions are handed to individuals that are part of the inner circle at a drop of a dime, with those individuals taking all credit for hard working individuals behind. When a culture promotes safety first but, cares about the product going out the door more than the individuals putting machines together this is what you get. The pay is below standard on industry anywhere from 10-20k based on individuals coming out of college so they will be able to lowball. Use this as a stepping stone for future endeavors it can be a great learning experience and resume builder but, be prepared for major hurdles and little to no teaching from senior operation leaders.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Long term Planning

      Oct 14, 2019 - Engineer - New Product Development in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Acceptable compensation package. Friendly environment.

      Cons

      I has hired along with many others for new product development and within 12 months the entire product line was sold off. At the very least this shows a really poor long term outlook or difficulty making the hard decisions on the part of upper management. It's pretty much the typical publicly traded company that lives for whatever the next quarterly results require to appease stockholders. It's a shame because the potential is obvious, but the execution is flawed across the board.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Terex Corporation Response

      Director, Corporate Communications

      Earlier in 2019, the Company made a difficult call and exited several cranes product lines that had become unprofitable. When the decision was made, we moved as many OKC team members as possible into other roles at the plant. Changes like this can be disruptive, which we understand, but as a team we have moved forward and are focused not only on supporting the business but also on making OKC the best working environment it can be.

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      CEO is interested in bottom line only, he was brought in to cut jobs and that's exactly what he's doing.

      Feb 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are great, they are supportive and helpful. Production lines work hard to produce a competitive, quality product. Good benefits - 5% 401k match, medical, dental, vision, and other insurance available. Employee stock purchase available.

      Cons

      Nepotism is high. People placed in roles they are not even close to qualified for, and those that are great at their jobs leave. Or the company shuts down whole departments or divisions and moves them to the south where there is cheaper labor but also lower quality. That's their choice, but they are getting what they are paying for - no experience, but cheap. There is absolutely no loyalty to employees by upper management so why employees stay loyal to Terex is a mystery. This company will be split up and sold off within the next year or two.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good overall, but not for everyone

      Dec 2, 2015 - Senior Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, friendly people, and overall a solid place to work. There are a lot of "lifers" who stay with the company for a very long time (with good reason).

      Cons

      Salaries for most not on par with the area. Management reluctant to staff appropriately for cost reasons, so many people are perpetually overworked and on the verge of burning out. Too much restructuring of upper management. Unstable (very cyclical) business results in mass layoffs balanced by frenzies of growth.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work

      Jun 19, 2015 -  in Miamisburg, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work. Good work life balance benefits are good.

      Cons

      Upper Management needs to listen to employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Sales

      Aug 4, 2015 -  in Westport, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits Pay scale on par within the industry. Strong financial company

      Cons

      Bonus system way to subjective. Poor communication between upper management and middle management. would rather layoff people than work to expand the business

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Terex Corporation Response

      Thank your for writing. It’s good to know you feel the pay and benefits at Terex is competitive, which is our goal. We are proud of our record of promoting from within. In fact, in Westport – where you worked – just since January, more than 50% of open positions were filled by promoting team members into those positions. While no bonus program is perfect, bonuses are based on a clear line of sight between expectations and achievements, through our annual objective-setting process, which entails ongoing dialog between team members and their managers. "Lean” is all about knowing what is needed and providing it as it is needed. This requires good communication between the Company and the customer and good forecasting, no matter whether in manufacturing, the office or out in the field. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts. Terex Human Resources

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Terex Corporation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Terex Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    or