Terex Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
53%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Terex Chief Executive Officer and President John L. Garrison, Jr (no image)
John L. Garrison, Jr
84 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good luck"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The equipment built is amazing! There was never enough parts to finish ANYTHING! Lots of incomplete equipment sitting on the property!

    Cons

    Management needs to be completely overhauled. Mr Garrison is a wonderful man, however surely he can see the “put on show” when he comes to town. If he would just drop in sometime, he would see what ISN’T happening on a daily basis!! Also, hold a “town hall” meeting with the employees and find out what is really going on

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-11-16

    Terex Response

    January 26, 2020Director, Corporate Communications

    Like you, we are very proud of the equipment we manufacture. Our Oklahoma City facility has undergone a great deal of change this year as we exited a line of products, and as many team members moved into new roles. This also included changes in management and leadership roles. As these changes have occurred, we have worked to find ways to continuously improve what we do, including creating better efficiencies in our processes, and improving the way in which we ensure our team members have the tools and training needed to succeed. Feedback from our team members is an important part of that. We are sorry to hear your experiences were negative, but we appreciate you taking your time to share your input.

  2. "Genie is still a great place!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineering in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work is rewarding. You can make a real difference. The products you help design will feel like your children and give you a sense of pride seeing them in action all around the world. You simulate, build, test, work with manufacturing, learn design for manufacturing, desgn for service, and lean principles. Basically the design is truly in your hands. Always been a place where it is better to ask for forgiveness, not permission. This means you have ability try new ways, just make sure they work. Basically though, you are in manufacturing based career, so you are competing with the world, you will spend time training cheaper overseas labor to eventuality take your job. This is the way of the world for the last few decades, last stop Africa. I feel for the younger generation who will never know this. They will be the one's asking how to do stuff eventually, or asking if you want fries with that. Been in manufacturing based career since the 70's. Genie was the best place I ever worked, lots of smart enthustic coworkers, fun projects, generally realistic timelines, In choosing this kind of work it becomes hard to not make it consume your life, expect some late nights if you want to suceed.

    Cons

    Manufacturing in America is slowly being eroded, now considered "dirty". If you think all the expertise we learned when we (USA) were a manufacturing powerhouse will not be lost as more content is outsourced, think again. Sorry, I don't think this is Genie specific, just manufacturing specific. Financial engineering just games the system, accelerating the highs and lows. The great recession is proof of that. Bob, Ward, and Rodger were true visionaries, Ron was a dreamer who spent like a drunken sailor, and John is a taskmaster, so you may not feel as much job satisfaction as in the past. Don't kid yourself the third world is desperate for work and are ruining the environment and putting their workers at risk like we did in the USA in the past. I guess we just don't care as long as it is not in my back yard. Not enough customer engagement, need better proceses for spending "seat time" with the products , and more unfiltered customer feedback.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-11-01
  3. "Easy work for decent pay. Slows near end of year."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembley Line Worker in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn new things and advance in the company.

    Cons

    Takes to long to get improvements done.

    Terex2019-10-30

    Terex Response

    January 26, 2020Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your input. We are pleased to hear that you feel you have the opportunity to improve your knowledge and skills and grow your career with us. We encourage you to continue to share your ideas with your supervisor. Sometimes it can feel like improvements happen slower than we would like as we work through our processes to ensure that these changes are done in an intentional and purposeful manner. We also encourage you to make sure your career aspirations are known so that we can continue providing you the resources and opportunities to learn and growth your career.

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Long term Planning"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer - New Product Development in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Acceptable compensation package. Friendly environment.

    Cons

    I has hired along with many others for new product development and within 12 months the entire product line was sold off. At the very least this shows a really poor long term outlook or difficulty making the hard decisions on the part of upper management. It's pretty much the typical publicly traded company that lives for whatever the next quarterly results require to appease stockholders. It's a shame because the potential is obvious, but the execution is flawed across the board.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-10-14

    Terex Response

    January 26, 2020Director, Corporate Communications

    Earlier in 2019, the Company made a difficult call and exited several cranes product lines that had become unprofitable. When the decision was made, we moved as many OKC team members as possible into other roles at the plant. Changes like this can be disruptive, which we understand, but as a team we have moved forward and are focused not only on supporting the business but also on making OKC the best working environment it can be.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Potential misplaced and or lost"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company is a good place to start a career as they are willing to higher those that are young or new to the industry. Your coworkers will help you but, they are in the same boat as you as you seem to have to learn from each other here. The products the company builds are pretty cool.

    Cons

    Terex Runs as an aquisition company and cares about stockholders and price above all else. Management is comfortable and runs things like a group of good ol boys who want to retire soon and don't want to really change even though they say they do. There is tons of potential at this company, but their culture of hands off leadership is fully dysfunctional. Leadership doesn't seem to be able to lead but instead relies on someone down the chain to hold things together. An effective training program, at all levels, is definitely missing. Company doesn't seem worth sticking around for even though there are some great people here.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-10-10
  6. "Terex Review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Waverly, IA

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can quickly learn a lot and gain a lot of different experience. Benefits are great and is flexible outside of close with hours and place of work.

    Cons

    High turnover so if you are a good working always asked to take on more and more work resulting in longer days. No rush to get in new people.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-09-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "good for old demotivated people"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    location - Redmond, benefits - very good

    Cons

    really bad case of management or performance recognition

    Terex2019-10-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "No employee/family consideration"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder/Fabricator in Huron, SD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, 401k, and work equipment

    Cons

    Too many hours, no time for family. There's a point system for lateness and absent and no sick days.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-10-24
  9. "Great Work Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very structured and established company. Overall great place to work.

    Cons

    Had a fair amount of travel. Which did not suit my life.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-09-19
  10. "Terex redmond wa"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Coordinator in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    4 ten hour days.

    Cons

    Management styles vary widely. Few resources and money during slow season. Slow season is super slow.

    Terex2019-09-07

    Terex Response

    September 18, 2019Internal Communications Manager - Terex AWP

    Improvement is one of our values at Terex, and feedback from our team members is important to our ability to improve as an employer. If you have specific suggestions on how we can improve, we encourage you to talk with your supervisor or HR. While management styles may vary among individuals, Terex supports our supervisors and managers’ development – just as we support team member development – through training opportunities, including our Supervising for Success, Managing for Success, and Leading for Success programs.

Found 495 reviews