Terex Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
53%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Terex Chief Executive Officer and President John L. Garrison, Jr (no image)
John L. Garrison, Jr
84 Ratings
  1. "Behind the times"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Moses Lake, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Empower team members to implement improvements

    Cons

    Behind the times, technology averse

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-07-24

    Terex Response

    September 19, 2019Internal Communications Manager - Terex AWP

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you feel empowered to identify and implement improvements — we have a culture committed to continuous improvement, and every team member has a role to play in innovating what we do. Part of our commitment to continuous improvement is looking for opportunities to leverage technology while, at the same time, also working to ensure that we use technology in a purposeful way that makes practical sense and drives results. We are making progress on our technology improvement initiatives, but we understand that at times progress might feel, or be, slower that we might want. If you have specific ideas on how we can better use technology, we encourage you to share those with your supervisor and/or HR.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "March 2019 Layoffs"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was part of a great intelligent team which Terex got lucky enough to hire and put together.

    Cons

    Once upon a time, Terex had a manufacturing facility in Waverly, Iowa that made very great cranes! However, this was a union plant and that made Terex very mad. So, Terex came up with a plan to shut down the plant and relocate the operations to OKC because this was a non-union plant that paid low wages. Brilliant! Surely, no other detail had to be thought of, because this was definitely going to be a win-win situation. So, operations moved, and then Terex made very bad cranes. This blew people's minds! How could this have happened?! No way! So sarcasm aside now, Terex literally only kept cranes alive for 2 years after the move from Waverly which was an epic disaster due to the bozos that put this plan together. So they sold off cranes and laid everyone off with it. They also used this time to layoff anyone else they didn't like. The reviews about the inner circle are true, and anyone intelligent shouldn't want to be involved in this incompetent mess. Not to mention, the severance package was an absolute slap in the face. Stay far away from this company because I guarantee they have no idea what they really want to accomplish in the next 5 years (or one year at that), and all they're really trying to do is make a quick buck and not make a great reputable company. If it wasn't for Genie, this company would've been bankrupt or bought out by now. Oh, and did I mention when I was hired on, Terex's plan was to make the OKC facility the "flagship" location that built for all 3 divisions (MP, Cranes, AWP) with eventually 1000+ employees? That was literally told to me in 2017. Boy, that plan changed awfully fast!

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-08-23

    Terex Response

    September 24, 2019Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your comment. It is correct that manufacturing was moved from Waverly to Oklahoma City, although your presumed reasons are a common misconception. We made the move with the expectation that these lines could be manufactured more profitably in the larger facility, but the market ultimately did not support the business. When the decision was made to exit the unprofitable lines, we moved as many OKC team members as possible into other roles at the plant. Where there were layoffs, severance was provided to help bridge the gap to new employment. Terex has a commitment to the team at our Oklahoma City plant, who produce industry-leading machines for our profitable Aerial Work Platform and Materials Processing divisions. Our vision is for OKC to continue to be Center of Excellence for operations and Terex products.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "20 yrs with the company with no issues and never a bad review then asked to take a voluntary layoff."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Technician in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People that work ther floor are awesome

    Cons

    TMs are treated as if they are worthless

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-07-26

    Terex Response

    September 19, 2019Internal Communications Manager - Terex AWP

    Terex is a place where our team members can work and grow, and we pride ourselves in providing opportunities for our team members to seek out new challenges and build a career with us. However, as you noted, there have been times we have had to make difficult decisions to reduce our staffing levels to meet our business needs. In all cases, we look for ways to minimize any impact on our team members while recognizing the need to maintain a healthy and competitive business.

  4. "sdfgsdg"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installer in Watertown, SD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best factory job for the area

    Cons

    difficult and hazardous work

    Terex2019-07-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Inside my department was an amazing learning experience ,outside of that ....... run"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in a department with very few people is great, leadership in this department was strong and supportive giving the 2 individuals the knowledge to grow and challenged us daily.

    Cons

    If you are not part of the inner circle you are nothing to this site. Upper management is lacking in areas that can not be fixed without change of personnel. With leadership on site steering the ship in multiple ways for personal gain, the middle level and below are the ones that suffer. Promotions are handed to individuals that are part of the inner circle at a drop of a dime, with those individuals taking all credit for hard working individuals behind. When a culture promotes safety first but, cares about the product going out the door more than the individuals putting machines together this is what you get. The pay is below standard on industry anywhere from 10-20k based on individuals coming out of college so they will be able to lowball. Use this as a stepping stone for future endeavors it can be a great learning experience and resume builder but, be prepared for major hurdles and little to no teaching from senior operation leaders.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-08-03
  6. "Good company to work for the first few years of your career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Freedom to learn and apply

    Cons

    Some leadership people are biased

    Terex2019-05-16

    Terex Response

    June 25, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for recommending Terex as a place to work, and for recognizing our CEO John Garrison. We are concerned that you perceived bias, because Terex is passionately committed to being a Company that provides equal opportunity to all team members, regardless of race, gender or ethnic background. This starts at the top and is driven throughout the organization. Terex is a place where people of all backgrounds can move into high-impact roles. In addition, as you will recall, the Company is devoted to our Terex Way values, which, taken together, reflect an institutional and personal commitment to doing the right thing and treating people the right way. We will take your feedback to heart , and we thank you for contributing a thoughtful review.

  7. "terex"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time

    Pros

    lots of overtime when busy. Opportunity for advancement. Good benefits.

    Cons

    have to work extremely hard. A bit of a sweet shop.

    Terex2019-05-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Uncomfortable place to work."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Terex is committed to safety. This is demonstrated continuously. Additionally, Terex is committed to ethical business practices. There is no pressure to break the rules to make the numbers.

    Cons

    Terex has been in a divestiture mode for over 5 years. It makes it hard to perform with the specter of layoff constantly lurking.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-04-18

    Terex Response

    May 16, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. As we are sure you know, the Terex business strategy is “Focus, Simplify, and Execute to Win.” For the Focus element, beginning in 2016 the Company began assessing its legacy portfolio of businesses and retained – and invested in – those that have the strongest market positions and opportunities to grow long-term. The businesses we have going forward are leaders in their respective fields and are well-positioned for the future: Aerial Work Platforms, Materials Processing, Rough Terrain Cranes, and Tower Cranes. The Focus phase of our strategy is largely complete, and our emphasis now and into the future is Execute to Win – building on our achievements and executing our plans to become a top-performing, industry-leading organization for our team members, customers and shareholders.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad, but not the best."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The aftermarket support team is amazing from a talent and professional standpoint, with fantastic leadership all the way up to the director. The engineering groups are very talented but they are mismanaged and under utilized. Benefits are pretty good, great 401K, decent medical, very competitive, even offer paternity leave 10 weeks for mothers 2 for fathers. i worked at multiple positions with different managers, the departments i worked in i was happy with my job and my manager, i personally wasn't micro managed and was able to make positive impacts in the departments i worked in. They do encourage moving around to other positions as they come available, i personally did it twice. they do want to promote from within at times. They also have a tuition reimbursement program. The CEO seems to have good intentions and is educated, however the VP's are not impressive, mostly just glorified salesmen that tell people what they want to hear.

    Cons

    The Senior management for the production lines are short sighted, narrow minded, and lack principles. They seem to believe that when a failure happens on a small or large scale, it is the people at the "bottom" of the org chart that are at fault (leads, supervisors, etc.) They constantly preach the "Terex Way Core Values" but don't recognize them as a direction on how to manage business or personal conduct, they see it as bar to hold their employees to but not themselves. It seems they fail to see good leadership starts with a person with strong personal values and is not only able to lead people but also develop them into leaders themselves. They can't seem to go beyond their own ego's to recognize this. They have managers on staff that understand values, leadership, and the value of people they employee, they need seek advice from them. The HR department is a complete travesty. They typically will have one or two good HR generalist but they never stick around for longer than a year or maybe two. it is a disadvantage to the employees having the people that are there to help them constantly be rotated through a revolving door. Since i hired on the HR managers are usually worse, they wont make the time to assist and they drag their feet on every possible task. overall i wouldn't recommend working for the production or materials team, blame constantly goes downhill, they ask for ridiculous hours to be worked due to their poor planning and knee jerk reactions.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-04-12

    Terex Response

    April 18, 2019Internal Communications Manager - Terex AWP

    At Terex, a component of our vision is to be the best place to work in the industry as determined by our team members. As you noted, a part of this is our commitment to offering good benefits, including health, 401(k), maternity and paternity leave, and tuition reimbursement. And we are extremely proud of the talented team members and great teams who, together, comprise our workforce. We take seriously our commitment to our Terex Way values -- Integrity, Respect, Improvement, Servant Leadership, Courage and Citizenship – and are as committed to them as we are to delivering on our commitments to our customers and team members. Your feedback about areas and ways we can improve as an employer is appreciated and will be reviewed with site leadership.

  10. "Ever Changing Company"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Terex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent Pay and benefits Nice people

    Cons

    Lack of Information Technology infrastructure

    Terex2019-04-05
Found 495 reviews