Terex Sales Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Terex Chief Executive Officer and President John L. Garrison, Jr (no image)
John L. Garrison, Jr
1 Rating
  1. "Enjoyed working at Terex"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Offers great encentives and benefits and on the job training.

    Cons

    At times, my position was required to travel and layoffs were a frequent concern.

    Terex2017-03-10
  2. "No"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Terex full-time

    Pros

    They have a good product

    Cons

    Its a boys club atmosphere

    Terex2019-09-02
  3. "Parts Sales Representative"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company with good benefits.

    Cons

    Hourly pay no incentive for performance.

    Continue reading
    Terex2018-06-15
  4. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is very focused on employee well being and safety

    Cons

    Slow moving sometimes and very strict with SOX compliance (not a con unless you are trying to make a lot of sales lol)

    Terex2017-02-28
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Territory Sales Manager Prospective"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Territory Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex

    Pros

    Company car, credit card, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Lack of experienced leadership Lack of technology Lack of culture Lack of relationships and stability. Worked as a TSM for Terex Services formally Crane America, very obvious from the beginning the leadership was completely lacking. They acted more as dictators than anything else. They would famously say, "Let me know if you need any help." Then when you asked for help, they would tell you what you were doing wrong instead of providing any insight or guidance. Over time I learned to not ask at all. There was an instance where I discovered a racial remark written on the wall, Human Resources was to conduct an investigation, instead they just had someone cover up what was written. The issue was never addressed, partly because they were so desperate to keep employees. This was the first publicly traded company I worked for and I was shocked at the lack of tools available for training and self improvement, such as Six Sigma. During the initial interview I was told the commission structure was X when it ended up being Y. From the beginning I felt conned. My direct report severely exaggerated the actual amount of money that I would be making despite closing multiple opportunities. Kone Cranes is scheduled to acquire Terex Services in January 2017, maybe they can infuse some of the things this company is lacking. The job began to become more stressful by the hour. Sales people were pressured severely to get results despite having few tools at their disposal. I would not recommend this company. Lack of diversity. Lack of training. Lack of leadership. Over exaggerated commission. The process of putting an order into the system was beyond cumbersome and obsolete. Many of the other TSMs were having to work overtime and weekends just to keep up with the workload. Favoritism runs rife throughout the organization. Lack of work life balance. Lack of tools for sale professionals. Unprofessional acting leadership.

    Continue reading
    Terex2016-09-02

    Terex Response

    September 28, 2016Communications Specialist

    We’re sorry that you didn’t have a better experience, but we do maintain an open door policy, and would have liked to have had the opportunity to work with you regarding your concerns while you were here. Diversity & Inclusion, in particular, are very important to us and, as you probably know, we require all new team members to take online diversity training through Terex University, which also offers a wide variety of training and developmental opportunities. Nonetheless, we have shared your feedback with the local management team and wish you the best as you move forward.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Bloated and full of confusion"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The only pro I can share is that I was able to remove myself from the menacing black machinery and the treachery that lives within.

    Cons

    To big of a company to care how anyone is treated.

    Continue reading
    Terex2015-12-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "First 6 months"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Territory Sales Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terex

    Pros

    My experience with Terex has been very positive throughout the first six months of employment. If you've ever been new to an organization you know what kind of challenge I'm talking about. Every hurdle has been met with a solutions based mindset with an attitude of "we can do this". I would recommend Terex to anyone who wanted to work in a place where they can realize their full potential.

    Cons

    Operational training can be a little more thorough. However, Terex has a way of hiring competent people that can handle the challenge of adversity.

    Terex2015-05-17

    Terex Response

    August 4, 2015

    Thank you for your comments. It’s great to know that you have had such a good experience as a new Terex team member. As a somewhat entrepreneurial company, we tend to be lower on structure and higher on individuality and creativity. Because of this, opportunity abounds. It can be equally true that some on-the-job learning is built into training programs. I think you have found, and will find, that there are plenty of people to help you along the way. Terex Human Resources

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Terex Cranes"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Great events planned for employees outside of work Wonderful environment

    Cons

    Leadership is not great New employees are not trained well Management favors certain people

    Terex2015-01-08
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Snowball headed for hell"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Grand Rapids, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Co-workers, some of the best Ive ever worked with Track machines we build are best in the industry and employees are proud of the product they build. Never boring.....things always seem to change every two years!

    Cons

    Big disconnect between management and workers. Alot of individuals talents not being utilized Company doesnt realize what potential this product could bring them.

    Continue reading
    Terex2014-07-08

    Terex Response

    July 23, 2014Admin

    My name is Natasha Valani and I work in the Human Resources department at Terex Corporation. On behalf of Terex, I would like to apologize for your negative experience at our Grand Rapids facility. There should not be such a large communication gap among team members at any Terex location. One of our Terex Way values --Servant Leadership -- details how it is expected that Terex leaders will foster a “chain of support” versus a “chain of command” culture. Your opinion of Terex is important to us and we will share your comments with our Grand Rapids leadership team, so they can look into this situation. Once again, our sincere apologies.

  10. "follow up field sales and customer requirements"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative in Khobar
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    comfort incentives and good workstation

    Cons

    believes in hearsay and group-ism and no flexibility

    Continue reading
    Terex2020-06-03
Found 16 reviews