Terex Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Terex Chief Executive Officer and President John L. Garrison, Jr (no image)
John L. Garrison, Jr
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with, corporate setting, work life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "Great people and lots of opportunity to lead projects right of the bat(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance and distance to Belfast(in 15 reviews)

  • "At the very least this shows a really poor long term outlook or difficulty making the hard decisions on the part of upper management(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Culture and Mobility"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    In 10 years I have met less than a handful of unprofessional people at Terex AWP - Genie. This is a surprisingly small amount of people compared to other places I've worked. Upper management is mostly approachable and the culture of LEAN improvements is prevalent. How to fix a mistake, or problem, tends to be the first question and not who made the mistake or problem. Process Improvements not People Problems. Plenty of room to move around the company and if needed move up or move to other divisions.

    Cons

    As in most companies job satisfaction tends to be directly related to one's direct supervisor or manager. Occasionally one gets promoted that shouldn't or a bad hire at the management level happens. Even a rare bad manager can cause serious morale problems and there seems to be no real way to offer feedback about upper management. Hiring a backfill position can take a long time and that puts more stress on the other employees in that department.

    Continue reading
    Terex2015-09-24

    Terex Response

    October 13, 2015

    Thanks for reaching out to Glass Door. A commitment to continuous improvement isn’t just one of our “Terex Way” values – it’s a mindset that can be seen just about anywhere you go throughout Terex. Let’s face it: isn’t it more fun and rewarding to try to make something better? Because of this, Terex tends to attract team members who are open to new experiences, which can lead to some interesting – even unexpected -- career opportunities. While no hiring process is foolproof, we work very hard to ensure that the candidates we hire in all capacities are not only technically qualified but well-suited to the Terex environment. When you are successful, we are successful. Although we strive to fill open positions as quickly as possible, we think that taking the time needed to make these decisions is time well spent. Terex Human Resources

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Long term Planning"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer - New Product Development in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Acceptable compensation package. Friendly environment.

    Cons

    I has hired along with many others for new product development and within 12 months the entire product line was sold off. At the very least this shows a really poor long term outlook or difficulty making the hard decisions on the part of upper management. It's pretty much the typical publicly traded company that lives for whatever the next quarterly results require to appease stockholders. It's a shame because the potential is obvious, but the execution is flawed across the board.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-10-14

    Terex Response

    January 26, 2020Director, Corporate Communications

    Earlier in 2019, the Company made a difficult call and exited several cranes product lines that had become unprofitable. When the decision was made, we moved as many OKC team members as possible into other roles at the plant. Changes like this can be disruptive, which we understand, but as a team we have moved forward and are focused not only on supporting the business but also on making OKC the best working environment it can be.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "No future at Terex"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research and Development Engineering Technician in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My boss was fair and used logic as much as he was aloud. I've never had a better boss! My coworkers were top notch. When I started there the pay was pretty good. Benefits were somewhat competitive for the industry.

    Cons

    As I stated above, MY boss was fantastic. His bosses and the rest of upper management were totally disconnected, and out of touch with reality. Communication between departments was nonexistent, and the whole place seemed to be in a constant state of change. The CEO would state what he wanted our company to be like, and the upper management in OKC would just do whatever they wanted. Constant finger pointing. It was almost like they were trying to run the company into the ground with no regard for the employees. My starting pay was good. But there was literally nothing in place that even resembled a career ladder. No tech 1, tech 2, tech 3, Team Lead. Nothing.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-08-24

    Terex Response

    September 24, 2019Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your comments about your manager. The Company's commitment to our Terex Way values is heartfelt and very much a part of all we do. We understand that your facility underwent a great deal of change as we exited a line of products. Many of the team members were successfully placed in new jobs on site with other product lines. Our CEO visited the site regularly and participated in team and skip-level meetings to share information with the team. The new site leadership is working hard to align communications. Our Oklahoma City team continues to be a highly important part of the Terex manufacturing footprint.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Inside my department was an amazing learning experience ,outside of that ....... run"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in a department with very few people is great, leadership in this department was strong and supportive giving the 2 individuals the knowledge to grow and challenged us daily.

    Cons

    If you are not part of the inner circle you are nothing to this site. Upper management is lacking in areas that can not be fixed without change of personnel. With leadership on site steering the ship in multiple ways for personal gain, the middle level and below are the ones that suffer. Promotions are handed to individuals that are part of the inner circle at a drop of a dime, with those individuals taking all credit for hard working individuals behind. When a culture promotes safety first but, cares about the product going out the door more than the individuals putting machines together this is what you get. The pay is below standard on industry anywhere from 10-20k based on individuals coming out of college so they will be able to lowball. Use this as a stepping stone for future endeavors it can be a great learning experience and resume builder but, be prepared for major hurdles and little to no teaching from senior operation leaders.

    Continue reading
    Terex2019-08-03
  5. "ME - 2"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time

    Pros

    Everyday is something different. 4-10's when production is down.

    Cons

    Upper management push to work more than 40hrs every week (even though we are on salary). Hourly positions are tired of working 60+ hours a week (Mon - Sat)

    Continue reading
    Terex2018-08-19
  6. Helpful (9)

    "CEO is interested in bottom line only, he was brought in to cut jobs and that's exactly what he's doing."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are great, they are supportive and helpful. Production lines work hard to produce a competitive, quality product. Good benefits - 5% 401k match, medical, dental, vision, and other insurance available. Employee stock purchase available.

    Cons

    Nepotism is high. People placed in roles they are not even close to qualified for, and those that are great at their jobs leave. Or the company shuts down whole departments or divisions and moves them to the south where there is cheaper labor but also lower quality. That's their choice, but they are getting what they are paying for - no experience, but cheap. There is absolutely no loyalty to employees by upper management so why employees stay loyal to Terex is a mystery. This company will be split up and sold off within the next year or two.

    Continue reading
    Terex2017-02-13
  7. "Career Opportunity"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Terex full-time

    Pros

    Lots of good people and teamwork on the shop floor

    Cons

    Favoritism at the upper management level prevents fairness and opportunity for many deserving team members

    Terex2017-02-04
  8. "Production Assembler"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Waverly, IA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, great people to wok with on the shop floor.

    Cons

    Upper management is unresponsive to issues on the shop floor. Layoffs, HR Dept

    Continue reading
    Terex2017-02-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good overall, but not for everyone"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture, friendly people, and overall a solid place to work. There are a lot of "lifers" who stay with the company for a very long time (with good reason).

    Cons

    Salaries for most not on par with the area. Management reluctant to staff appropriately for cost reasons, so many people are perpetually overworked and on the verge of burning out. Too much restructuring of upper management. Unstable (very cyclical) business results in mass layoffs balanced by frenzies of growth.

    Continue reading
    Terex2015-12-03
  10. "Sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    New General Manager eager to make a difference Great people to work with at a division level

    Cons

    Market is weak - Corporate management even weaker No support from upper management at the corporate level. No one knows at a division level what the next step is. No room for advancement

    Continue reading
    Terex2015-09-02

    Terex Response

    September 11, 2015

    Thanks for your comments. It’s good to know you enjoy working with the colleagues at your site location. It’s true that the market has been challenging for many of our business areas this year, but we also know that as external conditions improve, so will our market opportunities. We will share your comments with the respective leaders so they can be made aware of your other concerns. Terex Human Resources

Found 13 reviews