Terumo BCT Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Terumo BCT Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Antoinette Gawin
1 Ratings
  1. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manufacturing Engineer in Sabot, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terumo BCT for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Healthy teamwork environment. People behaved as if they were part of a big family. Good comradery.

    Cons

    Vacation needs to be increased to industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to industry standards for vacation / time off.

    Terumo BCT2015-11-23
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Unprofessional Management Style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terumo BCT full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for in terms of making medical devices that saves lives. Good technology, stable company with good benefits.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment created and supported by management. High favoritism level. Bad and unprofessional management style. Unskilled and unknowledgeable managers especially in engineering.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are the company's greatest asset. Support your employees; be fair with evaluating their performance based on their contribution to the company and not on your favoritism. Advice to the top level management and executives to carefully evaluate the skills of the low level managers especially in engineering in order to prevent this company from going down by losing its customer satisfaction.

    Terumo BCT2015-12-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer III in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terumo BCT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance environment! Great people, fun atmosphere, people care about their work. Terumo BCT is willing to invest in employee personal growth. There is a gym on campus and subsidized cafeteria with actual chefs. This is an excellent place to work.

    Cons

    This is a growing company, so some of the practices are 'old school' and could be updated. The pay and raises each year are marginal.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Realize that to continue growing, you will need to have competitive pay.

    Terumo BCT2015-11-09
  4. "Working as a summer intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer Intern in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT

    Pros

    My team in particular was fantastic. I was allowed a lot of project freedom in what I worked on and felt like my work had meaning. They also extended my internship which was really helpful.

    Cons

    As always with a big company, bureaucracy got in the way. Some processes took a long time. The office environment is pretty standard but I still didn't like that "sea of cubicles" layout. Also when I went in for the interview they didn't even tell me what position I was applying for, so that was confusing.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Terumo BCT2015-08-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sqa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SQA Engineer in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Terumo BCT full-time

    Pros

    Good company and great work to patient involvement

    Cons

    Management and supervisor are biased.no work and life balance

    Advice to Management

    Managers or supervisior needs to be trained and well experienced to take care of team

    Terumo BCT2015-04-15
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Technician in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits, training, opportunities, growing and expanding

    Cons

    Parking, can't really think of any negatives

    Terumo BCT2014-07-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Changing work culture/environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    salary is ok flexible hours - good balance technology industry - health care. making devices to help people people

    Cons

    drastic change in established culture - may create a brain drain as employees with experience leave

    Terumo BCT2014-05-01
  8. "Great Company , global reach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terumo BCT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of really smart engineers. Lots of interesting technology

    Cons

    Too many chiefs. Nepotism. Too rigid for some.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more remote employees

    Terumo BCT2013-08-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT

    Pros

    -Opportunity to work on a wide variety of projects in diverse areas

    Cons

    -Not a flexible company with regards to work arrangement, schedule, vacation, etc. -Management does not always communicate well -Requirements for advancement are not clear

    Advice to Management

    Make your workplace more flexible, ask what your employees value and make an effort to accommodate them

    Terumo BCT2012-05-07
  10. "Great colleagues but poor pay and low to middling benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT

    Pros

    People are smart, co-operative and friendly. Easy going work atmosphere. If one is a novice, this is a good place to learn tricks of the trade.

    Cons

    Compensation is below average. The longer one stays here, the higher the bridge compared to market prevailing wage. 401K & medical benefits are decent but nothing special. Growth is slow. Leave starts at 2 weeks / yr which is again below average. Project deadlines have gotten tougher and tougher and most sincere employees are overworked

    Advice to Management

    Make pay competitive and look at the right wage comparisons. The engineers and middle level management are both under the gun to meet unrealistic deadlines, except there are no incentives for engineers if they are met.

    Terumo BCT2011-10-15
Found 21 reviews