Terumo BCT "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Terumo BCT Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 184 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Antoinette Gawin
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, great co-workers, life -saving products(in 14 reviews)

  • "They value their employees and provide a great work life balance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are not to many Cons-this is a fast paced work environment, with many challenges that help you grow(in 7 reviews)

  • "Low trust, highly political, and senior management are worried about their own jobs so you will not be protected when the blame storming happens(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Stable work environment. -Committed to quality. -Work Life balance.

    Cons

    Nothing to add at this time.

    Terumo BCT2019-06-11
  2. Helpful (17)

    "Toxic Work Environment Inhibits Otherwise Exciting Products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terumo BCT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is rewarding to contribute to devices that save lives. The company knows what a powerful idea this is and reinforces it at every quarterly meeting. It helps temper the negatives for a while. There are some phenomenal people working at Terumo. I have made some friendships that will last a lifetime. Some perks like the on-site gym and Eco pass are nice.

    Cons

    It is a toxic work environment for women. I was paid less than men with the same background and work experience, despite working just as hard. I was touched inappropriately. When this was reported, I was asked if I misunderstood what happened and that I should assume the "best of intentions." I heard many explicit comments about my own body and other female coworker's bodies....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house.

    Terumo BCT2017-11-10

    Terumo BCT Response

    November 14, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing feedback about your time at Terumo BCT. We agree with your observation that there are some phenomenal people who work at Terumo BCT. While we disagree with many of your other statements, some of your comments are of serious concern, and we are particularly troubled ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not a lot of room for job mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Terumo BCT

    Pros

    Stable work environment, workload is balanced

    Cons

    Not open to new ideas

    Terumo BCT2017-03-12
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Unprofessional Management Style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Terumo BCT full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for in terms of making medical devices that saves lives. Good technology, stable company with good benefits.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment created and supported by management. High favoritism level. Bad and unprofessional management style. Unskilled and unknowledgeable managers especially in engineering.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are the company's greatest asset. Support your employees; be fair with evaluating their performance based on their contribution to the company and not on your favoritism. Advice to the top level management and executives to carefully evaluate the skills of the low level managers especially in engineering in order to prevent this company from going down by losing its customer satisfaction.

    Terumo BCT2015-12-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Terumo BCT

    Pros

    Excellent benefits of health insurance, education, and annual bonus. Clean work environment

    Cons

    There are too many family works together in the production floor, advancement opportunity is scarce and not objective.

    Advice to Management

    Family should not work directly work together to avoid nepotism which could lead unhealthy working environment.

    Terumo BCT2015-10-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Going Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regulatory and Quality in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Terumo BCT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good products, stable work environment. Biggest medical device company in Denver. Good awareness of impact on patients.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership at top levels. Too much politics. Company declined from where it once was.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the people again. All those years under private equity caused you to lose perspective on what is important.

    Terumo BCT2015-08-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A Growing Company With Lack of Employee Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT full-time

    Pros

    Good employees to work with. A lot of cross-functional training. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Management looks for ways to make the work environment so unpleasant (discrimination, retaliation, harassment) that employees dread going to work. No moral.

    Advice to Management

    Protect employees. Listen better and more often. Increase moral. Improve Human Resources.

    Terumo BCT2015-04-14
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Marketing Comm Team - Very Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT full-time

    Pros

    A good team of people capable of producing high-quality collateral.

    Cons

    The development of career paths is based on an individual's relationship with the VP. Very corporate work environment where schmoozing gets rewarded more than good, hard work.

    Terumo BCT2014-05-27
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not a pleasant place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lakewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Once in a while they will let employees off 1/2 hour early with pay. If you work a 5-8 work schedule, you get two days off at Thanksgiving and Christmas.

    Cons

    Not too many of those who are in management seem to care about how they treat their employees. There is a lot of low moral in the workplace. Management look for ways to make the work environment so unpleasant that employees hate going to work everyday.

    Advice to Management

    If management treated their employees better, they would get employees who care about the products they make and would make it with pride. They would get employees who would make sure the quality of their work was the best.

    Terumo BCT2014-06-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Better than most employers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terumo BCT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1) Reasonable starting salary. 2) Decent benefits. 3) Good work environment. 4) Has a bonus program!

    Cons

    1) Raises are small. 2) Benefits are decreasing - health insurance. 3) Cubicles for now, but it looks like they are going to that goofy "open office" environment. 4) Since the Japanese bought us, it is ALL about the almighty Yen. 5) The new Vietnam plant, who hasn't seen this scenario before? Goodbye jobs. 6) Top heavy with management.

    Advice to Management

    Stop pinching your employees for every Yen you can, how much is enough? Management is way too top heavy now. David Perez is a really decent person, I wish more of the executives were like him in manner and style.

    Terumo BCT2014-04-07
Found 184 reviews