Tesco Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Tesco Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Tesco Group Chief Executive Dave Lewis
Dave Lewis
2,330 Ratings
  1. "Tesco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Shopper in Glasgow, Scotland
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours to suit yourself Easy work load Money for nothing

    Cons

    Too many chiefs and a lot of aggressive management.

    Tesco2020-01-20
  2. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are really nice and try to help you. Facilities are great.

    Cons

    Awkward location A bit unstructured

    Tesco2020-01-20
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, pay and staff

    Cons

    tedius tasks and no progression

    Advice to Management

    improve reward system

    Tesco2020-01-20
  4. "I’m confused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cheltenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The days go quickly,easy work

    Cons

    Some people don’t turn up longer hours

    Tesco2020-01-20
  5. "Good job alongside uni"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consolidated Resorts in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexi contract that supports study - keeps your job while at uni then come back during holidays and work when you like. Decent wage for job. Job is straightforward and no real issues. I also found the early starts good as you get your work done and have the afternoon/ evening for yourself.

    Cons

    Hours depend on how many online orders are placed - can be sporadic I.e 4 hours one day, 7 hours another.

    Tesco2020-01-19
  6. "Good company and flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Tring, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tesco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment , benefits, flexible hours, lots of overtime

    Cons

    Have to deal with some rude customers, work can be repetitive and most available hours in my store were evenings

    Advice to Management

    Managing shifts was a weak point, have had to work several shifts after having been wrongly told I had signed up for it as overtime.

    Tesco2020-01-19
  7. "tesco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great inclusion of colleagues and company ethos

    Cons

    does not offer that much progression early on

    Tesco2020-01-19
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial/Residential Window Washer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great incentives e.g. can buy shares.

    Cons

    Long hours can be normal.

    Advice to Management

    Let staff keep hours set in contract.

    Tesco2020-01-19
  9. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Ellon, Scotland
    Recommends

    I worked at Tesco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent and they are accommodating if you are studying. Managers very nice and are excellent if you have to take some time off for illness. Nice people and good working environment.

    Cons

    Nothing i can think of

    Tesco2020-01-19
  10. "Friendly Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tesco part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work whilst studying at college.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity to progress.

    Tesco2020-01-18
Found 6355 reviews