Tesla Employee Reviews about "work hours"

Updated Nov 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 of over 6,741 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Tesla Chairman, CEO, and Product Architect Elon Musk
Elon Musk
3,814 Ratings

What people are saying about Tesla

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "great benefits and full of incredible opportunities(in 446 reviews)
  • "Great people and feels great to be apart of the overall mission of the company.(in 371 reviews)
  • "Pay is good and it is exciting to see all the leading technology in electric cars(in 315 reviews)
  • "Working with great teams and highly motivated colleagues means that you find ways to succeed against the odds.(in 130 reviews)
  • "Coworkers are great and helpful(in 108 reviews)
Cons
  • "No work life balance and no one seems to care.(in 336 reviews)
  • "Long hours and working weekends are fairly normal depending on the importance and timelines of projects.(in 333 reviews)
  • "Low income + high expectations + poor management meant people quickly became dissatisfied and unhappy.(in 316 reviews)
  • "Long hours due to the sheer volume of cars being delivered to customers during this time(in 126 reviews)
  • "The managers have no auto sales/ industry experience.(in 117 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Tesla and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Awesome place to intern

    Oct 23, 2021 - Intern in Fremont, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast paced with a lot to learn

    Cons

    Long work hours throughout the internship

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay Away From Auto Pilot Team

    Nov 26, 2021 - Team Lead in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits (no 401k match) Free life insurance (not a lot but better than nothing) Friendly co-workers Casual Dress Code (people wearing cartoon pornography on their clothing)

    Cons

    Nepotism. If you're good at sucking up and would rather focus on seducing your supervisors instead of bettering the company, get ready to open your legs. There is evidence where supervisors are sleeping with each other and benefiting from it, but HR turns a blind eye about it. If this seems to be the environment you thrive in, apply. You'll fit right in. We had a supervisor(a) who obtained evidence of other supervisors(b) committing nepotism. Once they tried to report it to HR, not only did HR do nothing, supervisor(b) altered supervisor(a)'s performance review and had her fired on the spot. Don't believe in their lie where they care about your suggestions on improvement. They accept your suggestions but don't bother to do anything about them. They pre-select people for promotions based on favoritism rather than output/skill. They still go through the formality of letting anyone apply for the promotion, but time after time we see people who are not qualified for the position promoted. Upon further research we realize it's because of nepotism. Don't get me wrong, there are some wonderful people that are leads/supervisors but they are all planning on leaving. They were the only reason why I'm still in this company. After learning they are all leaving, I'll be leaving too. There is no flexibility in work hours. I do think being late is unprofessional and tacky BUT they do not offer flexibility in their clock out times. Let me explain. Work starts at 9am. You can clock in 5 minutes early or 5 min late (8:55-9:05am) and you won't get in trouble. You can be 30 minutes late but you'll have to make up the time. Anything after 30 minutes is a verbal warning/write up. This is reasonable. I 100% agree with this. BUT. You must clock out at 5:31pm on the dot. If you clock out 1 minute early (5:30pm), you're written up for leaving early. If you clock out 1 minute late (5:32pm), you're written up for committing unapproved Overtime. We're using UKG(Kronos) for our time cards. Mistakes happen! The website glitches all the time. Sometimes you clock out, but the input didn't go through and you'll be accused of not clocking out correctly and written up. The supervisors refuse to acknowledge this and say "They are unable to adjust your timecard '' which is utter bs because they've adjusted my co-worker's timecard recently. Supervisors are salary and do not use UKG(Kronos) so they don't understand the glitches we experience. You can participate in a raffle to test drive their Model 3, but you're actually working for free and they are collecting data from you. The vehicles are disgusting and are not properly cleaned. This is 100% not the company's fault that people are disgusting but they can get the car deep cleaned monthly (at the very least). There are a LOT of people in the lead/supervisor position that absolutely do not deserve it. Not only are they oblivious about their team/workflow, they push you to do more while they sit around gossiping or walking around just to monitor you. They are thankless and are quick to punish people. They do not know how to motivate their teams, only know how to say "your workflow is the unhealthiest" when they increased our goals/numbers a few days ago before we had a chance to reach it. Beware of DT. If you know, you know. They don't know how to recognize people, they don't even know how to read their own stats and don't know how it works. The pay is $22/hr (not a livable wage). Other competitors start at $35/hr with a better work environment and similar, probably even better, benefits. A LOT of people don't last more than 1 year. We had around 1000 people in California(Oct 2020), over half of those people quit (Nov 2021), NOT fired/laid off, and they are now hiring people in Buffalo, NY (cheaper labor). So many unnecessary meetings (even after Elon has an article and emailed us about not having these meetings). HR can't touch the AM/PM/Supervisors. If they slack off, hide their mistakes and blame others, they get away with it. If you're still interested after reading all this, be my guest to apply. This crowd is right for you. The interview process is a joke, the only requirements are to be a high school graduate and be able to navigate in a 3D environment. It helps if you have a great attention to detail. Bonus points if you're attractive (probably a guarantee job if you're a 10 according to society's standards even if you're a dunce. If you can last for long term, the RSU that vests after 4 years may be worth it? You will have to sacrifice your mental well being dealing with the toxic environment. But hey, we have 25 free sessions with Lyra (therapy). If you just want Tesla on your resume, please apply. They accept ANYONE because everyone hates it here and quits in less than 1 year. Copied this from another review because this is 100% true: Note to hiring managers at other companies: Watch out if someone from Tesla has “Project Manager” on their title. Many of these people are just general office workers with no skills beyond harassing people via email.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Great learning experience

    Nov 12, 2021 - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Fremont, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely talented and hardworking team, got to work on core projects

    Cons

    A lot of work hours, hard to balance life outside of work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Loved working there

    Nov 21, 2021 - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    profit shares and the culture

    Cons

    long work hours Some team members did not get along

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Tesla

    Nov 10, 2021 - Senior Demand Planning Manager in Fremont, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product, vision and CEO

    Cons

    Long work hours, high pressure

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0