Tetra Tech "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Tetra Tech Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Tetra Tech CEO Dan L. Batrack
Dan L. Batrack
234 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "micro managing and no interaction with upper management(in 13 reviews)

  • "No cons or negative aspects in working at TT(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Good people, lots of work but little downtime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tetra Tech full-time

    Pros

    Consistent workload if job not seasonal dependent. Most people are friendly. Annual raises. Good flex time policy

    Cons

    No sick or holiday pay, or raise in towp accrual after 10 years. Hard to take time off. Don't feel supported by most upper management, which has to do with large structure of many individual operating units who you compete against as much as work with.

    Tetra Tech2016-12-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 

    I have been working at Tetra Tech full-time

    Pros

    Project specific and trained well

    Cons

    micro managing and no interaction with upper management

    Tetra Tech2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Avoid. avoid. avoid. Avoid. the Disaster recovery side."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tetra Tech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours, flexible with requests,

    Cons

    MANY HR issues. There is a member of management that has multiple sexual misconduct cases and hostile workplace accusations. If you report him you will be retaliated against and will be forced to quit because they will give your job to someone else. They ENCOURAGE staff to report other members, creates a terrible environment. Staff is micromanaged and treated like kindergarteners (if you're not reporting on someone)... Upper Management does not care about the people that work for them. There is no compassion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really clean house. You are paying way too much to bring new people in and they are leaving due to the same issues. Eventually, it will come out about this person and the company will be affected due to people distancing themselves from TT. the Metoo movement will hurt this company if it doesn't clean house., someone will eventually speak up.

    Tetra Tech2019-05-17
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Yikes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tetra Tech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are great, Professional work environment

    Cons

    Management and upper management strategies are baffling Poor communication

    Advice to Management

    I don't have an MBA or formal education in business management and yet even I know that if you want better performance from your employees, taking away incentives and replacing them with threats is possibly the worst move. Management's philosophy on productivity seems to be "until morale improves, the beatings will continue." The only production this increases is more of your employees looking to jump ship at the... earliest opportunity.

    Show More
    Tetra Tech2018-10-24
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Toxic environment, leaders who do not care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tetra Tech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some learning experiences and opportunities to connect with peers

    Cons

    An overworked, underpaid team that is expected to work until 2 or 3 am sometimes (this is in Arlington, VA) without little to no appreciation from upper management. Boy's club mentality- not much room for women in management conversations from what i saw/experienced An environment where staff are in fear of their jobs. Constant gossip from all levels with a lack of transparency from upper level management.... Awful benefits, limited vacation hours and no separate sick leave. Not much room for internal professional growth.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate your leadership style and the company culture.

    Tetra Tech2018-08-07
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not so good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Inspector in Oklahoma City, OK

    I worked at Tetra Tech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being home and the pay

    Cons

    Ive worked with several different firms with this one being the least comfortable and liked. I had an opportunity to work in my home state. Oklahoma city to be exact. The upper management is ran by some weasels. I was fired for not knowing how to use a certain program used by the state dept. Prior to being hired the hiring managers were informed i did not know how to use it. Instead of being trained how to use it i... was terminated. Very unprofessional way of terminating someone if i may say as well. All i would say about this certain bunch of managers not the whole company just okc office in particular. They are not fair and there training of new employees is very poor. Company expects you to work out of town but will not let you pull your travel trailer to wherever the job sight might be at. Micro managed and treated unfairly if they dont like you. I believe i was wrongfully terminated. Ive asked for a termination letter its been over a week now. Still dont know my exact reason for termination. Also the perdiem is not fair if you are working out of town and a contractor decides not to work. You dont get PD for that day. Have a great day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of worrying about that yearly bonus think of others and be a little more understanding of certain incidents whenever they may occur. Life isnt perfect. Accidents do happen. Bridge industry includes working long hours should probably consider budgeting more hours in a project. That way your inspectors dont get harped on for having 55 hours working 6 or 7 days a week.

    Tetra Tech2018-03-19
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Outdated company with poor benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tetra Tech

    Pros

    They had a good coffee bar. In all seriousness, the co-workers were great.

    Cons

    Upper management was cold and archaic. Little to no advancement. Read other reviews that mention poor vacation time. Forced to use your vacation time to make up for periods when you are slow with project work.

    Tetra Tech2017-10-21
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Employess are Disposable!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager/General Superintendent in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tetra Tech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and reasonable pay.

    Cons

    Tetra tech does not care about their people and anyone below Vice President level is considered disposable. All that matters to them is their egos and the bottom line even if the project suffers and good people lose their jobs. They do not honor their employment agreement letters (not a contract) and utilize the "at will" clause in the law to fire and layoff employees. Bottom line is that upper management only... cares about their bonuses and promotions. This is a terrible place to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn quickly to value the people who get the work done or soon Tetra tech will a complete failure. Ethics and honesty must be embraced and enforced at all levels.

    Tetra Tech2016-02-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "It has it's pluses and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tetra Tech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly working atmosphere, variety in work assignments

    Cons

    Upper management can be a closed as far as details of business. Training not a big priority

    Tetra Tech2015-06-19
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Think twice before accepting an offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Program Manager in Rosslyn, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tetra Tech for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The salary is what get you to accept the offer

    Cons

    1. There is a reason why each week there are 15 staff personnel are Resigning , Quit, Walking off the job before the work day is over. ( No not fired just leaving) 2. They ( As in Management and Upper Management) don't provide professional development training. If you do decide to take a training course, beware, you must use your personal days. 3.Tetra Tech AMTI is under new leadership. Same b.s just under... different leadership. 4.Tetra Tech is going into the 6 year contract of the 7 yr. Contract may not be awarded b/c of the breech of contract with the federal gov't. 5. There is no clear direction and no support. so its sink or swim.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Only if you recently became a US citizen.

    Tetra Tech2015-05-30
Found 13 reviews