KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Tetra Tech

Is this your company?

Tetra Tech

Add a Review

Tetra Tech Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 946 reviews

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Tetra Tech Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, and President Dan L. Batrack
Dan L. Batrack
351 Ratings
Pros
  • "work environment is good and they provided me with a laptop and two good dell screens to work from home with(in 49 reviews)

  • "Good pay, good benefits, good management(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours just like other commented but it was the function of my works(in 19 reviews)

  • "Upper management consists of all older white men who do not engage in work with women involved unless a male is in charge(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Tetra Tech and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good people, lots of work but little downtime

      Dec 31, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Consistent workload if job not seasonal dependent. Most people are friendly. Annual raises. Good flex time policy

      Cons

      No sick or holiday pay, or raise in towp accrual after 10 years. Hard to take time off. Don't feel supported by most upper management, which has to do with large structure of many individual operating units who you compete against as much as work with.

      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Run

      Mar 25, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get a pay check

      Cons

      If you are a female there is 0 chance of advancing in your career or moving up. This company has gone back in time 30 years in regard to women's rights and equal pay don't even waste your time. Upper management consists of all older white men who do not engage in work with women involved unless a male is in charge. All the women in the company who have some say either report directly to a male in management or are their assistants. I was at best tolerated as the only female present, but never included in discussions, decisions or able to give any input. They do not value employees at all or fairly compensate them for work. Seriously run. Demand insane workloads and hours with no compensation or overtime. Will tell you what they think you want to hear but in reality constantly give false hope and make false promises. Management walks all over employees and does not care about them but are very good at saying they do, incredibly toxic culture. Worst company I have worked for.

      13 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Environmental Scientist

      Sep 27, 2020 - Environmental Scientist in Chantilly, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exposure to federal, state and private clients and projects

      Cons

      Low pay, little to no mentoring, low office morale and not enough transparency with upper management

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worst place I've ever worked

      Feb 23, 2020 - Senior Specialist in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay was meh. Barely a pro.

      Cons

      Let's see: Onboarding was treated as an afterthought. The interview process was actually longer and changed on the fly at the whims of upper management. A bunch of old white guys who think they're doing the lord's work because they were in the Peace Corps. Now, they pull down 6 figures and have grad students do the grunt work. Mid-level colleagues were quick to throw others under the bus. My peers in my department treated meetings like gossip sessions. I cannot in good conscience recommend this place to anyone.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid. avoid. avoid. Avoid. the Disaster recovery side.

      May 17, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hours, flexible with requests,

      Cons

      MANY HR issues. There is a member of management that has multiple sexual misconduct cases and hostile workplace accusations. If you report him you will be retaliated against and will be forced to quit because they will give your job to someone else. They ENCOURAGE staff to report other members, creates a terrible environment. Staff is micromanaged and treated like kindergarteners (if you're not reporting on someone) Upper Management does not care about the people that work for them. There is no compassion.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Program Manager

      Sep 11, 2019 - Program Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Project specific and trained well

      Cons

      micro managing and no interaction with upper management

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not so good.

      Mar 19, 2018 - Project Inspector in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being home and the pay

      Cons

      Ive worked with several different firms with this one being the least comfortable and liked. I had an opportunity to work in my home state. Oklahoma city to be exact. The upper management is ran by some weasels. I was fired for not knowing how to use a certain program used by the state dept. Prior to being hired the hiring managers were informed i did not know how to use it. Instead of being trained how to use it i was terminated. Very unprofessional way of terminating someone if i may say as well. All i would say about this certain bunch of managers not the whole company just okc office in particular. They are not fair and there training of new employees is very poor. Company expects you to work out of town but will not let you pull your travel trailer to wherever the job sight might be at. Micro managed and treated unfairly if they dont like you. I believe i was wrongfully terminated. Ive asked for a termination letter its been over a week now. Still dont know my exact reason for termination. Also the perdiem is not fair if you are working out of town and a contractor decides not to work. You dont get PD for that day. Have a great day.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Poor work environment with little chance of career advancement.

      Dec 26, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours; in some locations you hardly ever see anyone in the office. There are many capable individuals working for this company with a high level of expertise in their fields.

      Cons

      Acquires companies to improve its bottom line and then neglects and/or destroys them through confusing reorganizations and layoffs. Most employees do not feel valued and professional growth and training is nonexistent. Women are treated like second-class citizens, are rarely promoted, and there is little to no room for career advancement. More than 90% of middle to upper management are white males. Work utilization requirements are extreme and those with low utilization are frequently laid off. The company spends millions on an annual meeting for a select few and little to no information regarding this meeting is disseminated to other employees.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Think twice before accepting an offer

      May 29, 2015 - Senior Program Manager in Rosslyn, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The salary is what get you to accept the offer

      Cons

      1. There is a reason why each week there are 15 staff personnel are Resigning , Quit, Walking off the job before the work day is over. ( No not fired just leaving) 2. They ( As in Management and Upper Management) don't provide professional development training. If you do decide to take a training course, beware, you must use your personal days. 3.Tetra Tech AMTI is under new leadership. Same b.s just under different leadership. 4.Tetra Tech is going into the 6 year contract of the 7 yr. Contract may not be awarded b/c of the breech of contract with the federal gov't. 5. There is no clear direction and no support. so its sink or swim.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall a good experience.

      Nov 24, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Each individual office is run and managed differently, so there's a lot of variability between offices. My office is very communal, and my boss provided a lot of room for opportunity and growth to all employees.

      Cons

      Upper management is all about the bottom line and don't seem to care much about the employees.

      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tetra Tech Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Tetra Tech? Share Your Experiences

    or