Texas Children's Hospital Reviews

Updated May 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 775 of over 829 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Texas Children's Hospital President and CEO Mark A. Wallace
Mark A. Wallace
447 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

30.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Texas Children's Hospital~14477
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Texas Children's Hospital and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    RN

    May 10, 2022 - Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Various RN opportunities to grow as a nurse

    Cons

    Schedule must be made over a month in advance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Go in hungry for overtime and knowledge.

    Apr 20, 2022 - Sleep Technician in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, solid leadership, focus on safety and education. Patient ratio 1:1. There are plenty of opportunities to get noticed in a positive way. Offers a broad knowledge base for pediatrics in sleep. If you like overtime and aren't skittish about remarkably sick children, or children with special needs, this is a great place. If you are meticulous about the cleanliness and quality of your studies, this is the place for you. Lots of extra shifts can be picked up.

    Cons

    This job is very hard. You are on camera all the time. You are graded on every single thing that happens before/ during/ after your study. The set-up can take upwards of 1.5 hours, requiring the entire seizure montage on every patient. The patients act like children who don't want to be there because they /are/ children who don't want to be there. All rules must be followed with no exceptions, no bending, no wavering to the will of a child or sympathetic parent. If something goes wrong, it is always your fault first and anything/ anyone else's issue later after further investigation. This is not the place for you if you do not work well with others. Do not plan on having another job outside of the hospital. If you are on call, you will work. Period. There are a ton of rules that must be followed and the rules can change from week to week, depending on the needs of the lab.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Retaliation and protection for management

    May 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Caring for sick children. Making a difference for families during difficult times.

    Cons

    Management and leadership are toxic. If you report your leader to HR you are not protected from retaliation. HR is only there to protect management. When so many people complain on one manager and HR does nothing it speaks volumes. Every year the benefits got worse. More expensive and less coverage. Shameful. Also: The way we were treated during the early days of the pandemic and having our PTO and EIB taken from us and given a measly stipend which was announced all over the news, which no other hospital did was disappointing. Not only that, but the CEO’s $12,000,000 salary didn’t suffer at all.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    May 18, 2022 - Pharmacy Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CEO cares and good culture

    Cons

    Low pay and no plans for changing that

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Do more with less

    Apr 2, 2022 - Surgical Technologist in Conroe, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people/teams make this place what it is. I come to work each day for my team, who are like family.

    Cons

    I sacrifice myself for the team, not leadership. We keep getting busier and busier, but yet the pay is not commensurate to keep up. We cannot keep staff, and new hires get scared off by low pay, and lack of staffing. Leadership knows that we are the lowest paid employees of the biggest hospitals around the Houston area, but they do not care. They know that the other employees will stay as a apart of the team because we are good people, and do not want our coworkers to struggle. Meanwhile,while surgery is busting our tails early every morning, admin is busy getting breakfast, having a nice leisurely day. It is not right, nor fair. I have capped out my pay, I know that. I am only here because I am waiting until I find out what medical school I am going into. So in 4 months, I am going to start travelling.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    New Grad Residency

    May 8, 2022 - NICU New Graduate Nurse in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Thoroughly enjoy learning the material

    Cons

    Better parking for staff employees, healthier eating options in the cafeterias, and 12 hour work shifts are probably going to add to nursing burnout in the midst of the ongoing pandemic

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company to work for

    May 10, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of Overtime available if you're wanting to work extra.

    Cons

    Parking away from the campus and taking a shuttle makes it more time consuming to get to work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    X

    May 14, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A nice place to work

    Cons

    Not enough staff support on night shift

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Admin Assistants are NOT valued!

    Apr 21, 2022 - Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission. Working with people who TRULY care about the mission.

    Cons

    Bad leadership. Abusive, toxic behavior from some executives (Ex: MANY people under certain leaders quit but HR does nothing about it!). The CEO became “too woke.” It became too political. Administrative assistants (and other managers/staff members) got demoted (with a pay cut and lost their titles) while executives were promoted with substantial raises. The mandating of the COVID-vaccine AND boosters was a HUGE con for me. (This is why I resigned).

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Team

    May 10, 2022 - Ultrasound Technologist in Katy, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment Great co-workers Caring administrators

    Cons

    working weekends and holidays for straight time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 775 Reviews

Texas Children's Hospital Reviews FAQs

Texas Children's Hospital has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 829 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at Texas Children's Hospital to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Texas Children's Hospital employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Texas Children's Hospital. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

78% of Texas Children's Hospital employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Texas Children's Hospital 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Texas Children's Hospital to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, workplace, management.

Popular Careers with Texas Children's Hospital Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Texas Children's Hospital? Share Your Experiences

or