Texas Children's Hospital "great place" Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Children's Hospital Employee Reviews about "great place"

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Texas Children's Hospital President and CEO Mark A. Wallace
Mark A. Wallace
256 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, pro education, great work life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "Great place and a very respectful environment(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hourly rates are lower than other hospitals in the Medical Center(in 13 reviews)

  • "My role was with the health plan of TCH - the centers(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great place"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *The CEO is leading in an inclusive manner that makes all of the employees feel that they are on a much bigger mission than themselves. That really makes a difference in a large organization. * Great place to work. * The people are fabulous.

    Cons

    *The same issues you find at any corporation with a few individual people. However, its not prevalent enough to smear the entire organization.

    Advice to Management

    *Take complaints seriously. *When warranted, weed out the bad apples quickly.

    Texas Children's Hospital2019-06-14
  2. "Just a great place to work overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place and a very respectful environment

    Cons

    None not a bad word about the company

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you doing

    Texas Children's Hospital2019-02-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "MA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Wonderful benefits.

    Cons

    Low pay. Stressful at times.

    Texas Children's Hospital2018-11-10
  4. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Supportive work environment. Love the culture, seems admin really cares for the patients and less business minded :)

    Cons

    Not many, great place to work. Busy at times but supportive.

    Texas Children's Hospital2018-10-31
  5. "Analist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, great benefits

    Cons

    not really, parking may be challenging during peak hours

    Texas Children's Hospital2018-09-05
  6. "Wonderful Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    -Great place to work if you want to learn about different conditions. -Well respected for the care we provide and the amount of knowledge our healthcare providers/staff have.

    Cons

    The company only matches 50% of employee’s investments into pension plan. I’ve worked for other hospitals with will match at 100%.

    Texas Children's Hospital2018-02-16
  7. "Lvn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LVN Charge Nurse in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company in general was a great place to work, insurance was good, many opportunities to advance

    Cons

    Working at the outer Pediatric Clinics hours were long often had to work on Saturdays, Doctors were often rude

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the MA ‘s when assigning work, Nurses should be treated with more respect as they often had more responsibility

    Texas Children's Hospital2017-11-20
  8. "Physician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician 

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Amazing hospital with talented and dedicated staff

    Cons

    None - truly a great place to work

    Advice to Management

    None

    Texas Children's Hospital2017-09-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Taking care of families"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's a great place when it comes to patient satisfaction.

    Cons

    Employee satisfaction is not always shown.

    Advice to Management

    Hold people accountable and be fair to all employees.

    Texas Children's Hospital2017-09-02
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Never thought I would meet the real mean girls (they are called occupational therapists)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful Clientele Some wonderful members of leadership Great place to learn supportive management

    Cons

    Orientation is not organized. Orientation staff really do make your life miserable, they will focus on everything you do incorrectly, or not their way. They even tell you, I like it written this way, and this other therapist does it this way. And you have to follow/ Now that I am at another place, the OTs need to learn what OT is, they are practicing PT--just adding an adl to the end of the sentence.

    Advice to Management

    Watch out for your team members. Some of them are very cruel, both inpatient and outpatient. I went through this experience a year ago---I hear it continues--and it is too bad because you are a wonderful hospital. Would not step in there again. Also look at what the OTs really know-- they are not practicing OT.

    Texas Children's Hospital2017-08-06
Found 26 reviews