Texas Children's Hospital "tch" Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Children's Hospital Employee Reviews about "tch"

Updated Oct 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Texas Children's Hospital President and CEO Mark A. Wallace
Mark A. Wallace
263 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, pro education, great work life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "Great place and a very respectful environment(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hourly rates are lower than other hospitals in the Medical Center(in 13 reviews)

  • "My role was with the health plan of TCH - the centers(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "tch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Consistently excelling in family-centered patient care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Music Therapy in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital for less than a year

    Pros

    Compassionate employees who work well as a team, seek feedback, and strive to accomplish the same goals by integrating multiple disciplines. TCH values its employees, praises the work ethic of its nurses and technicians, and is home to physicians who collaborate and respect creative arts therapies as holistic care to patients and families.

    Cons

    While the experience outshone any setbacks, interns are unpaid. However, the work was so rewarding and of the highest quality, I was honored and privileged to learn and receive professional development from clinicians here.

    Continue reading
    Texas Children's Hospital2019-08-21
  2. "Great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working at TCH and will be looking to return after I complete my next degree.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Texas Children's Hospital2019-10-28
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked for TCH for 5 years and enjoyed every bit of it. Worked with a great group of people in the Clinical Training department.

    Cons

    Can't really think of any.

    Texas Children's Hospital2019-06-26
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Bullying, passive aggression, and clickish behavior rampant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My motivation to write this review is based upon a recent conversation I had with a long time friend who has been working in a new industry of sales, namely Medical Sales. She told me that she was surprised to hear so many stories from business colleagues about the hostility at Texas Childrens Hospital. Anyone she’s come across from TCH has poor things to say about working there. I shared with her that myself and at least 7 of my friends have experienced the same. I write this now because I want to share my experience on this forum to give you information that will help you make an informed decision based on a bigger picture. Helpful facts to know: The administration at Texas Childrens Hospital utilizes guilt, shame and fear based management. A director was fired from her position because of her racial and homophobic slurs towards her employees and towards patients staying in the hospital. Employees at TCH verbally abuse patients and their parents. (There are also (thank God) amazing people who care) My experience: I challenged the status quo and stood out from the crowd in intelligence and personality. This made me a target for bullying. I was silenced with intimidation. I was no longer given opportunities to advance in the workplace. Every aspect of my work, whether on paper or the time I went to lunch and returned was under constant scrutiny. The only way I could have avoided the backlash was to take part in the toxic behavior by way of gossiping and sabotaging my coworkers. I could not be that way. I believe in collaboration and lifting each other up. I believe in the best in people. This is the saddest truth that I never really want to see. When I talk to the friends who left TCH, I see that our experience at TCH left a mark so deep in us that it has taken 2 years to recover and heal from the stress and anxiety we had from working there. When we left we didn’t know how to be, what was acceptable behavior and what wasn’t. We had to relearn ourselves and to this day have PTSD from our experiences. The good that came from it was that I made some amazing life long friends, I learned about my worth, and how to recognize and enforce my boundaries. Good luck on your journey!

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance. The administration utilizes guilt, shame and fear based management. This stunts the quality of the growth of this rapidly growing organization. Innovation doesn't have a place with this type of environment.

    Continue reading
    Texas Children's Hospital2019-07-06
  5. Helpful (5)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in work schedule - depending on manager, TCH benefits

    Cons

    Pay is an insult to ALL. Get whatever kind of experience you can muster and get out. My role was with the health plan of TCH - the centers. Worse experience ever. HR were never handled any employee issues. About the only thing that HR can do is ”investigate” and terminate staff. That's their specialty. Nothing is confidential. So do not reach out to HR discreetly. Your manager will know. Even on a Q&A call or email. Management are a joke. Those people are more concerned with projects verse the staff. So much so the centers have nearly restaffed the entire center within a year. That's including the president and Director. Still no new President. I've never met a more dysfunctional, unorganized group of leaders. Executive team are familiar with the troubles and do nothing. Not their job though that's for practice leaders. But they can't handle it either because they are concerned with projects given from executive leader. So it's a none stop effect of misuse of roles. Staff aren't held accountable for THEIR work. Depending on title you could be held accountable for others duties, responsibilities as defined in their job descriptions. Quality is rude, and condescending, no respect for a single person. So bad others stress working with Quality. There's no growth in positions like MA, PAS, Referral Clerks, DS, and management. STAY AWAY FROM THE HEALTH PLAN and CENTERS.

    Continue reading
    Texas Children's Hospital2019-05-26
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Pharmacy Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are the only things I can think that’s positive about TCH

    Cons

    The department, evil management, unorganized and stressful work environment

    Continue reading
    Texas Children's Hospital2018-12-18
  7. "Amazing Mission, Awesome Pedagogy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Internship in Houston, TX

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital

    Pros

    The staff at TCH are passionate about providing excellent care as well as educating interested interns. I had 2 incredible internship experiences with TCH in which I was taught about the work at hand as well as how and why to become a physician or healthcare provider.

    Cons

    Internships are generally unpaid or given small stipends

    Texas Children's Hospital2017-11-14
  8. "Great experience with tons of opportunity for learning and growth in a supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not sure who wrote that burn book OT review...but I worked here in acute care OT for almost 2 years before recently moving and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about TCH and their rehab team. I now work at another peds hospital, and it really doesn't compare. The amount of help, support, and compassion the OTs have for their patients at Texas Children's is amazing. Everyone at work cares so much about helping you be the best therapist you can be, and giving you ample opportunities for growth. You get to work with an incredibly diverse patient population in a hospital that really values teamwork in all disciplines (not just OT/PT). I feel like I left a family there of supportive, dedicated individuals who really try to be there for one another. Once you gain the trust of your team and your patients, the amount of insanely cool things you get to see and do there as a therapist is unprecedented.

    Cons

    The only thing I can think of is that you really put in a lot of hours. You need to be mentally sharp and be able to rise to the challenge when you work there. It is a fast-paced environment. Some people really struggle with not being able to meet the demands of the job.

    Continue reading
    Texas Children's Hospital2017-08-24
  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work enviroment is great. The benefits are ok.

    Cons

    TCH needs to offer employees short term disablity.

    Continue reading
    Texas Children's Hospital2017-08-16
  10. "Finance Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Children's Hospital

    Pros

    I worked in finance over the summer and have great things to say about the TCH team. My managers gave great feedback and evenly allocated work among the interns. Every day I learned something new and never felt unappreciated.

    Cons

    TCH is a large company and has a lot of corporate bull that you have to fight through if you don't stick to usual business tasks. It took weeks to get approval for the download of a program relevant to my work. No cons for the finance office though.

    Continue reading
    Texas Children's Hospital2017-01-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews