KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services

Is this your company?

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services

Add a Review

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Oct 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 of over 858 reviews

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Texas Department of Family and Protective Services Commissioner Howard Baldwin (no image)
Howard Baldwin
179 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Job has good benefits and very lenient on time off.(in 105 reviews)
  • "The job is very flexible as we are able to work from home or remote locations.(in 28 reviews)
  • "Good coworkers and as of right now that’s about it(in 26 reviews)
  • "The people are amazing and the job is rewarding(in 17 reviews)
  • "Great benefits and holiday time off(in 12 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Texas Department of Family and Protective Services and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    investigator

    Dec 21, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay benefits work schedule on boss

    Cons

    Long hours no wbalance life hhj jj

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Entry Level and get advancement for the first 2 years, but then it's stand still

    Jan 11, 2019 - Intake Specialist II in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the fact I get to help children and elderly disabled adults. Job has good benefits and very lenient on time off. Getting PTO is like getting candy at Statewide Intake.

    Cons

    When you need assistance with what to do with a report, 5 different supervisors can tell you different. Place is very inconsistent when it comes to policy. You are basically anchored to your desk because you have to punch in every time you do something different such as take a call, go to the bathroom, go to lunch, go to a meeting, etc.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great job for brand new graduates entering the workforce.

    Aug 8, 2019 - Investigative Supervisor in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job can be flexible at times and good medical benefits.

    Cons

    Upper management is not supportive and the culture in general is very punitive.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Decent Job, but many changes in procedures and lots of redundancy

    Mar 9, 2021 - Child Care Investigator in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Don't have to report to an office everyday Helping keep children safe and protected State pension and some can retire with rule of 80 Good health benefits

    Cons

    No real ability to plan your day due to the nature of the job There is a cap on how far you can go and the money you can make without changing positions Bureaucracy = lots of things that have to be done that seem pointless and/or redundant

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Over worked and under paid

    May 23, 2022 - Investigator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are good with them

    Cons

    Over worked and under paid. Working here was the biggest mistake I ever made in my life. Besides that actual job getting paid once a month is horrible. There is no real work life balance. It's just case after case after case...

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good people, rough work

    Aug 2, 2016 - Intake Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great community of people. Lots of support. Good benefits and time off.

    Cons

    Rough material. Pay seems low for how much work you do.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    you don't know until you try

    Jul 7, 2021 - CPS Investigator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits • Objectively decent pay (overtime available, travel reimbursement) • Great coworkers and I, fortunately, had wonderful supervisors and program director • Awesome learning opportunity to familiarize oneself with community resources and parts of the legal system • Occasionally, you will make a difference. I'm a people-person and I loved getting to know my families.

    Cons

    • Low pay for what you actually do • NOT a 9-5. You MUST set your boundaries but you WILL work odd hours/nights/weekends. I know people who were in the hospital on an IV drip and they were still working. Everyone takes days off to catch up. There were some mandatory Saturdays to catch up. It sucks. You can't plan too far ahead. You are encouraged to take time off (nice!) but you can't turn your brain off when you do. • High caseload...toward the end, all of my cases coming in were time bombs so it was stressful and more work than I could feasibly do. • Loads of documentation in an inefficient computer program. • Constant policy changes. • Very little training for the legal side of things which is scary because these are children's lives at stake. • Fake until you make it/fail forward attitude which I think needs an overhaul. • You are alone out in the field. Call the cops if you need backup. Call your sup. Call a coworker. You can get into some dicey situations. • Constant turnover at all levels but it's a wave. • ***Secondhand Trauma*** I quit because I couldn't sleep and I was starting to get panic attacks. I started therapy on the advice of management (there are resources available for workers...use them!) but I'd burned out. Didn't realize how emotionally and physically I pushed myself and all the trauma I absorbed until I was done.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Oct 20, 2020 - Cvs Specialist IV in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are good for the work

    Cons

    Low pay for amount of work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    CPS training

    Jun 16, 2021 - CPS Investigator I in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is rewarding and good benefits.

    Cons

    The long hours and management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Some good, Some bad

    Oct 4, 2019 - Conservator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and PTO.

    Cons

    Highly dependent on supervisor and program director what your work life will be like

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 101 Reviews

Work at Texas Department of Family and Protective Services? Share Your Experiences

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services logo
or