Texas Department of Public Safety Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
60%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Texas Department of Public Safety Director Steve McCraw
Steve McCraw
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "good place to work and good benefits(in 17 reviews)

  • "Job security, experience you wouldn't get elsewhere in state employment, flexible on your schedule and time(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Courses that will not advance your career outside of DPS(in 12 reviews)

  • "I had to ask for 2 months for my concerns to be investigated by upper management(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Department

      Mar 26, 2021 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great department, good leadership, great benefits,

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Reliable job

      May 4, 2021 - License and Permit Specialist III 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job security is top notch

      Cons

      Toxic environment is common from customers and employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Micro-managed depending on where you work.

      Apr 29, 2021 - Technical Operations Officer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have great state benefits

      Cons

      Can't use benefits as you think you would Lots of politics between sections and other state agencies

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, amazing benefits

      Apr 10, 2021 - License and Permit Specialist III 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, and stable schedule

      Cons

      Gossip and drama, favoritism, unsympathetic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      There are better state jobs

      Mar 17, 2021 - License and Permit Specialist III in Snyder, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Has good health insurance, and you’ll likely be salary, also has retirement fund and 401k.

      Cons

      Not enough pay for the job demand. Customers can be rude and vulgar. No notice of changes and poor poor communication. Very few opportunities to promote.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Experience

      Feb 24, 2021 - Forensic Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and good promotional opportunities

      Cons

      Work can be a bit stressful under time crunch

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay in Line and You will be Fine

      Sep 25, 2020 - LPS II in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits were good, Job was not difficult to learn

      Cons

      Management, Nepotism, Favoritism- I reported the Plano location for not following CDC guides for COVID19, I reported other employees for leaving their stations or not following the guidelines. I was then discriminated against for my disability, harrassed and retaliated against for reporting these issues. I had to ask for 2 months for my concerns to be investigated by upper management. When I asked for a leave of absence I was not told no and was off, my supervisor did not complete her part of the paperwork and without any verbal warning or written adverse action, and although my supervisor spoke to me daily, I received a letter that I was terminated; this is also while an open investigation was happening for the other claims. Meanwhile a relative of management in the same office was out 5+ months, ran out of time and was allowed to return to retire this year. It's all about their favorites and relatives. If you "stay in line" you will do fine. Pay- pay is salary. you will be required to stay past closing time through the week and now required to work mandatory Saturdays in addition to mandatory overtime through the week. Depending on taxes, your rate of pay could be reduced to about $11 phr. Management does not care nor are they required to be there during this mandatory time so they are not affected the same as the workers are affected.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      ok

      Feb 12, 2021 - Crime Analyst in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits, friendly coworkers, great equipment

      Cons

      favoritism, no career progression, no increases in pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Texas DPS

      Feb 8, 2021 - License & Permit Specialist III in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Steady Job stability State holidays Insurance Retirement

      Cons

      Hard to move up The ladder

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I love my job!

      Jan 13, 2021 - Training Operations & Support Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      DPS makes a difference in the lives of Texans.

      Cons

      This work is hard and not for everyone.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 203 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Texas Department of Public Safety Job Seekers

    State Trooper
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Compliance Review Program Investigator
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative II
    Learn About the Job
    DPS - DLD - License Specialist II, HQ Ops
    Learn About the Job
    Sharepoint Administrator/Developer
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Support Representative II
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Texas Department of Public Safety? Share Your Experiences

    Texas Department of Public Safety logo
    or