KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Texas Department of State Health Services

Is this your company?

Texas Department of State Health Services

Add a Review

Texas Department of State Health Services Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Nov 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 305 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Texas Department of State Health Services Commissioner John William Hellerstedt
John William Hellerstedt
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits and great people to work with(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, good experience and supportive managesr(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, and not much increase in promotion(in 20 reviews)

  • "The work environment is not good enough(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Texas Department of State Health Services and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern, more than 3 years

      Great place to work!

      Jun 18, 2020 - Intern in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      excellent work-life balance/flexible work time

      Cons

      as a government entity, work environment could be little conservative

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst Manager I have ever experienced

      Nov 17, 2021 - Disease Intervention Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Experience. Epidemiology. First Line Supervisor.

      Cons

      Toxic work environment. Micromanagement. Low pay even with the raise. No remote options.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Toxic/Incompetent Nursing Supervisors

      Sep 29, 2021 - Nursing Shift Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work hours. Consistent schedule. Great medical benefits for full time employees. Great experience

      Cons

      Toxic/Incompetent leadership on the nursing side. Hostile work environment. The tech’s (PNAS) are treated like second class people. Techs (and some nurses) are targeted and retaliated against by the nursing supervisors. Specifically all day shift/night shift Male Nurse supervisors, 1st shift Female Nursing Shift Leader, 2nd shift Senior Nursing Shift Leader. The turnover rate for all nursing staff is completely unacceptable. Supervisors struggle with having enough staff to meet patient load….but constantly adjust policy to create an environment that promotes higher than acceptable attrition rates.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overworked, underpaid, unappreciated, and burnt out

      Jul 30, 2021 - Epidemiologist II in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s important work and there are some very good, passionate people who started here but were ultimately driven out.

      Cons

      They’ll tell you the pay cut you accept is outweighed by the “benefits and flexibility”. But the benefits suck (your retirement doesn’t vest until 5 years and my insurance is not accepted a lot of places) and they never approve you to take leave. We are so understaffed and under resourced that they make us work overtime but they have not once paid overtime out. So you need to take your comp hours as leave but then they don’t approve leave or are very reluctant to and guilt you for taking it at all. Very toxic work environment. I’m

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great benefits, iffy pay, awful government management. Great place to get experience though.

      Jul 23, 2019 - Research Specialist V 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free healthcare for single, if you stay long enough they match 9% for the pension, good PTO and sick day policy. Fairly easy to get promoted (I started as an RSIII and finished an RSV) because turnover is so bad - always an opening somewhere.

      Cons

      Management is a mess across most teams, it was the worst in the unit I worked in. Absolutely toxic work environment - I'm talking screaming matches, angry emails, breakdowns in meetings, etc. But in general - infighting, drama, overworked employees getting underpaid, etc is consistent from everyone I know who worked there. You do not get any raises in salary unless the TX leg. approves it, which they never do, so do not expect any increase in money unless you move around. It's a government job, so the pay is just okay - but the benefits make up for that a little bit.

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Management and Coworkers are truly the glue to a fun/healthy work environment!

      Jul 3, 2017 - Program Specialist in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Pay, PTO/Flex Schedule, Holidays

      Cons

      I am not sure of other sections, but the current section I am in is run by someone who thinks they are better than everyone in the building and is very harsh to the employees that are deemed lower class (aka don't have multiple degrees). Most of us have been looking for other jobs just to get out of here which is sad because we enjoy the work and the career field but it's not worth it. Also, this same person allows a certain coworker to micromanage everyone else in the office. They both have control issues and it is not a good work environment to have someone breathing down your neck and then tattling to the boss.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good manager

      Jun 8, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      in a team with a good manager is important!

      Cons

      The work environment is not good enough...

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good place for experience

      Nov 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Experience Some people will argue they have good benefits

      Cons

      Low pay So much red tape They give you a good amount of sick leave. Although this could be considered a Pro, I think it promotes a lazy work environment. People use this sick leave pretty often, even when they're not sick.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good entry level job, would never work herelong term

      Aug 4, 2015 - Medical Technologist in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      State benefits, Flexibility with time off, and there are some incredible nice and intelligent people that you will meet. Being a recent college grad I felt that there were some great mentors and friends who taught me a lot about the ins and outs of the world and the workplace that are invaluable I will take with me into my future endeavors. If you find a good group or department to work with you will gain plenty of experience.

      Cons

      There was a serious lack of leadership in my department. By my second week I noticed there were cliques, those who were either best friends with management and could get away with anything, and others who were ostracized and treated with disrespect. I personally have never worked in an environment like this and it rubbed me the wrong way given we were supposed to working in a professional environment. My manager was incapable of being impartial on issues and it made for a very unprofessional work environment. Nepotism was also an issue I noticed in regards to training and promotions. The amount of pay coming out of college was okay for me but for those who have been working for many years it really is not worth the money.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      DSHS-ASH Campus

      Jun 3, 2015 - Public Health Prevention Specialist in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Retirement and health benefits are nice. The job stability is solid and they have a holiday schedule that includes many paid holidays.

      Cons

      Poor salaries, highly bureaucratic structure that influences all decisions made, including providing employees with basic needs like drinking water and healthy work environment. Promotions are rare and you have to apply for higher positions with no guarantees and will only be allowed a 7% salary increase regardless of the title and duties. This of course depends on where you work within DSHS. Ask about these things when you are offered a position.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Texas Department of State Health Services Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Texas Department of State Health Services? Share Your Experiences

    Texas Department of State Health Services logo
    or